My first batch of black bottom cupcakes…

27 Sep

A few weeks ago, the postman brought me something much nicer than the usual bills and junk mail… the Hummingbird Bakery Cook Book.

Up until we began speaking to bakers for our wedding, it hadn’t dawned on me just how many types of cupcakes there are. And then upon opening on this lovely baking book, I discovered even more pretty, spongey, gooey goodness!

The dilemma became… what to bake first!

Red velvets are already a favourite of mine (thanks to their involvement in our engagement). My little sister (up for a visit from London) pointed out the green tea cupcakes. The OH spotted the raspberry cheesecake brownies.

And then we saw Black Bottom Cupcakes. They sounded insane. Double chocolate sponge with a cheesecake centre… and cream cheese frosting!

Were they too much of a challenge for my first bakeathon? Perhaps vanilla was a safer bet. My sis vetoed this. So Black Bottoms it was!

So we got to mixing the ingredients…

And you gotta break a few eggs to bake a cake…

… making the cheesecake part… which at this point seemed so liquidy we were sure we’d done it wrong!

But everything came out of the oven, all baked and smelling amazing… even if they didn’t quite look like they did in the book!

And then while they cooled, we made up the cream cheese frosting… hmmm.

Even though we stuck to the recipe, our batch came out as 10 cupcakes – not sure how we managed that!

We dropped most of the batch at my Dad’s… and the majority of them were swiftly demolished, which we took as a good sign!

So all that was left was to try one with a cup of green tea…

… and god, they were good. They taste just as insane as they sound!

Since baking these, we’ve been gone a little baking crazy and made our first ever loaf of banana bread, some dark chocolate brownies and some spiced apple loaf.

Next on the list… maybe some strawberry cheesecake cupcakes! Yum!

25 Responses to “My first batch of black bottom cupcakes…”

  1. whimsycate 27/09/2010 at 9:30 PM #

    yummy looking cakes, well done on your first foray in to cupcake-ing!

    Cate, x

  2. domestikate 27/09/2010 at 9:34 PM #

    I was flicking through a friend’s copy of this book a couple of days ago and thought these cupcakes were the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever seen! Ha ha! Good on you, getting your bake on!

  3. Lisa-Marie 27/09/2010 at 9:35 PM #

    Yuuuuuuuuuum! Those look amazing!

  4. Lisa 27/09/2010 at 9:55 PM #

    The black bottom cupcakes are my face in the book! I quite often make them without the cheesecake bit, as they are so easy and I always have the ingredients in the cupboard! Yours look relish! Oh and I normally only get 10 out of the mixture too! X

  5. Gaynor 27/09/2010 at 10:16 PM #

    I’m so so so making these next! Although I think I need a mixer even though I did manage the vanilla by hand!

    p.s I only got 8 out of my vanilla ones; not 12 as they say and that was with normal muffin cases!

  6. Lisa 27/09/2010 at 11:01 PM #

    I HAVE to buy this book! They look delicious! Nom nom nom!

  7. Alison Cross 28/09/2010 at 8:01 AM #

    This book looks lovely – and the cakes you made have set my tummy rumbling….

    Ali x

  8. a tiny hurricane 28/09/2010 at 9:33 AM #

    they look amazing!! haven’t made any cupcakes in a while but I’ve got to cater for a baby shower next weekend so these might make the menu!!

  9. Rhianne 28/09/2010 at 9:40 AM #

    oh wow, yum! My friend got this from the library and made the brownies – they were incredibly tasty – I highly recommend those 🙂

  10. Becky 28/09/2010 at 9:43 AM #

    Such a brilliant book, I turn to it time and time again, and now know the brownie recipe almost by heart.

  11. Maribel Coscoxo 28/09/2010 at 4:11 PM #

    Hello Zoë!

    I recently discovered your blog looking for something about Edinburgh. I lived in that city in 2003 for six months and I go back every time I can. Now I’ve written the part of Edinburgh in a Scotland guide (I’m travel photojournalist and craftwoman of photography and wood). I really like your blog and I wanted to say you that you have a new one follower from Asturias (Spain).
    Maribel

  12. Polly 28/09/2010 at 5:02 PM #

    EEKKK this is my favourite book in the world! I was actually looking at these particular cupcakes the other day, thinking how amazing they look and how I need to make them! Looks like you did a great job! xx

  13. Caroline, No. 28/09/2010 at 8:39 PM #

    Holy. Funkin. Cow. What I would GIVE for one of those babies right now. Ohhh, so good. I think I might be making them on Friday at a friend’s, I’ll have to hold on ’til then. x

  14. Patchwork Harmony 29/09/2010 at 8:44 AM #

    I love this book too! My fave is the choc & hazelnut cups cakes- amazing! I tried the red velvet ones recently but they didn’t come out so
    well. Not sure why…

  15. Quest Twenty Eight 29/09/2010 at 5:35 PM #

    I have this book – haven’t tried those yet – now I will have to! My favourites are the red velvet they just look so perfect.
    Off to get my book off the shelf now! 🙂

  16. PinkBow 29/09/2010 at 6:32 PM #

    mmm, i love this book. i’ve made so many things from it… but not these yet… they look delicious!

  17. Ludmila {creamylife.com} 29/09/2010 at 6:32 PM #

    Oh my, they look delicious! yum!

  18. mysparethoughts 30/09/2010 at 11:39 AM #

    scrumptious! Need to start baking.

  19. Ruth 30/09/2010 at 11:49 AM #

    I Love love love Hummingbird bakery cupcakes!!!
    I also have this book, havent had too much time to rty very many, The Red velvet is VERY good though!!
    x

  20. Kerry 30/09/2010 at 6:40 PM #

    They look absolutely scrumptious! Next time you bake…send me a cake please! x

  21. Gaynor 01/10/2010 at 12:33 AM #

    I just made these too; and I only got 8!!!

    Altho next time I’m putting way less in each as I ended up with too much cheesecake stuff (mine was liquidy ish too) so they kind of came out with muffin tops!

    Lovely cupcakes altho so rich you couldn’t eat many!

  22. El 02/10/2010 at 6:36 PM #

    Yum! Is the spiced apple cake recipe from the book?

  23. Kate 03/10/2010 at 8:43 PM #

    Just found your blog and think it’s wonderful !

  24. Toni 06/10/2010 at 11:54 PM #

    Looking forward to making this recipe, they look devine!
    Do you have the Cream Cheese frosting recipe as well, or did I overlook that?
    🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halloween + Birthday = Birthoweenday « Conversation Pieces - 29/10/2010

    […] is this ‘bat cake’ (spotted via A Cup of Jo)? It looks like a Halloween version of a black bottom cupcake… […]

Leave a little love...

