Friday I’m in love… with our crafty felt rug

16 Jul

We’ve always fancied having a Pinocchio Rug but it’s a little on the pricey side. Then the other weekend I spotted two rectangular Pinocchio-rug-alikes tucked away on a bottom shelf at the back of our local Paperchase.

They had no packaging or price on them but I was pretty sure they cost less than the £100s the real thing does. After half an hour of fruitless searching on the system, the poor checkout girl decided to just make up a price… £40 each.

“What are you going to do with them?” she asked, “Put them on a wall?”

“Eh, no, I’m going to make a rug.”

She looked at me like I had suggested something insane…

“I’m going to sew them together to make a big rug,” I tried to explain. This still did not seem to be a suitable response.

Anyway, on getting them home, it became obvious that we’d need a third rug.

One email and call later to Paperchase and a very helpful man explained that I had rather drastically underpaid for my first two rugs… and to get a third I was going to have to spend the same as I did on the first two. Oh, well!

So we sewed the rugs together…

… but you can’t sew in our flat without attracting the attentions of the Fox-Owl-Cat. (Left to her own devices, she will try to eat the thread and it’s not pretty trying to pull that back out of her mouth!!)

The (nearly) final thing… Just a little sewing still to go, leaving that bit to the OH as he’s much better at sewing than I am. Of which the following is evidence:

These are the fleecy cloud ‘snooze’ cushions the OH made me for Xmas (which I’ve been meaning to show for ages and then forgetting)…

Aren’t they fab? Their expressions made me laugh so and – along with my wolf suit the OH and my sis made me – were certainly a very cool present surprise.

Hope you all have a good weekend – I’ll be helping building a kitchen, working on a writing project for Sunday, and hopefully catching up on some sleep… life has me beat at the moment!

39 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with our crafty felt rug”

  1. glasgowbride 16/07/2010 at 8:03 AM #

    Have I mentioned before that I want your flat and everything in it? No? Well, I do.

    I’ll let you finish the kitchen first though.

    • mysparethoughts 17/07/2010 at 5:59 PM #

      Could I move in too?

  2. hollyjune 16/07/2010 at 8:15 AM #

    Good heavens all of these things are amazing. What a great post to read first thing in the morning, I’m inspired to crack on with some stuff today – thanks!

  3. Polly 16/07/2010 at 8:16 AM #

    Wow that is so creative and it’s worked really well! I agree with glasgowbride – your flat is SO nice!

  4. Elizabeth 16/07/2010 at 9:10 AM #

    Oh, I am so jealous of your find and bargain deal! The rug looks fantastic.

  5. Lisa-Marie 16/07/2010 at 9:13 AM #

    I want your flat and everything in it too. I’d miss my very not stylish but very cosy looking pine furniture though. Your painted floor is beeyootiful!

    The rug looks fab, and those are some very cute clouds. Husband will be getting cushions for our anniversary from me (this year is cloth or china) that look like the CTRL ALT DEL button. I think he will love them!

  6. rebecca 16/07/2010 at 9:22 AM #

    I think you might nbe facing a mass eviction from us all, as we take over your flat! that is immense!

  7. Lucy A 16/07/2010 at 11:16 AM #

    Those snooze cushions are incredible. Never mind how much we all want your flat, how’s about your crafty OH?!!

    Love the rug, and its still worked out quite cheaply, really, for something so bobbly and pretty.

  8. Bells 16/07/2010 at 11:37 AM #

    what a crafty couple you are!
    and love that rug – I’d rather like to be one of your cats I think, and admire how elegantly furry I look sitting upon it!

  9. Rachel Dale 16/07/2010 at 12:35 PM #

    I LOVE the rug and even better that you got it for a “steal”! 🙂

  10. Tonia 16/07/2010 at 1:04 PM #

    You lucky thing you! What a great bargain and the rug looks amazing – like little woolly sweets lined up in rows. Perfect!

  11. jane 16/07/2010 at 1:04 PM #

    I will definitely be joining the merry band of people invading your flat. Don’t worry, we will let you drop by for tea, if you promise not to steal anything away with you. LOVE the rug. And those cushions are one of the best gifts ever.

  12. amberbyday 16/07/2010 at 2:24 PM #

    Well cat obviously approves and that is all the approval you need in my eyes!

  13. Laura 16/07/2010 at 2:34 PM #

    OMG what a blinkin bargain, lucky you!!! It loook fabulous as does the rest of the room!! xx

  14. francesca 16/07/2010 at 3:15 PM #

    oh my god, that wolf suit! what a crazy fabulous present! lovely rug too, bet your fingers ache after that.

  15. kerry 16/07/2010 at 3:49 PM #

    Oh my! I am so jealous. I’ve been in my local Paperchase today and where was my pinoccio-rug-a-like hiding at the back? Hmph! Great find and I love what you’ve done with it. Well done you! x

  16. Gaynor 16/07/2010 at 9:18 PM #

    Emmm could you get him to russle up some more of those cushions and bring them when we meet? Thanks!

    They are so fab and I love the rug; I miss paperchase! I used to work around the corner and went ALL the time but now im not as close and the bit in frasers just isnt the same!

    Have a fabby weekend; im getting a hair trial for being a bridesmaid tomorrow morning then have a bridesmaid dress fitting then meeting old work friends for dinner!

  17. Marg 16/07/2010 at 11:01 PM #

    That rug looks lovely! And I see it’s been received well by the all important feline contingent.

  18. evie 16/07/2010 at 11:42 PM #

    great find! lucky you getting the first two cheaper : )
    the rug looks fantastic. and i cant believe your OH made those sweet cushions for you. how cute is he!! mine would not know where to start or even how to stitch. i am very impressed!! i also know what you mean about retrieving thread from a curious kitty’s mouth ewww x

  19. CAPow! 16/07/2010 at 11:48 PM #

    that rug looks amazing in your place!

  20. mysparethoughts 17/07/2010 at 6:01 PM #

    You guys are so good at finding a bargain or freebies. When you’ve finished your flat could you have a go at mine. Good look with the kitchen.

  21. mysparethoughts 17/07/2010 at 6:01 PM #

    Good luck with the kitchen (brain cells wake up)

  22. Kaye Macleod 19/07/2010 at 7:11 PM #

    Amazing!! I love it!! xx

  23. Tonia 20/07/2010 at 9:54 AM #

    Fabulous. I’ve never thought about sewing rugs together.

  24. Little pink room 20/07/2010 at 12:14 PM #

    I love the rug. I am pondering on doing something similar here… Thanks for the inspiration. A x

  25. Becky 20/07/2010 at 3:23 PM #

    You are such a very talented household!

  26. katie 22/07/2010 at 11:39 AM #

    rugs are friggen adorable and the felt clouds are ridiculously cute – he made those?! you guys are a match for sure.

  27. Zoe Radcliffe 24/07/2010 at 4:11 PM #

    Wow-I love the rug…just as you described it!! I want it-wish they had more. It was lovely to meet you! Please, please, please send a photo of you yourself in a vintage outfit for our ‘Show Us Your Style’ section! http://www.vinouveau.co.uk xx

  28. Mrs T 28/07/2010 at 4:33 AM #

    Heart that rug. And HEART the heck out of those cushions!

  29. handmade charlotte 29/07/2010 at 1:11 AM #

    Love the rug!

  30. trishie 05/08/2010 at 4:15 AM #

    That must be the most awesomest rug…i love it!

  31. Felt Rugs 17/08/2010 at 6:22 PM #

    Very creative, really like the rug…..

  32. tallin 15/11/2010 at 9:31 PM #

    Hello there,

    I landed here via blackeiffel.blogspot.com

    Do you happen to remember the name paperchase used for the rugs/mats you found?

    Lovely work! I’ve started to make my own felt ball rug, but need a back-up in case my arms start to give out before I’ve made 3000 balls. 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 16/11/2010 at 3:44 PM #

      Afraid not Tallin… they didn’t even know the name of it! They seemed to express some doubt that they even sold it when I bought it… Think the best thing would be to either give them a phone and describe it (that’s what I had to do with the 3rd one) or pop into a store and hope for a knowledgeable member of staff. Good luck with your rug 🙂

  33. Jess 02/12/2010 at 1:36 PM #

    Well if that just isn’t the cutest rug I’ve ever seen!

  34. Emily @ Merrypad 22/12/2010 at 3:57 PM #

    OMG. Very much in love. That’s so sweet (and the rainbow version of my slate gray Pebble Rug from West Elm). Thanks for sharing!

  35. Annie 09/02/2011 at 5:05 PM #

    Your rug looks ace. Have been really enjoying having a nosey around your blog. Very cool stuff.

    Annie

  36. Randall Murrow 11/09/2011 at 6:15 PM #

    Lucky you, great find! Was relieved for you to find you hadn’t hand-crafted the entire thing yourself. Congrats on the magazine article!

Leave a little love...

