Friday I’m in love… with a large and growly bear

9 Jul

Remember we saw a bear in Yosemite Park? Well, we also saw this bear… The Large and Growly Bear.

The book was hidden away in a little junk shop in Half Moon Bay (a wee town outside San Francisco) and though not exactly in mint condition, I totally fell in love with the illustrations and the story… and it only cost a couple of dollars.

It tells the story of a bored bear, who decides to go and scare the other animals for fun. But then he sees his own reflection and scares himself – and realises that scaring people isn’t so fun after all. Cute huh?

How dopey is his expression? Brilliant!

I love these moles… how adorable are they?!

Happy Friday everyone xx

9 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with a large and growly bear”

  1. rebecca 09/07/2010 at 8:13 AM #

    that is lovely, I love the illustrations, theres a lovely landscape in there too, and a page made just for peonies!

  2. Ludmila {creamylife.com} 09/07/2010 at 8:15 AM #

    the growly bear is kinda cute although he wants to look scary. happy Friday! xoxo

  3. One Small Mouse 09/07/2010 at 8:18 AM #

    I just read that – from beginning to end – with absolute delight :).

    I bet you would love ‘guess how much I love you’, a book about two hares: Big nut brown hare and little nut brown hare…

    OK so technically it’s for children, but you NEED it.

  4. Lisa-Marie 09/07/2010 at 8:49 AM #

    What a gorgeous book! I love the bear!

  5. Becky 09/07/2010 at 10:56 AM #

    So cute! Love old illustrated children’s books.

  6. Tonia 09/07/2010 at 12:39 PM #

    Oh how sweet – the title alone makes me grin from ear to ear!

  7. kerry 09/07/2010 at 12:56 PM #

    Ooooh I love it. What a great find. x

  8. jane 09/07/2010 at 8:04 PM #

    Bears are the best! I love his dopey expression in the last picture.

  9. Elz 10/07/2010 at 8:24 PM #

    Aww! I really enjoyed that! You should post the rest of the book… I want to see what the large growly bear does! hehe

Leave a little love...

