China on your wrist?

21 Jul

How pretty are these bracelets by StayGoldMaryRose? Each one is made from a vintage china cup.

I can’t quite make up my mind about how easy these would be to wear… I would worry about clanking them off my desk and breaking them. (I’m such a delicate girl!) There’s also part of me that feels sort of sad for the cups – which is exactly how I felt when I saw this teacup light pendant – but at the same time I think it’s a great upcycling idea.

What do you think? Would you wear them?

P.S. No Weddingnesday post this week as I can’t think about wedding stuff until we’ve finished the kitchen! (Hopefully this weekend, we’ll get it nearer to being finished… at the moment, we’re still on the plastering the walls stage but once that’s all done we can put the cabinets in properly. Yay!)

19 Responses to “China on your wrist?”

  1. Ludmila {creamylife.com} 21/07/2010 at 11:06 AM #

    well, I’d break them in 1,2,3, so wouldn’t take the risk. but they look so pretty!

  2. hannah 21/07/2010 at 11:13 AM #

    Zoe! ive been absent recently but just catching up. Good luck with the kitchen, cant wait for the piccies!

    I’ve seen these before and I love them- but i know id break them, and then I worry that i’d stab my wrist arteries with the jagged edge! (wow- morbid or what. Apols)

    They look pretty though! maybe wearing just one would be less breakble?

  3. Rhianne 21/07/2010 at 11:20 AM #

    Oh my, I probably wouldn’t wear them but what a lovely idea and they are cute!

  4. Evie 21/07/2010 at 11:36 AM #

    I do own the one on the far left, but in teacup form! I would love to wear it whilst drinking out of my matching china!!

  5. Rebecca 21/07/2010 at 11:38 AM #

    Hmm I can’t make up my mind about these – they look beautiful but as you say I feel slightly dispirited knowing that they can never again be used as cups…perhaps if the cups had holes or something in the bottom that prevented them from ever being used for tea-holding purposes again then I could get on board! 🙂

  6. Ray B 21/07/2010 at 12:11 PM #

    I love them – but just one of my clumsy, dramatic gestures and they would smash all over the place.

  7. Tonia 21/07/2010 at 12:12 PM #

    I’d be terrified of banging my arm too hard on a desk and shattering the lot! It is kind of sad that they are no longer cups but bear in mind that there will be at least one still intact floating around in a museum or archive somewhere – and that’s really all the world needs!

  8. Abigail Maryrose Clark 21/07/2010 at 12:14 PM #

    Hello Ladies

    Thanks so much for featuring my bracelets and for the honest feedback. My friends linked this to me so I thought I’ld say ‘hello’.

    I do get some people who are unsure and abit scared of breaking them but the bracelets are strangely robust once finished and they are quite weighty so I am very aware of it’s presence on my wrist. I do advise to wear one at a time though, the photo is just for advertisment.

    I used to feel sad when sometimes cutting them but I mostly buy job lots of unloved,saucerless teacups or rescue them from being thrown away from antique shops (believe me, they throw them away without a moments thought if they don’t have a matching saucer) so I feel more like I’m saving them now. I also collect vintage china and would never dare cut a collectable one!

    Thanks again for chatting about my work.

    Abigail x

  9. Gaynor 21/07/2010 at 12:58 PM #

    I think they do look very pretty and would be fab for a wintage tea party wedding but I couldnt wear them in everyday life as think I would break it!

    Hope the rest of the kitchen goes well!

  10. Jules 21/07/2010 at 5:05 PM #

    Ha! I saw those earlier and thought exactly the same thing – they’re lovely but I’d be guaranteed to smash one to smithereens within minutes of wearing it. I’m so clumsy!

  11. Jules 21/07/2010 at 5:08 PM #

    Ahhhh I just read Abigail’s comment and I love how she describes rescuing the sad little saucer-less cups. Conjures such cute images!

  12. Little pink room 21/07/2010 at 5:31 PM #

    Yes, for the light. Not sure for the bracelets. Beautiful but a bit scary. I’d break them in a minute!

  13. Lisa-Marie 21/07/2010 at 7:53 PM #

    I think they are beautiful, but I’m really clumsy, so they’d get broken, and I think one end being narrower than the other would annoy me.

    They might be really cool for a special occasion mind you!

  14. Aimee 21/07/2010 at 8:53 PM #

    I like them, but i LOVE teacups more.

  15. ForDGRedial 22/07/2010 at 6:50 AM #

    I love the light arrangement but not so much the bracelets, I think they just don’t sit quite right and like you can’t imagine actually trusting myself to wear it…

    Amy x

  16. claire 22/07/2010 at 8:48 AM #

    I like these as a sort of abstract concept (‘i love teacups, i love bangles. What’s not to like?’) but not as actual real-life jewellery. I have visions of beautiful shards of china stuck painfully into crucial arteries.

    Tell you what I do have at home, which is lovely – oen of these (the teacup-made-into-martini-glass on the left)

    • kristina 24/07/2010 at 11:17 AM #

      Interesting in a nice way… I would keep my teatowels in them 😀

  17. Mrs T 28/07/2010 at 4:31 AM #

    They are really cute – but I think I’d break them in the first five minutes

  18. Tiger 05/08/2010 at 10:14 AM #

    Beautiful! But maybe a little bit too heavy for my wrist.

Leave a little love...

