Friday I’m in love… with summer

27 Aug

This week there’s been extra blankets on the bed, I’ve considered putting the heating on… and then on Wednesday someone said to me it was only 4 months until Christmas.

Yes summer is rapidly turning into autumn – even though it’s still only August.

But what happened to summer? I would like more days of long, glorious, languid sunshine please before I submit to another stupendously cold Scottish winter.

So this Friday in celebration of all things summery, I thought I’d share these lovely finds… maybe if we can all will it not to be autumn yet if we try really hard?

I love the colour of this playsuit… it looks ideal for prancing about a meadow in. (Not something I’ve ever done but it’s what I imagine me doing in summer!)

I’ve wanted to play croquet ever since I saw the film Heathers… it also looks like the sort of sport you can play with a cocktail in hand!

A pretty little paper plane necklace for wearing with my playsuit obviously…

Sunshiney yellow teacups for drinking some cocktails out of!

Love this swimsuit (and the hairpiece)… definitely one for posing by the swimming pool, going ‘This old thing? I’ve had it for years!’.

A lovely little wicker saddle bag… for flinging over my shoulder (once I’ve stopped posing at the pool of course).

A pretty hankie for the hay fever snivels… well, it is summer!

And of course a Diana so I can happily snap away all summer day long!

Happy Friday everyone. Hope you have a wonderful weekend xx

1. santokivintage 2. leapinglemming 3. SparklePeach 4. trixiedelicious 5. ladramaqueen’s shop 6. GetYourVintageOn 7. BirdandBanner 8. TheLightFantastic
8 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with summer”

  1. Bec 27/08/2010 at 9:38 AM #

    Croquet and Pimms is a tried and tested combination!! Our summer in the UK seems to be pretty much over though 😦

  2. Gaynor 27/08/2010 at 4:24 PM #

    Yep I think summer is gone!

    There is already xmas talk in my family as little sis is now getting married on the 18th of December so it seems so so close!

    We play croquet at Grahams aunts occasionally, its one of their family things! Note that when I say play, I kind of just attempt to whack the ball; its way harder than it looks, especially with a glass of wine in your other hand!

  3. mysparethoughts 27/08/2010 at 7:45 PM #

    Autumn seems to have arrived. The nights are dark and I’m very tempted to put the heating on.

  4. Polly 28/08/2010 at 4:05 PM #

    It’s so dreary here in London as well! I heard from someone that it’s predicted to rain until November 😦 how depressing! Such a cute list though! I heart the wicker bag. I can’t remember if I ever said thanks to you for telling me about the Polly sweets in Ikea! It was so sweet (haha) of you! I used to get them in my stocking at Christmas every year when I was little and then they stopped selling them so I’m so glad they’re back. I happened to go to Ikea last week to get all my uni stuff so I bought 2 bags 🙂 xx

  5. PinkBow 29/08/2010 at 8:04 PM #

    i love the playsuit too! yes, what has happened to our summer? i can’t believe how cold it was today

  6. Sobrina 30/08/2010 at 4:20 AM #

    I’m sad too that the days are getting shorter already! I hate thinking about how it’s going to be so dark so early — leaving work when it’s pitch black out is the worst!! I am willing with you that summer stays for just a bit longer.

  7. Mrs T 30/08/2010 at 5:52 AM #

    We’re heading into Summer this side of the globe. Bring on the sunshine!

  8. julia - rockthathorse 31/08/2010 at 8:34 PM #

    Count me in! Let’s pretend that autumn doesn’t exist and that summer will last forever!

Leave a little love...

