Tuesday’s giveaway… Emily Hogarth

14 Sep

I’m very excited about today’s giveaway… this is one I really wish I could win!

Just before Christmas 2008, on a rainy lunchtime, I went along to a crafty/arty exhibition in Leith and there I discovered the gorgeous work of Emily Hogarth.

She had an absolutely amazing ‘Caledonia’ papercut that I so wanted to buy…

… but then she confused me by telling me she did custom papercuts meaning I could have anything I wanted. So I went off to think about it and I’m still thinking about it now!

Anyway, for today’s giveaway Emily is offering up two amazing prizes…

One winner will win the tea-towel of their choice…

… and a supremely cool Highland cow postcard!

While another winner – and this one needs a drum-roll! – will win their very own customised A5 cutout!

How amazing is that?! Here’s a few examples of what Emily has done in the past for other people…

Emily says she “could include names, special dates, themes etc” so it’s totally up to you what you want!

Here’s one she did for a couple representing all the places they had lived in…

And here’s my absolute favourite of the things she sent through… I feel very Scottish all of a sudden!

So here’s what you have to do to win… Visit Emily Hogarth, have a wee look around for ideas, then come back here and tell us what you would like to be in your cutout and why.

Emily’s favourite will win the customised cutout. The second favourite will win the tea towel and postcard… so remember to say which colour you want too!

I’ll reveal the winner next Tuesday. If you’re one of my Facebook fans, you can also leave your comment there. Follow me on twitter? You get an extra vote for tweeting about the giveaway!

And that’s it! The blog birthday giveaway is over…

Well almost… but more on that another day!

UPDATE: AND THE WINNERS ARE….


Over to Emily to announce who she’s chosen as her winners. (I have no idea who I’d have chosen if I’d had to pick someone!)

“Well I have read through them all and it was really really hard! But the winner of the commissioned cutout is…

LEXI! It will be lovely to create something for her new baby!

And as i found it really hard to choose a winner i thought i would give away three tea towels! So…

BUTTERCUP CAREN has won the light blue tea towel and postcards! As it sounds like it will match her apartment wonderfully!

JENNY
has one the navy tea towel as i have an Irish husband and loved everything she had to say about Ireland and made me very excited about going back there next weekend to catch up with our Irish family!

NICKIE C
has won the red won (hopefully the red can be be a nice Xmas one for her, as I’m also a huge fan of Christmas!)”

So well done to Lexi, Buttercup Caren, Jenny and Nickie C!

40 Responses to “Tuesday’s giveaway… Emily Hogarth”

  1. Dee 14/09/2010 at 8:52 AM #

    Ah so beautiful. And the Caledonia print makes me swell with pride – if ever I have to live outside Scotland again I am definitely buying that to remind me of home.

    If I was lucky enough to win I would really love a cut out that with various representations of Ireland and Scotland to honour IB and I’s home countries – shamrocks and thistles, Robert Burns and Molly Malone, Haggis and Guiness, bagpipes and bodhrans. You get the picture!

  2. Polly 14/09/2010 at 8:55 AM #

    I love those teatowels, especially the light blue one. I adore papercuts. I think I would choose one with all my favourite things incorporated into it! Like birds and cupcakes and bicycles and doilies and horses… xxx

  3. Lisa-Marie 14/09/2010 at 9:21 AM #

    Zoe, you are very Scottish!

    Firstly, I must just say that Emily’s work is awe inspiring. The book with the different layers on each page is one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen, and the one above with the bits of Glasgow feels like home! Also, I want a little decorated tenement!

    When Dave and I got married, I gave up my Scottish maiden name for his Welsh one. His grandpa on one side is welsh, as are his step grandparents and his step-mum, so it’s still very much part of his heritage(the other bit is Anglo-Scottish). I would like something that incorporates design aspects of our respective cultures, as it’s very much part of who we are. Also, Dave is from the city and I’m from the countryside, so it’s be lovely to incorporate that too.

  4. Michelle Crawley 14/09/2010 at 9:24 AM #

    I’ve loved your week of competitions for reminding me of people whose work I’ve coveted after in the past and for introducing me to fantastic talents like Emily Hogarth. Getting married next year and would dearly love a papercut design as our wedding invite. Not sure if I could ever afford it because I had been looking at folk down south and in the States. So pleased to see there’s someone like Emily working in the capital. And feel a bit of a fool for not having noticed her before. Also my friend Damian, lead singer of indie pop band Popup, does a wonderful version of Caledonia – and this reminded me of that too. This youtube clip is pretty shoddy quality but you get the gist…

  5. michelle price 14/09/2010 at 9:40 AM #

    “surround yourself with memories and you will never be alone”

    i love text and would adore this phrase that i have already painted on my wall in a paper cut out format.

    encased in swirling vines and flowers, waves and clouds.

    to be honest the surrounding ‘frame’ isn’t as important to me as the saying, so emily could have complete artistic control over that part 🙂

    beautiful giveaway x

  6. Elizabeth 14/09/2010 at 9:58 AM #

    Wow, Emily’s work is stunning. I love the simplicity and beauty of ‘Make the everyday magical’. It is such a striking sentiment that really stands out in the papercut. I really want one!

    My cutout would continue along the line of strength and delicacy of the papercut, which for me is about my heart. I would want the papercut to include symbolism representing the love I have for my boyfriend. We met in Southeast Asia when we were travelling so it would be nice to include symbols of temples, Buddhism and travel. Plus he is Hindu and I am really quite English so something incorporating the two different cultural backgrounds would be nice.

    Great giveaway as usual Zoe!

  7. gingerbreadhouse 14/09/2010 at 10:28 AM #

    I love cutouts 🙂 I had a look at Emily’s work and my favourite shows the Edinburgh skyline with the highland cows in the foreground. If I was lucky enough to win I would ask for a London skyline with the name and date of birth of my son Edward. He’s the best thing to happen to me and I’m finding it impossible to find something unique to commemorate his safe arrival earlier this year.

    If I’m lucky enough to win a tea towel I would ask for the pale blue as I love pastels in my kitchen!

    Wonderful giveaway 🙂

  8. Jenny 14/09/2010 at 10:29 AM #

    Oh my god that is the best give away in the history of give aways – I would want for nothing else ever. Given Myself and Sandy bought Caledonia as a joined Xmas present (At the same fair at Coburg in December)I would love love love something that refects my home, Sligo Ireland – So without a doubt it would have to be a line from William Bulter Yeats – Lake Isle of Innisfree There are two parts of the poem I would like either

    ‘I will arise and go now,
    For always night and day
    I hear lake water lapping
    With low sounds by the shore;
    While I stand on the roadway
    Or on the pavements gray,
    I hear it in the deep heart’s core’

    Or simply

    ‘I will arise and go now,
    And go to Innisfree’

    Innisfree meaning Heather Island so heather would have to feature somewhere. Sligo or Sligeach means Shelly Place so Shells. Waves too, as the one place in the whole world my heart will always be is on Strandhill beach with the ruins of Killaspugsbrone church

    http://www.google.co.uk/images?hl=en&q=strandhill%20sligo%2C%20killaspugbrone%20church&safe=images&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi

    The Love Knot in Sligo Abbey (represents the bond between the earthly & spritual love)

    http://www.travelblog.org/Photos/2297004

    Also the Carrowmore tombs

    http://www.google.co.uk/images?um=1&hl=en&tbs=isch%3A1&sa=1&q=carrowmore+tombs%2C+sligo&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai=

    I also think there would have to be some refernece to Queen Medb (Meave) the Queen of Connaught who is buried on a mountian in Sligo – when you climb the mountain the rule is you must bring a stone from the bottom to add to her Carin on top (though this is not encouraged as stones from walls where going missing) – As I am sure you have figured out it is Irish mythology

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Medb

    I would love some stars too.

    I would love to see Emily’s interpration of all that information and in green would make it just right…

    It would have a lovely home in my hall next to Caledonia (the blue print) and mean so much to me.

    Tea towel without a doubt has to be the navy/blue one!

    Right well I think that is everything…

  9. Gaynor 14/09/2010 at 10:44 AM #

    Oh wow I love this giveaway & Emily’s work; the New York / Edinburgh skyline piece on her website is fabulous and combines 2 of my favourite places.

    But if I was to get a chance to win a custom piece; I think I would love to get one done for my sister and her fiancé as a wedding gift. Although im making her invites as my present to them; it would be fab to surprise them with something so unique. It would incorporate their wedding date, the city they are getting married in and where our family live (Edinburgh); the city they currently live in (London) and the city his family live in (Sydney).

  10. ayden 14/09/2010 at 10:46 AM #

    haha I seriously thought your give aways couldnt get any better 🙂 I am so proud to be scottish, seriously! All these talented ladies and gents working away bringing their special crafts to us. Fabby ♥

    I still cant get over how detailed her cut outs are – surely she’d endured a few scalpol slices to her fingers at some point in her career? If I was to have my own customised cut out, I would want it to include a central quote and around it a few tattoos which I havent had the courage to be ‘cut out’ on my skin yet. The quote would be ‘les temps sont durs pour les reveurs’ (which is from the film Amelie and means times are hard for dreamers!) with some simple flowers, a ye olde ship shilouette, an empty bird cage and some paper airoplanes! haha, if there was space for all that, and if I won :p

    Anyways, thanks again girlie. Your giveaways have been bloody inspiring to say the least! x

  11. Lucy A 14/09/2010 at 11:19 AM #

    Wow, that papercut book is amazing.

    If I won the personalised papercut I would like it to be something around the story of me and OH.

    We are both from Nottinghamshire and had similar friends there, but never met until we were at university in Sheffield, even though we only lived about 8 miles apart In Nottinghamshire. Anyway, he was at Sheffield Hallam Uni doing Film & Lit, I was at Sheffield University doing Zoology, and we had mutual friends again there! But, again, we didn’t meet… until our respective 2nd year started and we both decided to go to the indie disco and ‘pull a fresher’! Disgraceful. Our mutual Sheffield friend pulled a sneaky trick and got us together that night. And we’ve been together since – its 11 years next Tuesday and we’re inseparable.

    We now live on Tyneside and its great, but we really miss Nottinghamshire and Sheffield, especially local phrases like “Ay-Up Midduck” and the industrial heritage (lace making, coal, in Nottingham,steel and cutlery in Sheffield) . He’s from the Sherwood Forest part of the county (so we joke he’s Robin Hood)and I’m from the old coal mining part, near Yorkshire. We both love the same things, the same art and music and food (especially cake, yorkshire puds, 1950s stuff, lomography…) and we’re pretty much inseparable. We haven’t got married yet because we don’t have the money (he’s not doing well at being Robin Hood!) but really we think we’re pretty solid as we are. We’ve even combined our massive music collection (3000 CD albums and counting!), so we must be ‘the one’ for each other.

    I have no idea how you’d put all that in a papercut, but it would be amazing to celebrate our 11 year anniversary with one!

    If I won the tea towel and Coo postward, I’d like the red tea towel…

  12. Lexi 14/09/2010 at 11:22 AM #

    Wow, those are beautiful! 🙂 I can’t even say I have a favorite one because they are all so lovely!
    I’m actually 37 weeks pregnant at the moment and I’d love to have a cutout for our nursery which combined Scottish and American imagery. I moved here to Edinburgh a year ago, 6000 miles across the world to marry my Scottish husband and i’d love to have something that refers to the fact that our wee baby will be part of both worlds. 🙂 I’m from Arizona so something like cactus + thistles, highland cows + roadrunners, or things like that would be amazing.

    • Lisa 14/09/2010 at 12:44 PM #

      I remember buying a card for my boyfriend a long time ago with the words ‘I would sail the ocean blue sweetheart just to be with you’. Simple but just lovely. A token boat and a lighthouse in there would be lovely, oh and a heart, something to keep forever : )

      p.s my favourite tea towel is the red one…x

  13. domestikate84 14/09/2010 at 12:04 PM #

    Oh wow, what an amazing prize! I love papercuts, and Emily’s work is so beautiful! I would need a bit more time to work out the details but if I would definitely want something involving nature, maybe trees and birds, and I love writing in papercuts so maybe a line from one of our wedding hymns – ‘may each storm that comes your way clear the air for a brighter day’. Oh so exciting! And if I won the teatowel (which would also be super!) I’d go for the duck egg x

  14. Reidunn 14/09/2010 at 12:47 PM #

    Amazing work!
    My favorite of her shown work would have to be the the one with the silouhettes of the two towns. I would like something like that, with my city – Oslo, Norway – as one, and probably London or New York as the other.
    But I’m thinking I might wish for something to give as a wedding gift to my best friend and her husband-to-be. They are getting married next June, and they are bringing two girls each into the family. So a cut out of all their faces in one picture would be a great symbol of their new family.
    The tea towels are beautiful. And the blue one the most.
    Great giveaways! Happy birthday!

  15. buttercup caren 14/09/2010 at 1:22 PM #

    Wow! I hadn’t seen Emily’s work before, but I’ve been schooled now! Love the tea towels; specially the duck egg one (the colour of my apartment). And those highland cows are magnificent!
    Those paper cutouts are surreal – cannot imagine how difficult doing such intricate cuts would be.
    For a customized design: cupcakes, the ceremony of tea, vintage goodies (in the form of my favourite tchotchkes) and the representation of nature along with the quote “she sees the small things and they make her smile”. That seems like a lot, though, so obviously I’d have to tone it down a little! Er, I wonder if my dog could be made into a paper cut piece of art… 🙂

  16. Hollybirdbeads 14/09/2010 at 1:39 PM #

    I am always amazed by papercut artists!

    I would love a nature inspired cut, like some of the ones on Emily’s website with lots of birds, animals and flowers under the moon.

  17. HANNAH EVANS 14/09/2010 at 1:39 PM #

    The duck egg and white teatowel is my favourite. I’m all about duck-egg at the moment!

    If I won I would love to have a cutout with saying “Home Sweet Home” bordered with roses as I’m moving out soon and it could be my first statement piece I ever own.

  18. helen 14/09/2010 at 3:08 PM #

    We are big Emily H fans -we’re on the Coburg House mailing list so found out about her a few years back. We have a couple of teatowels already and have sent her Edinburgh skyline teatowel to one-time-edinburgh-resident friends across the globe.

    An old, old friend is just about to move back to Scotland in very sad circumstances which are marring they very happy circumstance of her and her husband having a little baby girl. Baby Eliza was born in New York where her ma & pa have lived for the last two years; I would love an EH papercut to gift to commemorate her birth, to remember her glamorous Transatlantic beginnings, and also to recognised the unusual (animal) surname that her mummy once had.

  19. Nickie C 14/09/2010 at 3:09 PM #

    I would love something with a Christmas theme. I’m a complete Xmas nut and so much of my childhood revolved around Christmas coming, Christmas happening, and the post-Christmas letdown.

    A tradition, which we still do even though I’m 31 and only make it back home for Christmas every few years, is going to get our tree. I have always been the chooser and my requirement, past the normal it has to be full and pretty, is that when I reach my arm up to the top, my fingers must not go over the top bough. While I’m sure this was cute when I was 10, I quickly grew into my 5’8″ stature with my absurdly long arms which actually can touch my parents’ ceiling. Many a tree has been put up at home with a bend in the top, the ceiling it’s angel.

    Anyway, so I think what I would like is a winter scene of a young girl with her parents going to chop down a Christmas tree, her arm stretched up, trying to reach the top. (I should point out that I’m from the States, where this is normal, but live in the UK now so miss out on all this!)

  20. Irit 14/09/2010 at 3:21 PM #

    The Duck Egg tea towel is my favorite. 🙂

    Since I’m quite a Japanophile, I would like my cutout to display iconic Japanese symbols (Mt. Fuji, sakura), as well as contemporary kawaii characters from the Land of the Rising Sun, such as Hello Kitty.

    This is actually the reason I admire Japan so much – the seemingly impossible combination of old tradition and bubbling modernity.

  21. loobyroux 14/09/2010 at 3:30 PM #

    what a fab offer. ive passed that place loads and always meant to go in. i like the vintage effects of her style. silhouettes are a great simple way to portray ideas.
    i think if i had to choose something it’d be like a snowflake type design with the silhouettes of tiny horses and birds and such like. in a kaleidoscope type pattern. im currently looking for weird and wonderful art, this would fit in perfectly 🙂

  22. Cathy 14/09/2010 at 3:58 PM #

    I actually love all the tea towel colours and cannot choose! Any, for me.

    I adore Emily’s work, how beautiful!

    If I were lucky enough to win my very own, I think I would want one similar to your favourite one above with the words:

    “Lux et umbra vicissim sed semper amor” (Light and shadows by turn, but always love).

    It is a central theme in my favourite childrens book ‘Moondial’ by Helen Creswell and taken from the words around the sundial at Belton House in Lincolnshire where the book is set. In the book, the Moondial allows the lead character Minty to travel back in time with those words to free children who can’t ‘move on’ and are trapped by their past and the hatred in their lives. The words and themes of light and shadow and the power of love over evil is very haunting and affecting and it’s been such a big influence on me my whole life.

    The moon, ravens, mirrors, church towers and Georgian architecture are all very strong images associated with the words so I’d love anything like that as a design.

    Here’s a picture I took of the inscription on the sundial at Belton House:
    "Light and shadows by turn, but always love."
    and the sundial itself:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/violetcreme/2792328062/in/set-72157623760196440/
    and here’s as review of the TV adaptation which says it better than I could:
    http://www.offthetelly.co.uk/?page_id=879

  23. Keris 14/09/2010 at 4:13 PM #

    I would love a papercut like the Caledonia one, but with the New York skyline. I’ve just finished writing a book set in New York and that would be a brilliant celebration.

  24. Barbara Twinkle 14/09/2010 at 4:48 PM #

    I’m a big Rob Ryan fan and it’s great to discover another fellow papercutter. Such precision and beautiful illustrations! I’m getting married in December at an art deco cinema in Cheltenham. I would love to present my betrothed with a personalised paper cutting with the title of our favourite Richard Hawley song ‘Baby You’re My Light’ and a few things that represent him such as a BMX, a Rolliflex camera, a smile, a heart, some wine, a sound recordists boom, the Eiffel tower and a gondola (guess where we’re going on honeymoon?!)

    I’m a big fan of all of the tea towel colours!

  25. Lizzie 14/09/2010 at 5:37 PM #

    The duck egg t towel forAs for the cutout – I am totally in awe of Emily’s skill in producing the cut out so accurately, of interpreting a theme, and the inclusion of a piece of poetry/prose/writing which again reflects the theme.
    As an ex patriot Scot, I would like to include some of the Edinburgh skyline (with stars), a celtic pattern,a cairngorm and just a hint of tartan.

  26. Megan Joy 14/09/2010 at 6:19 PM #

    Wow, this is such an amazing and generous giveaway! I love the tea towels–especially the light blue/green. Lovely. Emily’s cutouts are so inspiring! I’d love to see a cutout incorporating Emily Dickinson’s “Hope is the thing with feathers” poem…it’s very nature-inspired, hopeful, and beautiful…
    Happy blog birthday!!

  27. Rhoda 14/09/2010 at 6:39 PM #

    I have been sitting here deliberating for some time now – I’m blown away by Emily’s work, it is absolutely fantastic!

    I’m very torn you see as I am from the Isle of Mull and would love something to combine the Tobermory buildings and my love of animals (we have a croft you see). However our house in Glasgow is full of Mull and hubby has very little to remind him of his hometown of Linlithgow. A bespoke artwork which combined Linlithgow Palace with my island upbringing would be fantastic! Ideally I’d like a wee border with the words “Bidh gaol agam ort gu brath” or even just “gaol” to incorporate my love of Gaidhlig and my Highland heritage. Or perhaps some key Gaidhlig words hidden in the background somewhere to show the subtle impact the language has on our lives?

    I really don’t know what else to say – wow, just wow! What an amazing talent Emily has!! I hope my rambling has made some kind of sense! Thanks for a fabulous giveaway!

    If I were lucky enough to win the teatowel I would love the blue one please.

  28. rebecca 14/09/2010 at 7:35 PM #

    Zoe, i think you know well enough that I get married in a month now, I would love one of these to give to James (I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t be finished in time, but thats not a problem). we always used to say ‘together we could rule the world’ because I can sew and hes an electrician.

    I KNOW. we are odd. but you knew that right?! 🙂

    I would love it in plum, and maybe some little people standing on the top of some lakeland hills, because they mean so much to James, and when you are up there, it feels like the top of the world. maybe the writing could get bigger away from us like we are shouting it?

    anyway, I would love it. I love love love papercuts. xx

  29. ellie 14/09/2010 at 9:16 PM #

    I love Emily’s work, it is truly beautiful.

    My boyfriend has just become my fiancee, and I would love something to replicate for our wedding invitations one day. Our names, Ellie & Edward with birds and trees and a nest. x

  30. Elaine 14/09/2010 at 10:11 PM #

    Wow, Emily’s work is amazing. I’ve always loved the Hugh
    MacDiarmid quote about “the little white rose of Scotland
    that smells sharp and sweet – and breaks the heart” and would love to see a cut out with that quote incorporated (though it’s maybe a wee bit long!). I’ve lived away from Scotland for six years now, and will be away for at least a wee while longer and I miss it, so this would be a lovely reminder of home.

  31. Jane Sommerville 14/09/2010 at 10:23 PM #

    I’m in love with Emily’s Caledonia papercuts (as sold in the Red Door Gallery) and it’s hard to imagine for me really how to improve on them! I’m a child at heart, and have recently been incredibly drawn to nostalgic imagery I remember seeing in books when I was little (the same ones my Mum read when she was a child as well), so I think my ideal papercut would incorporate a star-strewn night sky with a big moon and a fairytale landscape with a winding river, forest, flowers, dotty toadstools, a windmill and maybe a castle in the distance. Plus, if there was room, a wee squirrel, because it’s my signature animal (Why? Because, for some bizarre reason, their tails just make me laugh!)

    Even if I don’t win, very interested to hear that Emily does custom papercuts. Thanks to Emily and Zoe for the chance to win this lovely item.

  32. Jane Sommerville 14/09/2010 at 10:27 PM #

    Oh and it would be the duck egg tea towel for me! Makes me think of mint ice cream.

  33. Koralia 15/09/2010 at 11:59 AM #

    This is the best give-away ever! I’m a big fan of awesome paper manipulating.

    I’d have to go for a slightly bizarre theme combination of my favourite sea creatures (I love cephalopods!), best city in the world (Edinburgh of course) and my love of nature (forests, wild flowery meadows, bubbling brooks, the whole lot really).

    And that red tea towel would look lovely in our kitchen…

  34. mysparethoughts 15/09/2010 at 7:55 PM #

    Crikey what talent!

    I’d like to take a sentence from our wedding reading Edward Monkton’s A Lovely Love Story:

    “Are all dinosaurs so overly fond of things”

  35. miss alix 20/09/2010 at 6:48 PM #

    i would love to have a cutout of a bear and bunny. 🙂

  36. Claire Nelson 21/09/2010 at 9:48 AM #

    WOW I love these!! Amazing! Any of those teatowels would look gorgeous in our kitchen – I love them all!

    If I were lucky enough to win a customised cut out, I would love it to be a garden of words, related to writing, motivation and dreams. Something to put over my desk and remind me whenever I look at it that ideas can come from anywhere, and never to give up.

  37. Danae 21/09/2010 at 10:25 AM #

    Emily, your work is absolutely incredible! And i’ve just noticed that you worked with Bebaroque as well – talk about a killer combination of Scottish talent!

    I’ve been thinking about this giveaway all week, and was finally inspired by reading a book about the Ottoman siege of Malta in the 16th century. The illustrations in the book are so alive and bizarre at the same time (here’s an example http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_5luZ-xNpejU/TE1yoSNyHdI/AAAAAAAAAh8/lD9_yL1brjg/s1600/SiegeOfRhodes1480.jpg), and I immediately thought of your work.

    My idea is a papercut of a 16th-century style sea battle, full of galleys and squiggley lines and sea monsters devouring unfortunate boats, all at a ridiculous scale and proportion. Something with this sort of a vibe to it: http://espliego.files.wordpress.com/2008/01/monster-1.jpg. We could set our battle in the North sea, and pop in the odd oil rig getting eaten by an octopus for a modern wink. You could do an amazing compass rose as well, hopefully one of the ones with a beautiful Botticelli-like woman in the center with flowing hair. Or maybe i’m just getting carried away!

    I’m especially excited about this because it would be such a brilliant surprise for my husband – our tastes are so different that we can never agree on the kind of art to put on the walls, so they stay bare instead. I can guarantee that he would love this!

  38. lubylu 21/09/2010 at 7:56 PM #

    I love emilys work it makes me smile. I recently bought the ‘caledonia’ print which i adore. I live in the carribean now so its nice to take a bit of Scotland back with me.
    If i were to win i would love my cutout to include the verse… Mother of mine, now i am grown and i can walk on my own I’d give you what you gave to me. Mother, Sweet mother of mine. Checked print, thistles, castles and then something from the other side of the world being the Carribean,tropical fish,starfish, sanddollars, old wooden fishing boats stranded on the beach and somewhere an old school loveheart with Mike and Lindsay etched in it.
    I love all the tea towels!

  39. buttercup caren 22/09/2010 at 6:45 PM #

    yay!!! So happy to see my name picked as a runner up! LOVE that tea towel & the adorable postcard. happy me! Thank you, Emily & Zoe, so much!

Leave a little love...

