Weddingnesday… and then there were fireworks…

22 Sep

Every year we make a special effort to go to Guy Fawkes night, light a sparkler or two, and go ‘oooh’ as explosive pyrotechnic devices burst into light and colour.

Why? Because 5th November was our first ever date.

We were both very young. He thought I was the craziest person he’d ever met.

I thought he had the most perfect half moons on his nails I’d ever seen.

Neither of us had any idea that this was it for us.

That this person holding your hand on a pitch black, smokey Autumn night, well, they’re yours for life.

(Even if it will take the both of you years to realise it.)

So – many, many years later – you can imagine our delight when we realised that our new home (well, 2 years old now) had a perfect vantage point for not only Edinburgh’s Hogmanay fireworks but also for the end of the festival fireworks.

This year, the OH’s family came through to Edinburgh, we switched off all the lights and sat in the dark, our faces lighting up with each explosion (and the light from my camera!).

And I thought how lovely it would be if we could afford to have fireworks at our wedding…

Maybe even a little one, just to say goodbye to everyone as they head home.

It would be like everything coming full circle.

15 Responses to “Weddingnesday… and then there were fireworks…”

  1. Lucy A 22/09/2010 at 7:47 PM #

    That’s such a lovely story. And amazing fireworks, all from your window!

    I love fireworks, in a really child-like way. I always go ‘ooh’ and ‘aah’ and ‘wow, look at that!’, and get odds looks from much ‘more grown up’ people. I love watching them whilst eating a jacket potato (straight from a bonfire) and firework toffee. Definitely romantic.

  2. Red Boots 22/09/2010 at 8:39 PM #

    Such a sweet story. I love it.

    I think you definitely have to have fireworks at your wedding. Even just one (because fireworks are super expensive). Even just some sparklers!

    x

  3. domestikate 22/09/2010 at 9:18 PM #

    Brilliant idea! And a brilliant story =D

  4. Lisa-Marie 22/09/2010 at 9:32 PM #

    Zoe, this properly made me cry! How lovely!

  5. Tonia 23/09/2010 at 7:20 AM #

    Can’t recommend sparklers enough for end of wedding childish joy!

  6. Jo 23/09/2010 at 9:41 AM #

    aww so sweet x

    • Alison Cross 23/09/2010 at 1:23 PM #

      That’s a lovely idea, but VERY expensive to get a good show. What about sparklers or some kind of video fireworks thing that shines onto the side of the building or a white wall or something?

      Safer too!

      Ali x

  7. Studio MME 23/09/2010 at 3:01 PM #

    What a gorgeous idea. Just make sure you’re not like my cousins and almost explode a transformer with your fireworks. 🙂

  8. Polly 23/09/2010 at 8:08 PM #

    That is such a romantic meeting! Yes it’s a lovely idea to go in a circle and have fireworks at your wedding xx

  9. the teapot explodes 24/09/2010 at 11:45 AM #

    What a lovely story! How about the sparklers that you can get for cakes? The nice ones of course… nothing tacky but enough to make you smile 🙂

  10. little pink room 24/09/2010 at 2:23 PM #

    Aw! You’ve brought a tear to my eye. I do hope you get your fireworks. They do bring out a childlike delight in the most cynical of people. A x

  11. Becky 27/09/2010 at 10:41 AM #

    So sweet! I love fireworks too, think there is something so magical about them (and turning back to look at other people’s faces watching them).

  12. LeneBarbie 29/09/2010 at 4:29 PM #

    I went to visit Edinburgh this summer and it was right at the beginning of the festival, so I did catch a few occasional fireworks on a couple of nights. And I kept wondering how the end-of-festival ones were like, now I’m happy to have seen them in your pictures, even if it’s from miles away…

    Also, I can’t possibly say how much I loved Edinburgh, I think it’s one of the most beautiful and amazing places I’ve ever seen. So I secretly envy you for being part of it… 😛

  13. mysparethoughts 30/09/2010 at 11:42 AM #

    Such a lovely story. Right we need to figure out how to get you some fireworks. Thinking cap on.

  14. MKWings 04/10/2010 at 7:05 AM #

    Hi, I live in Edinburgh and saw these fireworks with my fiance too. Thanks for sharing them! And as for the wedding, if you haven’t yet set a date, why not try to have it on a fireworks day?

Leave a little love...

