The Yosemite trip… hills, waterfalls, bears, oh my!

13 May

So after a couple of days in San Francisco (and a day in the Wine Country), we headed out north to Yosemite National Park.

(This is a long post so as Lisa-Marie did, you might want to make a cuppa to go with it!)

For the trip I bought my first ever pair of hiking boots, which really were needed…

The night we arrived we did a mini hike… which was apparently a test to see how well you could cope for the next two days of hiking!

(For those who have ever wondered this is what I look like minus any make-up and without shades on a very sunny day! My favourite blue ones broke within seconds of arriving at Yosemite… I did not take this as a good sign at the time. I have no idea why my hair looks that red here though!)

Anyway, we must have passed the first hike because the next day we drove off to our first ‘proper’ hike in snow.

Now when I say snow…

… that tiny bit of wood you can see is actually top of a picnic bench… which was level with the path we were walking on!

So the snow may not look that deep in the pic below – but if you went off the side of the icy packed snow path, you were up to your knees.

(Check out the look of concentration – it was really really icy. I’m also wearing driving shades borrowed from the hostel reception. It’s a look!)

And here’s what that first hike was all about… giant sequoias.

It has to be said they’re pretty tall. (Certainly a whole lot taller than my OH!)

After hiking in snow, we went further into the park to scale a huge waterfall.

(At this point I was wondering whether I’d secretly been signed up for bootcamp!)

On the way there, we saw this sign…

And the sign was swiftly followed by our first sighting… ekk!

Ok so he doesn’t look at all terrifying (so much for my fear that a bear would eat me!)…

But our hike guide did assure us that although the bears are pretty placid, they can still tear the door off a car to get at food inside.

Hard to imagine since he looks so soft and fluffy!

After all the bear excitement, we hiked on… and on… and on… oh and did I mention on?

And then there were only another 600 stone steps to climb before reaching the waterfall…

But the view was worth it… check out that rainbow!

As well as ‘meeting’ a bear, we also befriended some other wildlife on this trip…

This is Newton the newt. Who looks like we’ve just woken him up!

And this was… well we didn’t actually name this bird but it was very pretty.

We also encountered lots of cheeky squirrels… and even a small mouse who broke into our cabin and stole some of our trail mix!

The next day we went on a ‘flower walk’ which turned out to Yosemite speak for a hard hike with some flowers on the way!

There were lots and lots of flowers… my friend was managing to name them while I just snapped away…

But all insisted that we have to take a pic of this… a non-Scottish thistle!

And after all that hiking (and sliding in the snow) it was time to go back to San Fran… to see Jonsi in concert.

(See it’s all beginning to sort of tie-up now!)

Next time… Vegas baby!

18 Responses to “The Yosemite trip… hills, waterfalls, bears, oh my!”

  1. glasgowbride 13/05/2010 at 9:33 PM #

    It looks amazing, but I wouldn’t have been within photo taking of that bear – you are very brave!

  2. Lisa-Marie 13/05/2010 at 11:36 PM #

    Zoe, you are somewhat Wonder Womanesque with all of the hiking and taking pictures of bears! These photos are stunning, the waterfall with the rainbow being my very favourite.

    Also, is it just me or does ‘bear encounters’ sound a bit dodgy when said out loud?!

    I eagerly await your tales of Vegas!

  3. katiecrackernuts 13/05/2010 at 11:37 PM #

    F#)&$^k that. I’d have been outta there. Give me deadly snakes and spiders any day. I’d have dumped the food and run.

  4. Chocolate Lover 14/05/2010 at 12:44 AM #

    So beautiful! Can’t believe you guys were so close to the bear!

  5. trishie 14/05/2010 at 1:38 AM #

    Looks so awesome!

  6. rebecca 14/05/2010 at 6:50 AM #

    you are so lucky, when we went there there were no bears anywhere! looks amazing, the waterfall is beautiful 🙂

  7. Anu 14/05/2010 at 9:47 AM #

    This looks amazing, Zoe!

  8. Caroline, No. 14/05/2010 at 11:34 AM #

    Seeing a bear must’ve been so scary. I’d’ve definitely panicked. Love the sleepy newt!

  9. josiekitten 14/05/2010 at 3:43 PM #

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes, the cat in the photo is mine! You look like you’ve had a fabulous holiday – some really great photos.

  10. Polly 14/05/2010 at 5:44 PM #

    WOW your trip looks amazing. I love going on walks.
    Your package arrived today! It is SO exciting! Thank you SOOO much. I am wearing the carmex now and the ring and postcard are beautiful. And I can’t wait to eat the M&Ms! I am going to post about it tomorrow to say a proper thanks 🙂 xx

  11. Ayden 15/05/2010 at 11:22 AM #

    Oh my goodness, Ive seen documentaries about yosemite and me and my boyfriend would love to go there one day. It looks absolutely stunning, your pictures are so lovely too! xx

  12. evie 16/05/2010 at 7:29 AM #

    wow what a hike!!!
    looks incredible.

    oh and ive been meaning to say – like the new look blog : )

  13. michelle elisabeth 17/05/2010 at 5:39 PM #

    That bear has impressively lovely fur! I’d love to visit Yosemite one day 🙂

  14. Mrs T 18/05/2010 at 6:57 AM #

    You saw a bear!? Holy heck. That is so cool

  15. Jennyff 18/05/2010 at 11:16 AM #

    I’m really enjoying your trip, you must be having a ball. Yosemite is heaven on earth, we’ve been twice and on both occassions my husband did his very best to attract a bear on our hikes, waving his sandwiches about, venturing off into the undergrowth etc. I’m pleased to say we never did see one, yours does look adorable but I’m glad you had the experience on my behalf.

  16. Conversation Pieces 18/05/2010 at 9:04 PM #

    @glasgowbride – not brave at all, if he’d done anything remotely scary I would have been out of there but he was just chilling!

    @Lisa-Marie – he he! not sure that’s really true but thanks for the compliment!! yeah before we went I kept saying to the OH that it didn’t seem right to go to a park with wild bears…

    @katiecrackernuts – I would have been less fond of snakes but at least I wouldn’t have wanted to pet one 😉

    @rebecca – yeah our guide said that it was a pretty lucky sighting so we were pretty chuffed!

    @Caroline, No – I knew you’d appreciate Newton 😉

    @Polly – so happy you like your presents 😀

    @Jennyff – yeah my OH did talk about doing something similar to attract one, like putting beef jerky in his pocket. didn’t sound like a good plan to me!

  17. Gaynor 18/05/2010 at 10:53 PM #

    You look like you had an amazing trip, well donw for all the hiking!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday I’m in love… with a large and growly bear « Conversation Pieces - 09/07/2010

    […] we saw a bear in Yosemite Park? Well, we also saw this bear… The Large and Growly […]

Leave a little love...

