Friday I’m in love… with things I can’t show you!

2 Jul

Some of you know this already but a while back the OH asked me to stop blogging about our wedding. (If you didn’t know, you might have noticed that there’s a been a lack of ‘reference’ posts recently.) He asked me to do this for a sensible and very good reason. (Not because he was being mean!)

Because a lot of our friends – and even some family, hello little sis! – read this blog. I tend to forget that they do as they very rarely comment on it. (Actually I tend to forget that anyone else other than the people who comment read this blog – so when I look at the stats it freaks me out as I think there’s only about 20 of you out there when I’m writing these!)

Anyway, he quite rightly wants to keep our plans secret from our friends and family so it’s a surprise on the day. I know he’s right. (He usually is but don’t tell him I told you that!) But it does leave me in a bit of a dilemma for my posts.

You see almost everything I have bookmarked at the moment is a wedding reference. Almost all our current crafty and sourcing projects are to do with the wedding. And it feels weird not being able to share them here. But I know it’ll be worth it – and in a year’s time if I’m still blogging I’ll be able to share what we’ve been up to.

So in place of all the things I can’t show you, here’s something lovely things I’ve been saving recently that I can:

Cute circusy vintage skirt from brownbagvintage – this looks like it would cheer up a grey Scottish day…

Vintage container from kitschcafe – this just makes me smile…

A vintage kid’s kitchen from RetroClassics – yeah I might have re-developed a bit of a thing for toy kitchens!

An apple ukulele from celentanowoodworks’ shop – it’s got such a sad little expression!

Adorable cushion from robinandmould (found via The Seventy Tree)…

Pretty pretty bicycle made for two card from letterpress

A very very pretty bag from quejimenez

And a sports-appropriate poster that made me laugh from dearcolleen.

Yup it’s an entirely random list of things!!

Happy Friday everyone xx

15 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with things I can’t show you!”

  1. Evie 02/07/2010 at 8:34 AM #

    Hello big sis! Proof of the conspiracy of family reading! *waves* xx

  2. Rhianne 02/07/2010 at 8:56 AM #

    Oh my gosh, I remember that toy kitchen and I think I want the ukele and the bag, lovely.

  3. Patchwork Harmony 02/07/2010 at 8:59 AM #

    Love the eclectic list of loveliness! 🙂

  4. DomesticBliss 02/07/2010 at 9:17 AM #

    OMG, I had that kid’s kitchen and I loved it so much I carried it everywhere with me until it completely fell apart. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. x

  5. Lisa-Marie 02/07/2010 at 11:24 AM #

    It is so, so frustrating not being able to say anything!

    I LOVE that bag. must have! I am going to get the tandem card for husband for our anniversary I think!

  6. Laura @ Eden Rose 02/07/2010 at 12:03 PM #

    I heart that bag!! And the sad little apple ukulele is toooo cute 🙂

    Totally understand your wanting to keep wedding stuff secret, why dont you throw people off the scent by posting things you arnt going to do, you could have fun there 🙂

  7. Gaynor 02/07/2010 at 12:54 PM #

    OMG I had that kitchen toy too!

    Its good to get some things secret; dont want your guests to know everything! Very few of mine read my blog except my bridesmaids who knew everything anyway.

    Although I did post the table plan pics the couple of days before the wedding and my friend from work said she had a nose so she could see where they were sitting beforehand! ha ha {I had blocked out their last names, but she knew she was beside her hubby and other work friends!}

    p.s I totally recommend the 2 photographers thing; some of my fav shots are the ones of G when I arrived.

  8. Elizabeth 02/07/2010 at 8:33 PM #

    Good luck with the wedding, I look forward to hearing all about it eventually.

  9. evie 04/07/2010 at 1:58 AM #

    its a hard call, i understand about sharing wedding plans on your blog when you still want the day to be a surprise and special to those attending. i wish you all the best and as a reader following your wedding progress i cant wait to see the final reveal if you are still blogging around the time of your special day : )
    gorgeous finds in this post too. i especially love the pillow ‘dream big little one’ so sweet! x

  10. Red Boots 09/07/2010 at 12:33 PM #

    Totally understandable about the wedding. It’ll all be worth it for you, your other half and all your friends and family in the end when you have your gorgeous surprise wedding!

    In the meantime, there are lots of other things you can blog about. Like your kitchen! Can’t wait to see the finished result! It’s given me kitchen envy. We are still doing our living room, and once that’s finished we’re moving on to the bathroom as it’s a mouldy cave at the moment. So the kitchen is way down on our to do list, as it’s liveable with. But if we weren’t trying to be so practical, I’d do the kitchen now!!

  11. Temporary:Secretary 12/07/2010 at 9:22 AM #

    wow! i totally forgot about that Fisher price cooker – I had one back in the day.

    Realling loving your blog – think i will spending much of today reading through it all ❤

    xxxx

  12. Temporary:Secretary 12/07/2010 at 9:22 AM #

    Realling? I meant *really* – uuurrgh…. monday morning brain. x

  13. glasgowbride 19/07/2010 at 9:24 PM #

    I had that kitchen too!

    Your OH probably has a very good point – I sort of wish I’d kept my blog a bit more of a secret so I could share more stuff.

  14. D R E W 22/07/2010 at 4:21 PM #

    i am loving this collection of items!!! and thank you for including an item from my shop!!

Leave a little love...

