Weddingnesday… it’s original because it’s ours

9 Jun

In the last two weeks, the OH and I have gone from having nothing in place to having quite a lot in place.

We now have a band, a venue and a date.

We’ve been speaking to caterers, bakers, photographers.

We’ve sussed out how we want our invites to look.

We even know a thing or two about the decorations.

And I’ve been trying on wedding dresses.

*

In amongst this I’ve been making lists.

(I make a lot of lists generally. It helps keep me sane.)

Lists of things we would like to have at the wedding.

And then I got concerned.

Were the things original enough?

Were they different or special enough?

The OH just smiled at me.

“It’s our wedding. That’s original enough.”

Sometimes he knows exactly the right thing to say.

*

Image via Rock ‘n’ Roll Bride
15 Responses to “Weddingnesday… it’s original because it’s ours”

  1. Caroline, No. 09/06/2010 at 8:49 PM #

    AHH, CUTE!

    That is a good thing to say. 🙂

  2. Serena 09/06/2010 at 8:58 PM #

    Oh, bless him! You’re definitely onto a winner there :). I just know your wedding is going to be incredible.

  3. Lynne 09/06/2010 at 9:39 PM #

    Yay! And he’s right!

  4. Charlotte 09/06/2010 at 9:49 PM #

    And for that quote alone, you are marrying the right man! PS I also make lists..all the time and about everything from cleaning my teeth to shopping to my life goals! what would we do without them??!!

  5. rebecca 10/06/2010 at 5:57 AM #

    thats my photographer 🙂
    I kept doing that too, I think it was lovely wedding blogs putting pressure on me to find the most original thing going, and to personalise absolutely everything. he’s so right, its your wedding!

  6. Polly 10/06/2010 at 6:56 AM #

    That’s such a sweet thing to say! And so right. I can’t wait to find out some more details about your wedding! I’m sure it’s going to be amazing 🙂 x

  7. Tonia 10/06/2010 at 9:06 AM #

    You ahve a very wise OH!

  8. Tonia 10/06/2010 at 9:06 AM #

    And I have apparently lost the ability to spell ‘have’!

  9. Bells 10/06/2010 at 9:17 AM #

    That is so so true!
    Funny how we need reminding of these things and good on your OH for doing so.

    Now enjoy that planning!

  10. Lisa-Marie 10/06/2010 at 9:16 PM #

    Your OH is wise indeed.

    I had all of these thoughts. In the end though, for us, the fact that our wedding was quite traditional seemed different to other people – most people were V surprised by my very white, very wedding dressy wedding dress!

  11. glasgowbride 10/06/2010 at 9:35 PM #

    What a lovely thing to say. He’s very right too.

    I worried about this until IB suggested that I might be trying to be different just for the sake of it. He was right too.

    Well done on the band, are you going to spill the beans? Or at least tell us what kind of music they play?

  12. HannahB 11/06/2010 at 3:03 PM #

    Hurrah Zoe! Yes, there is a lot of pressure to be super original. its hard to remember that most epople dont read wedding blogs, and if you stick to the things you both love, it will be truly original! Ray (of ray makes do) has a good mantra. she says sthey want their wedding to be ‘us but better’. a special presentation of the stuff they love.

  13. PinkBow 12/06/2010 at 2:53 PM #

    definitely on to a winner!

  14. Becky 15/06/2010 at 9:04 AM #

    Aw, so, so true!

  15. Gaynor 19/06/2010 at 1:42 PM #

    He is so right!

Leave a little love...

