Weddingnesday… how could I forget about the shoes?

14 Jul

I’m no Imelda Marcos but I do own more 5 inch heels than is surely sensible – so imagine my surprise when I realised I hadn’t even considered shoes for our wedding. (This only dawned on me after reading this post on Bletherings of a Glasgow Bride.)

As someone who has a plethora of sparkly, coloured and quite frankly ridiculous heels, I’m suddenly thinking about what on earth I could have – and still bemused by how I managed to overlook such an, um, important detail… especially when I want a short wedding dress!

It’s also just struck me that if I manage to bag myself a vintage dress for not too much, then I could always splurge on the heels… yay!

Anyway, amidst this pondering and perplexity, I’ve happened upon these brides’ footwear… all delightfully different!

What’s your favourite? What did you have on your feet on your wedding day?
(Or what are you going to have?)

P.S. I don’t think this is breaking my new ‘blogging about our wedding details ban’ right? I mean, it’s no big secret that I’ll be wearing shoes on the day!

P.P.S. Thanks for all your comments, suggestions and support recently on the wedding stuff – they really are very much appreciated!

1. Etsy. 2. Rock n Roll Bride 3. Melissa C Walker 4. Green Wedding Shoes 5. Ruffled 6. Green Wedding Shoes 7. Snippet & Ink
23 Responses to “Weddingnesday… how could I forget about the shoes?”

  1. CPOH 14/07/2010 at 12:25 PM #

    Nope, it doesn’t breach the conditions of the ban 🙂

  2. Claire 14/07/2010 at 12:29 PM #

    So many pretty shoes! My only tip is make sure they are comfy and break them in. I did neither and I literally couldn’t feel my toes for a week after the big day :S

  3. Rachel Dale 14/07/2010 at 1:16 PM #

    Whatever shoes you pick, make sure they are comfy. You don’t want your feet killing you while you are trying to enjoy the party. Or if you can’t find cute AND comfy, then just get 2 pairs, a cute pair and a comfy pair for later! 🙂

  4. Scatterbox 14/07/2010 at 5:01 PM #

    Amen on the comfy shoe tip. I won’t talk about the boring pair I wore for my wedding (why didn’t I even THINK to make that part fun?). I LOVE brides that are wearing color on their feet. The blue is nice if you are doing the whole “something blue” deal (do they even do that over there in Europe??), but that yellow on the last pair… ooh, that’s one of my favorite colors.

  5. Sophie Isabelle 14/07/2010 at 6:59 PM #

    i love a ‘colour popping’ wedding shoe. i love the blue and yellows. so pretty!

    i’d say make sure you wear them in first, it’s a must. 🙂

  6. Jo 14/07/2010 at 7:33 PM #

    Irregular choice have some amazing shoes. I’ve picked my wedding shoes already and am not getting hitched until July 2012.
    Enjoy shoe shopping!

    Jo

  7. Polly 14/07/2010 at 7:37 PM #

    I love those yellow ones in the last picture… and the Vivienne Westwoods are gorgeous, and perfect for a wedding with that heart! I’m not so keen on the lace-ups in the first picture… I think wedding shoes should be pretty and girly! 🙂 x

  8. size too small 14/07/2010 at 8:09 PM #

    funny- i didn’t think about my shoes much either! i was trying to decide between going barefoot (outdoor wedding and reception) or heels. i decided if i couldn’t find shoes i liked i’d go barefoot. i found shoes but half way through the reception ended up bare foot anyway.

  9. Lisa-Marie 14/07/2010 at 8:41 PM #

    I like the blue shoes and the sunny yellow ones.

    I had ballet practice shoes, because I knew I wouldn’t get foot cramp then, and red Cons for going away.

  10. Jo 14/07/2010 at 10:14 PM #

    I love the red cowboy boots ones and I loved what Sarah Michelle Gellar-Prinze wore for her wedding – think that was the most memorable part for me considering it’s etched in my memory and they’ve been married for around 8 years – think she wore a short dress too but she had little cute white flip flops on – very pretty 😀

  11. Gaynor 14/07/2010 at 11:04 PM #

    Ooooh yeah you need some lovely shoes for a short dress! You do want to make sure they are comfy but I didnt really notice mine till really late on at the reception, as they were quite high!

  12. Aimee 14/07/2010 at 11:48 PM #

    I love colourful shoes. I got the inspiration for my wedding shoe and dress needs from a link to another blog from here. I want a short dress, and I want it all about the shoes! I want red shoes, I know that is maybe a little raunchy, but I LOVE red shoes! Red, chunky heel, slight platform, red satin peep toe shoes. I just need a date and venue!

  13. mysparethoughts 15/07/2010 at 1:37 PM #

    I’m a comfy shoe girl but can always admire beauty. Irregular choice do make some amazing shoes.

  14. Vanessa 16/07/2010 at 2:38 AM #

    I LOVE the last pair! I also really like the idea of wearing blue shoes.

  15. Conversation Pieces 16/07/2010 at 9:37 AM #

    Good grief! I hadn’t thought about them being comfy at all… admittedly if my wedding is anything like all the other weddings I’ve ever been to I’ll end up wearing very high shoes that have to be taken off to bounce around the dancefloor 😉

    • Lisa-Marie 16/07/2010 at 10:35 AM #

      Remember you have to be able to stand up ALL DAY. Cosy shoes are a good plan.

  16. Carla Turner 17/07/2010 at 5:58 PM #

    The Westwood ones!!!!!! Xxx

  17. Jenny 19/07/2010 at 12:12 PM #

    The lady in the second picture with all the peach is wearing Irregular Choice!!

  18. glasgowbride 19/07/2010 at 9:20 PM #

    I love the Vivien Westwoods the most. I’m all about the comfort though – no guest should have to put up with the grump I’ll be in if my feet hurt.

    So, surely an excuse to get two pairs? One for the ceremony and pics, another for comfort and dancing?!

  19. Claire 19/07/2010 at 11:59 PM #

    There are so many wonderful shoes out there to choose from. I would make sure they are comfortable to wear and need very little break in time. It is no fun having blisters or sore feet half through the wonderful day. I had a lovely pair of pumps that were dyed to my wedding main wedding color.

  20. Maggiebell 22/07/2010 at 7:27 AM #

    oh my.. that’s some beautiful pictures!
    I love your blog, and the pictures you’re posting..

    I’m a Swedish fan of yours!:)

  21. Lila Wolff 09/10/2010 at 3:29 AM #

    The Westwoods were my wedding shoes and I can vouch that they are incredibly comfortable. The inside has just the right amount of squish so that you are stable but cushioned.

  22. Anne 06/12/2010 at 5:00 PM #

    I had fairly boring but comfortable pumps. I did recently see a wedding photo where the bridal party had signed the bottom of the bride’s shoes. Made for a really cute photo! I don’t know if they were going to keep the shoes preserved or use them and wear off the signatures, but I thought it was a fun, different idea. 🙂

Leave a little love...

