A tale of two cousins…

7 May

Once there were two little cousins – Sarah and Zoë – who thought they looked like twins.

They asked everyone they met if they did indeed look like twins.

And all the smiling, kindly adults said yes, yes they did.

(Especially their Nana’s elderly friends who really couldn’t see the difference.)

The two little girls were very happy with this response.

*

Only a month and a half apart, they often debated which one was really older.

And they would ask people to guess that too.

(Up until they were both in their 20s they were still doing that!)

*

They always said that Sarah would get married first – and have kids.

From tomorrow that ‘prophecy’ will come true.

Except that we originally thought Sarah would marry Prince… and I would marry Michael J Fox.

Oh well, you can’t have everything!

*

Wishing my very lovely cousin Sae a wonderful wedding day tomorrow – and so so much happiness for her and her hubby-to-be’s married life xx

*

P.S. To set the record straight, I’m the older one!

14 Responses to “A tale of two cousins…”

  1. Lisa-Marie 07/05/2010 at 6:37 PM #

    How lovely! It is so sweet that you uses your ‘stuff about weddings’ posts for other people’s weddings too!

    I wish her a long and happy marriage!

  2. Rachel Dale 07/05/2010 at 7:11 PM #

    My sister and I are 14 months apart and people always thought we were twins when we were kids and we so hated that!
    It was even worse when our mom dressed us in matching and/or coordinating clothes. 🙂

    Best wishes for Sarah tomorrow and always!

    P.S. I really enjoy your blog! A girl at work had a link to your kitty suitcase bed entry on her FB page, and I’ve been hooked ever since. So hello from Indiana! 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 10/05/2010 at 11:36 AM #

      Bet you looked cute though Rachel! Hello back to Indiana from Bonnie Scotland… your comment totally made my morning on Saturday 😀

  3. Laura 07/05/2010 at 7:49 PM #

    Ah lovey story! Cutey pie picture too. Hope she lets you post a wedding pic 😉

  4. Lisa-Marie 08/05/2010 at 8:25 AM #

    I love the new blog look Zoe. V cool!

  5. Polly 08/05/2010 at 12:07 PM #

    So sweet! And congrats to your cousin! (You’re the one on the right, right?) People always think they my sister and I are twins, and we’re two years apart! I’m the older one 😀
    I love the new blog! x

    • Conversation Pieces 10/05/2010 at 11:38 AM #

      I am indeed the one on the right… I really haven’t changed that much! 😉 Always nice when people think you’re younger than you are… does your sis mind?

  6. Janne 09/05/2010 at 12:15 PM #

    Good thing she’s not marrying Prince. I still have my eyes on him 🙂

  7. Alex 09/05/2010 at 8:47 PM #

    Congratulations to Sarah! And I love your blog’s new look.

  8. CAPow! 09/05/2010 at 11:06 PM #

    very cute! Congratulations to your cousin!

  9. Conversation Pieces 10/05/2010 at 11:39 AM #

    Thanks for all the comments on the blog look everyone… nice to see I haven’t totally broken it like last time I tried a makeover!!

  10. francesca 10/05/2010 at 12:49 PM #

    lovely post. and i’ll fight you for the hand of michael j fox!

  11. Sarah 11/05/2010 at 8:35 AM #

    Hey Zo. Like it a lot! I had a fantastic day and hope you guys did too. We are heading off to Bath today, so glad to have some recovery time! Give us a shout next time you are up/ plan a trip for tea or something (maybe we should go out!).

    Sae.xx

    PS – Paddy is not like Prince, but Neil is a little like Michael J Fox!…

Leave a little love...

