The San Fran trip… part 1

12 May

So some of you may remember I recently went to San Francisco…

(I also went to Yosemite, Vegas, the Grand Canyon and some wee places outside of SF but I’ll save them for future posts.)

Anyway, we’re very lucky to have some lovely friends who now live over there – and who very much looked after us while we were there.

After they’d picked us up for the airport, we drove past the Golden Gate Bridge and a very jetlagged OH said to me “Doesn’t it just look like a red Forth Road Bridge?”

Which it has to be said it really does!

However the rest of San Francisco looks nothing like Scotland…

I fell in love with the colourful houses… how cheery would it be to live in one of these?

Doesn’t this house look like something from a movie set?!

And the original coloured houses… the Painted Ladies…

All of which is a bit of a contrast to Downtown!

In our first week out there, we also went to visit Wine Country…

Has to be said ‘sampling’ wine for a whole day is a lovely way to pass the time!

Coming back from there, we stopped through Sebastopol to check out a very strange little street where every second house has these crazy sculptures in the gardens. I took lots of shots of them so I think I might have to do a proper post on just them!

Pretty much the next day we went off to Yosemite (more of that later) but the night we came back to SF, we went to the Palace of Fine Arts to see Jonsi

I’m a huge fan of Sigur Ros and it has to be said their lead singer did not disappoint! Go and see him if you can!!

The next day did one of those bus tours… always good to get your bearings and to hear a bit of the bus driver’s banter!

The next day (before we went to Vegas) our friends persuaded us the best way to do the Golden Gate Bridge was to cycle it.

So it was that we agreed to an epic bike ride that went from near Golden Gate Park, to the Golden Gate Bridge, over it and then up the hill above it, then to Sausalito… and then back again.

There was also no way my OH was letting me do the trip without wearing this rather glam cycling helmet – just as well San Fran is a colourful place!

Actually he turned out to be right as I actually did come off the bike on one of San Fran’s notoriously steep hills – at 5’3 I couldn’t get my feet on the ground when I stopped the bike and I just toppled off instead. I still have the bruises!

The views were worth it though…

As well as checking out the views, we also spotted this bride in flip flops and her rather harassed-looking new husband. I took a couple of more pics of them before realising I was probably getting in all their wedding shots!

And what should you do after a hard day’s cycle… why go and drink copious amounts of sangria!

(So that’s what I’m doing in the new blog picture in case you were wondering!)

Perhaps not such a good plan when you have to get up the next day for a flight to Vegas… but hey it was very good fun at the time!

Especially as we got to meet all our friend’s Irish friends – all of whom can handle their sangria better than me.

Ok that’s part 1 of San Fran over… will show you Alcatraz, trams and street art in the Mission later. Tomorrow a bit of Yosemite, Vegas and the Grand Canyon.

You’ll probably all feel like you were there too by the time I’m done!

14 Responses to “The San Fran trip… part 1”

  1. Jules 12/05/2010 at 8:37 PM #

    Wow great post about SF and fab new look blog too! How did I miss that before now??

  2. Rachel Dale 12/05/2010 at 8:39 PM #

    YUM, sangria! 🙂

    P.S. Did you get the photo I emailed of my sis and I in our coordinating Strawberry Shortcake dresses?

  3. Kerry (the seventy tree) 12/05/2010 at 8:51 PM #

    Love it! I would soooo love to go to San Francisco. I love those colourful houses. Looks like you had an amazing time. Looking forward to part 2 x
    p.s…I like your new look blog too x

  4. Lisa-Marie 12/05/2010 at 9:02 PM #

    Seeing that this would be a relatively long post, I had a cup of tea whilst reading it, and it was worth the effort.

    I agree with OH(from pictures at least, I’ve never been to San Fran)about the bridge. Tell him that they used the plans from the Forth Bridge for ideas when they were designing it(I watch the discovery channel and the history channel ALOT)!

    I love those painted houses, both old and new, with the big curved windows! The house looks like the Halliwell’s house from Charmed, I wonder if it’s in the same area!

    Your bike ride must have been epic, all of those hills!

    Lastly, your photo with the sangria is very cute!

    • Deb 12/05/2010 at 10:59 PM #

      Looks like you had a fantastic time, Sangria and all! Those houses are beautiful and I would love to have the opportunity to cycle across the Golden Gate Bridge.
      The flip flops made me giggle – they look a bit big for her!

  5. Chocolate Lover 13/05/2010 at 12:21 AM #

    looks like you had a fantastic time! I miss SF!

  6. nath 13/05/2010 at 7:56 AM #

    hey! wow! what an exciting trip (and post), such beautiful houses. and your new blog is very nice and clean looking.

  7. Patchwork Harmony 13/05/2010 at 8:35 AM #

    Wow! Looks really amazing! I love the coloured houses!! I need a holiday so bad!! X can’t wait 4 the next installment! X

  8. Evie 13/05/2010 at 9:34 AM #

    Liking the picture diary feel! Best holiday ever? Does it beat Japan though? Xx

  9. and flowers pick themselves 13/05/2010 at 1:17 PM #

    this makes me miss california oh so much. wonderful photos. 🙂

    xo Alison

  10. Tonia 13/05/2010 at 6:45 PM #

    Oof – the urge to get up and go to San Francisco keeps on growing! You look like you had an amazing time!

  11. Mrs T 18/05/2010 at 6:59 AM #

    Those houses are so amazing. Love your glasses (are they the ones that broke?). Your new blog pic is so adorable!

  12. Gaynor 18/05/2010 at 8:41 PM #

    Looks like you had a fab time; I went way back in 2001 and would love to go back again!

  13. Conversation Pieces 18/05/2010 at 8:56 PM #

    @Jules – the look is quite new so it’s more a case of having spotted it than missed it. Thanks too – everyone seems to like it 🙂

    @Lisa-Marie – it does look like the Charmed house! I used to love that show. And yes the similarities are pretty striking between the two bridges – can we claim it as Scottish-inspired? 😉

    @Deb – me too! probably not what you need on your wedding day!

    @evie – you know my answer already… I lost my heart in Tokyo! (And Kyoto!)

    @Mrs T – actually those are some cheapie ones that my OH got for me since I was so devasted by the death of my blue ones. (Over-dramatic I know but I had the blue ones when we were in Japan and on the day we got engaged so they’re kind of special.)

Leave a little love...

