The Vegas and Grand Canyon trip… gambling and feeling queasy

17 May

So Vegas… or fabulous Las Vegas as the sign says…

Before we left Scotland, it was a serious contender for a wedding ‘venue’ for us. Partly because we liked how fun it sounded and partly because we thought it would save us the sheer frustration/upset of working out how to deal with estranged relatives and a wedding.

Two things happened to put paid to that plan. One: the Neon Graveyard was closed for refurbishment the days we were in Vegas. (You can imagine how bummed I was at that but something always has to give on a big trip – you can’t do everything.) Two: we were tired.

Now the second reason might sound a little lame (a friend of our friend did laugh at us when we tried to explain). But we’d just spent a week hiking, walking round SF and cycling the Golden Gate Bridge etc – we were feeling a bit worn out and, this perhaps was the more important thing, that our Vegas wedding would end up being an ‘effort’.

Now I’m not against getting married in Vegas. (Some of our friends and family said they would have put money on us doing it.) We just decided that if we were to do something like that then it should be the focus of our trip, not an add-on to a holiday. I guess you could say we realised that it was a bigger deal to us to have a wedding than we’d realised.

Anyway, having decided not to get married, we set about doing the other things you do in Vegas…

We stayed in a very nice hotel… the Mandalay Bay which has a fake beach in it!

We gambled… I actually won money at Excalibur (which the OH calls ‘a silly place’). I spent my money on new sunglasses (to replace my favourite blue ones that broke in Yosemite) and pretty shoelaces for my Converses. (Yup, I am not your typical Vegas gambler!!)

We visited New York New York…

We took a trip to Paris…

And hung out in the ‘Alice in Wonderland’ style Bellagio Gardens.

And made some new friends…

We named him Flower Frog… can you tell we’re really original with the naming of things?!

And then we ate things. Bad things. Like deep-fried Oreos with ice-cream and mallow fluff.

(This was actually the OH’s dessert – it’s so massive it’s obscuring the enormous frozen hot chocolate I had!)

And then we went to the M&Ms store…

By which point we were feeling mighty queasy… which also had a lot to do with the fact that we also took a helicopter ride into the Grand Canyon that day.

When there were 25mph winds.

The OH absolutely loved it.

I was absolutely terrified.

Don’t be fooled by that smile – it’s one of sheer terror!

Of course I would do it again.

Just look at how gorgeous/scarily high the views were…

(And one with a bit of helicopter reflection just to remind ourselves we really were that high up!)

One tip if you ever do this: don’t let your OH persuade you that it’s best to sit on the outside seat with the glass canopy that goes all the way underneath you… unless you have a good head for heights!

So after all that, it was time to head back to SF for our last few days – and a trip to Alcatraz.

Thanks for sticking with the holiday posts – normal blogging will resume soon!

11 Responses to “The Vegas and Grand Canyon trip… gambling and feeling queasy”

  1. Studio MME 18/05/2010 at 2:03 AM #

    I can understand about the wedding in Vegas being a hassle. My boyfriend and I have agreed to get married in the simplest way possible and right now that looks like taking a boat into international waters and having the captain marry us. Wow is that dessert huge. I’d love to know if the two of you managed to eat it all.

  2. Rachel Dale 18/05/2010 at 2:06 AM #

    I had been wondering about the Neon Graveyard part of your trip. I checked out the website after you mentioned hoping to visit it, and was hoping it would still be open for you. 😦 It sounds awesome!

  3. Chocolate Lover 18/05/2010 at 2:07 AM #

    That dessert looks awesome! Wow! That would make the whole trip for me 🙂

  4. Mrs T 18/05/2010 at 6:52 AM #

    I am DYING to go to the neon graveyard. And now that M&M store too! YUM

  5. Tonia 18/05/2010 at 7:42 AM #

    Oh my god – might have to go there just for the deep fried oreos and mallow fluff!

  6. Becky 18/05/2010 at 12:13 PM #

    Sounds and looks so so awesome! Have wanted to go to Vegas for ages, and that shot of you with the M&Ms just makes me even more keen…

  7. Camilla {Hygge Nook} 18/05/2010 at 3:36 PM #

    I LOVE Vegas, though it took me some years to be able to drink a Margherita again after having a yard long Margherita there!

  8. Lisa-Marie 18/05/2010 at 7:08 PM #

    Zoe, I didn’t think a wedding was that big a deal either, until I actually got married surrounded by my family and friends. You definitely made the right decision.

    I am all about the deep fried Oreos with ice cream-mmmmm. I had no idea there were shops where you could get M&Ms that were all the same colour! That could come in handy for cake decorating!

  9. Conversation Pieces 18/05/2010 at 9:08 PM #

    @Studio MME – international waters sounds like a good idea (except I do get seasick!) we didn’t even manage to eat half of that pudding – I have pictures of the OH looking depressed because he was defeated by ice-cream 😉

    @Rachel Dale – yeah was a bummer but it does give us a reason to go back in the future!

    @Camilla {Hygge Nook} – we were too scared of the yard longs… we did see one girl with a guitar-shaped one which made us laugh… but we just weren’t prepared to be flying with a hangover!

    @Lisa-Marie – thanks, good to have that reconfirmed since we’ve been going a bit crazy with the wedding planning recently thinking why didn’t we just do it!

  10. Gaynor 18/05/2010 at 10:23 PM #

    Sounds fab!

    I want to go back there too! To Vegas & the Grand Canyon!

    I agree with Lisa-Marie too; it is so worth it when you are surrounded by the people you love who all want to wish you well and see you get married!

  11. loulabellewb 16/09/2011 at 1:45 PM #

    Loving the Vegas posts, looks like you had an amazing time. We’re off there in February and I just can’t wait!!! Thanks for the helicopter tip, I know my hubby would like to do it but I’m not sure.

    Happy blogging x

Leave a little love...

