Kitchens… my other obsession

15 Jun

God I love this kitchen… the integrated handles, the little cubbyholes, the shiny, bright whiteness…

Yup along with my ‘slight’ wedding obsession, I have a ‘getting a new kitchen’ obsession again.

It’s pretty much the last thing to do in our dusty old flat (other than putting a fireplace in the living room) and then we’re done.

Up until recently we couldn’t face having workmen etc back in the flat and having life disrupted again… so we’ve made do with some freestanding bits and bobs from Ikea and Habitat… but after planning a wedding and looking at the costs involved (eeek!) suddenly putting in a new kitchen seems really easy!

So here’s a few of my favourite kitchen references of the moment… I don’t think our kitchen will end up as ‘interesting’ as these but who cares, I’ll finally have a kitchen!

How fab are the round hole door handles… also crushing on the green table just a bit!

Love love love the yellow… not sure it’s that sanitary to have your cat on the worktop though!

Ooooh… I think that’s all I have to say on this one!

This one is maybe more ‘normal’ than the others but if I woke up tomorrow to discover the kitchen fairies had put this in my flat, I’d be pretty happy!

All yummy kitchens found via one of my fav blogs: The Seventy Tree
15 Responses to “Kitchens… my other obsession”

  1. Ludmila {CreamyLife.com} 15/06/2010 at 9:51 AM #

    So pretty pictures! My favorite kitchen is the yellow one, brings so much light in there! xxoo

  2. Lisa-Marie 15/06/2010 at 9:53 AM #

    The last one is may favourite, though I love all of the white with the big green table too.

    When we have a place with a big kitchen, we’re going to have all white(countryish style) units, and a big red butchers block/table/island thing in the middle, and all of my coloured(mostly red) kitchen stuff on the shelves!

    We planned our relatively posh looking wedding on the cheap, so feel free to shout if you need help with stuff!

  3. Polly 15/06/2010 at 10:10 AM #

    I love that first one – I think that would be my dream kitchen too! And the green table is so yummy xx

  4. Laura 15/06/2010 at 10:15 AM #

    I love white kitchens, I also love the green table, it’s fab!! Cat on the worktops eeek! I freak out if my cats jump on the worktop, gross.

  5. francesca 15/06/2010 at 12:07 PM #

    oh my god, imagine if fairies came overnight and put a new kitchen in…just slipped into a little reverie there.
    i love that top one.

  6. Tonia 15/06/2010 at 12:40 PM #

    The raspberry chair cushions on the last one made my mouth water: how mad would combining the green table with those be?! A little too mad for my husband apparently!

  7. Kati 15/06/2010 at 1:27 PM #

    ooh, a big beautiful quirky kitchen is my idea of heaven, and I love the first one. We have to wait to convert our loft before we can get ours, but my boyfriend has made some amazing kitchens for other people so ours is definitely going to be worth waiting for.

    He’s a handy kitchen/ furniture man to know if your in need of any help with yours.

  8. Caroline, No. 15/06/2010 at 4:41 PM #

    Right there with you. We desp need a new kitchen but can’t stand the prospect of having workmen in! So much else needs doing in our flat too. I think I may actually be the world’s laziest person.

    Please get yours done and inspire me.

  9. Jules 15/06/2010 at 6:20 PM #

    Hmm…well I think there’s definitely a theme running through these kitchens! I too am currently kitchen obsessed. I love the whole mix and match, old with the new kinda feel. A bit like your white kitchen with the green antique table combo.

  10. Torie Jayne 15/06/2010 at 8:49 PM #

    I love the top white kitchens! Have a sweet day!

  11. One Small Mouse 16/06/2010 at 6:01 AM #

    I love the splashes of colour – the green table is gooorgeous.

    I don’t think I’m a fan of pure white kitchens (they remind me somehow of an episode of ‘silent witness’ – the autopsy room!) but a big burst of colour in the middle sets all that white off perfectly…

  12. Studio MME 16/06/2010 at 8:23 PM #

    I didn’t have a crush on kitchens until I learned that my boyfriend could cook. Then I really got into cooking and together we write recipes for Backpacker magazine and such. Well, we just found our first apartment for the two of us and it all came down to the kitchen. I really like those pocket handles and just love that green table.

  13. mysparethoughts 18/06/2010 at 7:41 PM #

    Ok so I’m very jealous we have put the kitchen on the back burner until after the wedding. We have an ok kitchen although it has about half the amount of cupboards we need (previous owner was only 5ft so she didn’t fit any above cupboards). Expect lots of kitchen posts later in the year.

    The blue one is my favourite
    and erm no to cats on the kitchen counters!

  14. Mrs T 20/06/2010 at 4:58 AM #

    Totally loving your kitchen style….

  15. Gaynor 23/06/2010 at 8:12 AM #

    I like the top one with the little cubby holes and the shiny silver / blue one!

    Ours is currently black & gloss white with quite a lot of chrome; maybe we should have added some colour!

Leave a little love...

