8 days of summer…

24 May

For some reason I’m not really in the mood for blogging right now. Think there’s just too much going on in real life at the moment. (Not in a bad way, just in a takes up all my time way.)

So instead here’s a few of the OH’s iphone highlights from the past week…

Our two cats queueing in the living room… We don’t know why!

Just after taking this pic, we went off to the Made in the Shade Springtime Jamboree and bought, amongst other things, a lovely tea towel by Gabrielle Reith.

The owl and pussycat on it so remind us of our cats!

This was also my 3rd week of having braces…

… as everyone keeps saying, you can’t really see them when I smile as they’re white but they’ve been taking a bit of getting used to.

Tomato ketchup is out in case it stains. Chewing ain’t so easy either so pizza, pretzels, apples and carrots are no-no too.

Which means I’ve been eating mainly beige soft foods like a toddler.

Oh the glamour!

In an attempt at eating healthier, we planted a window box…

… with some sort of herbs. We’re hoping once they grow enough, we’ll be able to work what on earth they are.

And just so the cats didn’t feel left out, we grew them some cat grass as well.

As you can see they were mildly unimpressed… but it did allow me to eat some chocolate mousse. (The braces can handle that!)

We also spent some of the week deliberating over floor samples…

We came to the conclusion that our favourite were these – but did we like the red or the grey best?

And how the heck are you meant to decide these things based on a tiny tiny sample?!

However the highlight of the week was my friend’s wedding…

It was a gorgeous day. She looked so stunning and all the little design touches were so lovely.

Hopefully I’ll share some of her fab day on Wednesday but until then here’s me with the Duke!

And then Sunday… a picnic in the park. Where we got rustled by ducks who were after our veggie sausage rolls.

Hopefully this week will be just as good. How was your sunshiney May week?

15 Responses to “8 days of summer…”

  1. hollyjune 24/05/2010 at 9:45 PM #

    Hi Zoe! Just wanted to leave a message and let you know how much I love your blog! I’ve been reading back over your posts for the past few days and your American adventures have got me desperate for a trip of my own.

    I’ve included a link to you in my most recent post which features that gorgeous Chloe Fleury artwork you blogged about.

    Hope you’re well,

    Holly x

  2. katiecrackernuts 25/05/2010 at 2:42 AM #

    I don’t know how I’d cope with braces. Mushy, baby food sounds awful.
    Ah, and don’t you love it when real life does take over. It’s the way it’s supposed to be πŸ™‚

  3. Mrs T 25/05/2010 at 4:28 AM #

    My vote is for red.

    I didn’t know you had braces!? You poor thing. I had them in high school for two years. Then I didn’t wear my retainer and my teeth went to hell again. I then spent $7000 of my own money getting invisalign – which was like heaven compared to braces. Now I wear my retainers at night religiously and I have the metal wires behind my top and bottom teeth. Nothing like spending your own money to keep you motivated!

    Having straight teeth – is SO worth it.

  4. Tonia 25/05/2010 at 7:50 AM #

    The braces will be worth it in the end – believe me! Lovely sunshiney May isn’t it: my pale old english skin can’t take too much of it, so it meant an awful lot of sitting under the gazebo reading. Oh the hardship!

  5. Sally 25/05/2010 at 1:58 PM #

    ZoΓ« look at your queueing cats!!! That is the best photo in the WORLD! Sally x

  6. Jules 25/05/2010 at 6:16 PM #

    I have that green mac too!

  7. Lisa-Marie 25/05/2010 at 8:43 PM #

    I am having blogging lethargy too. There’s so much stuff going on that I haven’t had time to bake or do much that is blog worthy.

    I love the owl and the pussycat teatowel! I didn’t realise you had braces till you said in your last post. I have been considering getting them as my tea are quite squinty, so your opinion would be good! Love the floor tiles,The red ones obviously get my vote, but actually I think the grey are quite ‘you’ and would be a good base if you kitchen will have lots of brightly coloured things in.

    Oh, and your dress is gorgeous!

  8. bellaandnick 26/05/2010 at 11:58 AM #

    Braces will be so worth it – promise (I had them twice – TWICE! – aged 11 and aged 25). Just whatever you do don’t eat anything with Turmeric in it – turns those white braces BRIGHT luminous yellow. Not a great look. And get that wax stuff – saves a ton of pain.

    I love that dress you wore to your friends wedding – so cute.
    (and your cats scare me a bit!)

  9. hannah 26/05/2010 at 8:21 PM #

    Zoe- what is that lovely DRESS?! Looks gorgeous! yes please share more photo’s!

    • Gaynor 29/05/2010 at 1:03 AM #

      I love the grey, the cats in a queue are so funny and we have the same herb box although we haven’t planted it yet; I could tell you which herbs are in it?

  10. mysparethoughts 27/05/2010 at 9:21 PM #

    I want your cats. Love the queuing and it doesn’t surprise me that the fox is up front. I need that tea towel for my Owl and Pussy Cat.

  11. Gaynor 29/05/2010 at 1:04 AM #

    Sorry I replied to a comment instead of making s new one!

  12. Janne 30/05/2010 at 9:44 PM #

    Having little blog energy myself at the moment… I also had braces in adult life – about 10 years ago. (Forgotten about that waxy stuff, but yes, use it – so worth it.) Not had queuing cats yet, though πŸ™‚

  13. Conversation Pieces 03/06/2010 at 3:29 PM #

    @hollyjune – thanks and lovely to discover your blog too!

    @katiecrackernuts – mushy stuff not the best but it’s not for long! I’m probably going to balloon when I get these off as I’ll want to eat everything πŸ˜‰

    @Mrs T – yeah I’ll have the wire thing too when they’re done. I was offered them free when I was a teen but it was going to be the 2 to 3 years job and lots of teeth pulled – and I pretty much just ran away! Much better as an adult with no teeth pulled and for 6 months – hoping will be money well spent!

    @Tonia – love gazebos! a hardship indeed πŸ˜‰

    @Sally – thanks! πŸ˜€

    @Lisa-Marie – we love the red tiles but trying to think practically because this will be in the same room as the jelly wallpaper! think the red and that combined will make us look like a sweet shop! (not necessarily a bad thing!!)

    @bellaandnick – he he on the cats! and yes I have been warned on the staining them bright yellow thing – thankfully I’ve really eaten that much curry so I’m managing. It’s tomato ketchup I miss the most… and chewing properly!

    @hannah – it’s actually just a topshop number – I always feel vaguely ashamed to say that as everyone expects me to go ‘vintage’! πŸ˜‰ the fish you can (maybe) see is a necklace from etsy.

    @gaynor – that would be fab – they’re totally growing now and we still have no idea what they are!! (and your second comment so made me laugh!)

    @mysparethoughts – she’s normally the least bold one but something was definitely going on that day – totally like they were waiting for an order or something πŸ˜‰

    @janne – yeah I have discovered the wax does help – not so good when you swallow a whole clump though πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When you’re tiling, the whole world tiles with you « Conversation Pieces - 08/08/2010

    […] now means we’re on the hunt for cool tiles that would suit a white kitchen that will have a grey with dots floor and pink jelly wallpaper… […]

Leave a little love...

