Friday I’m in love… with bird boxes

28 May

Yes, an unlikely post title for a person who owns two cats, but this Friday I’m loving bird boxes.

Why? Well, two reasons.

One… I was having a peek at what’s new on Urban Outfitters and stumbled across this wee beauty:

How funny would that be to see the little birds coming in and out?

(Tell me it’s not just my sick sense of humour!)

Two… stumbling across the cat bird box reminded me of an exhibition I saw in San Francisco that I’ve been meaning to share.

It was called ‘For the Birds’ and was being exhibited at the very lovely The Curiosity Shoppe.

How brilliant are they? Not surprisingly they’re not cheap (or cheep!) but it would great if they were real birds’ homes.

Hope you all have a lovely weekend. We’ve got a packed one of catching up with friends, searching for venues and, eh, watching Eurovision. (Yes I have no shame!)

18 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with bird boxes”

  1. Patchwork Harmony 28/05/2010 at 8:49 AM #

    They r so cool! Love them!
    Don’t feel ashamed! We r having a eurovision party! It’s a tradition & involves a lot of booze! 🙂

  2. Suzie 28/05/2010 at 9:18 AM #

    I love these!! Made me laugh 🙂

  3. Becky 28/05/2010 at 11:16 AM #

    These are brill. I’m sitting here at work quietly chuckling to myself…

  4. Polly 28/05/2010 at 12:38 PM #

    I love the UO one! So funny. and that exhibition in San fran looks brilliant x

  5. Fee 28/05/2010 at 12:39 PM #

    These are sooo good!

    Recently saw some little bird houses in Homesense..but they where like dolls houses..with windows and a decking area. Very cute.

    Fee x

  6. Tonia 28/05/2010 at 12:57 PM #

    Loving Madam Cukoo’s! Our cat is surprisingly uninterested in birds: think he may have been traumatised by our hens.

  7. Betty 28/05/2010 at 1:16 PM #

    For the “Queen’s Park Open Studios and Gardens” day in 2006, a local estate agent sponsored some bird boxes which local artists made for the trees in the park. Each box was accompanied by a sales listing “e.g. Chic des res, would suit a sparrow about town” or “Ideal love nest for two”. It was really fun going round trying to find them, and no doubt great advertising for the estate agent!

  8. Gaynor 28/05/2010 at 11:50 PM #

    I love the night owls one!

    Enjoy your weekend; I just got back from Sex & the City 2 then tomorrow our wedding gifts are coming from John Lewis, I have a bridesmaids dress fitting then a 50th dinner at night.

    Might think about doing more of the thank you cards on sun / mon!

  9. Lisa-Marie 29/05/2010 at 8:40 AM #

    I love the ‘village’ bird boxes, and all of the punnage! I may have to buy one of those cat ones as well. I don’t think it’s sick, just funny!

  10. hollyjune 29/05/2010 at 8:11 PM #

    These are absolutely gorgeous! Sadly I live in a city centre flat so have little use for a bird box but my parents live on a farm so I think one of these would make an excellent gift!

  11. Caroline, No. 30/05/2010 at 9:33 AM #

    Love them! My mum is a sicko and has a birdbox despite having cats. She has a bengal who I suspect is a bit inbred, though, she’s incapable of hunting. So it’s ok.

  12. Mrs T 31/05/2010 at 2:54 AM #

    They are hilarious! Thanks for sharing

  13. Louise 31/05/2010 at 11:40 AM #

    This post has absolutely made my day! Amazing. Might have to get the urban outfitters one, just to have a chuckle everytime I leave the house! Can one stick a birdbox on a first floor flat I wonder?

  14. Polly 02/06/2010 at 5:47 PM #

    There is a little feature on bird boxes in this month’s elle decoration – you were ahead of the game! 🙂 xxx

  15. Serena 04/06/2010 at 7:48 AM #

    Oh, I love these – especially the cat one!

    I think I might be a little bit obsessed with bird boxes actually… you can even get really cool miniature cameras which fit inside the boxes and mean you can watch the action from your living room!

  16. Cheaps 24/06/2010 at 8:07 AM #

    Wow, i have just totally fallen in love with these

Leave a little love...

