The San Fran trip… part 2

20 May

Ok, so after all the Yosemite-ness, Vegas-ness and Grand Canyon-ness, we returned to San Fran for some more San Francisco-ness.

Which meant a visit to the infamous Alcatraz.

Now it would be an understatement to say the OH was excited about this.

I’ve lost count of the amount of times he’s seen The Rock … and if you’ve seen this movie then you’ll know why the journey there was peppered with conversations about VX gas and marines!

On the way out, the views of the city were amazing…

… and we were followed by a lot of seagulls. I love how this one has totally clocked me taking a shot of him!

The outside of Alcatraz was also covered in seagulls…

… and pretty flowers! So not what you would imagine of a grim prison.

Inside the infamous prison… the audio tour is so interesting, rather bleak but fascinating. I didn’t know about the Indian occupation or that it was a military prison either.

The OH made me go stand in the cells… which I wasn’t entirely comfortable with. I wasn’t made for prison! (The OH looks ecstatic in his pics… so I can only conclude he would be happy to be an inmate!)

After we escaped Alcatraz, we jumped on the back of a tram… which literally meant we were hanging off the back of the tram. The OH thought this was far scarier than the helicopter ride!

Good fun but god knows how people don’t fall off and hurt themselves!

The next day we took another trip to the Mission to do some present shopping and checking out of the street art, including the Banksy…

… and then the mural project… of which the following is just a selection.

Makes me wish I was handier with a can of spray paint and a stencil!

The next day we boarded a plane and then – in a mere 21 hours – we were home and in need of a holiday!

So that’s it. That’s all our SF highlights… well, except I still have a few posts to do on my favourite shops and some of my favourite finds we found over there. Then we’ll be back to normal blogging if I can remember what that was…

8 Responses to “The San Fran trip… part 2”

  1. jane 20/05/2010 at 2:38 PM #

    Ooh, looks great, and sounds very interesting. Haha, I dont think you could look less impressed with your own incarceration!

  2. Chocolate Lover 20/05/2010 at 6:26 PM #

    Beautiful pics! Unfortunately sometimes people do get hurt on the cable cars. I think its something that doesn’t get much publicity though.

  3. Lisa-Marie 20/05/2010 at 7:21 PM #

    Your pictures are brilliant Zoe! I have always wanted to visit Alcatraz.

    I would so fall off the back of the tram, I suppose people are just used to them? I think trams generally are very cool!

  4. pretty far west 20/05/2010 at 10:11 PM #

    Lovely sea and lovely sunglasses!

  5. Melanie Adams 21/05/2010 at 10:43 AM #

    Glad to hear you had an amazing holiday, and those pictures are absolutely stunning. Not sure if you have heard, but the bespoke mural service Mr Perswall is holding a competition called “What’s your story?” where you can upload holiday snaps and be in with the chance to win your own mural! I think these pictures would be a fantastic entry: http://yoursnapshotstory.com/

  6. Lisa 21/05/2010 at 11:00 PM #

    Hey… I did a very similar trip 5 or so years ago! Your posts have really taken me back! Great photos!

  7. Mrs T 25/05/2010 at 4:22 AM #

    Ohh I can’t wait to see that new bansky movie – Exit Through The Gift Shop.

    Would love to go to San Fran – one day.

    Glad you had fun – love the seagull shot.

  8. Gaynor 26/05/2010 at 12:50 PM #

    I remember quite liking alcatraz when i was there too; but yeah so many people must fall off the trams all the time!

    Glad you had a fab hol.

Leave a little love...

