Friday I’m in love… with fireplaces

1 Oct

I adore fires.
The crackle, the smokey smell, the flicker of the flames…
but above all I adore the warmth.

A fire just makes everything seem cosier.
There’s nothing nicer after trudging home
through the sleet/snow/rain/drizzle
than sticking on the fire to heat yourself up again.

After we finish the kitchen (more on that another day),
the last big thing to do in the flat is to put a fire into our fireplace.

It’s my birthday at the end of this month so I’ve been half hoping
we could do it time for that… or maybe for Christmas.

And this is pretty much the exact fireplace I want.
Back in July 2005, I opened up a copy of Living Etc
(probably one of the first I’d ever bought),
saw this gorgeous fireplace in the home of Orla Kiely
and promptly fell in love.

We’ve got the white mantle already so I just need to find a fire,
a hearth and some lovely coloured tiles which coordinate/don’t
clash with our multi-coloured felt rug…

(If only I could just click my fingers and it would be done!)

At the moment, we’ve just popped a bit of plasterboard in the space
and lent a print against that… it looks pretty but not toasty.

(Talking of which, how lovely does this mirrorball look in this space?)

The only debate between me and the OH has been whether it should be a real fire or not.
I’ve been hankering after a real one… you know, lumps of coal, kindling
and some firelighters. Yes, I grew up with real fires, can you tell?

(I love this fireplace above even if you surely can’t burn that wood?
But does anyone else think that stool looks like a big scrubbing brush?!)

The OH is more a fan of getting a gas fire,
which I don’t mind as long as the surround is nice…

(I’ve seen quite a few like this in salvage yards
but then I wouldn’t get to use tiles.)

Though that said, this has no surround at all and I’m still going ‘oooh, fire’!

(Also I so want that mirror… how beautiful is the foxing?)

After all, let’s be honest, as much as I want an Orla Kiely style fireplace,
all I really want is to be like this cat and just
snuggle up next to it, all cosy and happy.

Happy Friday everyone xx

1. Scanned from Stylist 2-5. Scanned from Living Etc
13 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with fireplaces”

  1. Holly @ Shopaholly 01/10/2010 at 9:26 AM #

    Oooh I love this! My parents have two fireplaces in their home and I love to get all curled up in front of them in the winter. Only problem is that I’m asthmatic so the smokiness tends to do me more harm than good.

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  2. little pink room 01/10/2010 at 10:31 AM #

    I’m a big fan of real fires. We have a real one going all over winter. Friends think it’s really unusual visiting a flat with a real fire… I don’t know why! Having had a gas one in the past i can tell you that they’re easy, but unconvincing. Happy deciding! A x

  3. Sam 01/10/2010 at 10:31 AM #

    Gorgeous images. And am so impressed by use of the term ‘foxing.’ Who knew there was a word for that effect….? Not me.

  4. little pink room 01/10/2010 at 10:32 AM #

    P.S. I have that copy of Living Etc too and I adore that fireplace!!

  5. kate 01/10/2010 at 11:48 AM #

    Hello, I am also in love with this fireplace and I’m in the process of creating it in my living room…If you want to know details of suppliers and have a wee chat etc….do email moi x kate

    • Julia 03/02/2011 at 11:22 AM #

      Kate,
      If you are recreating the Orla Kiely fireplace, please can you tell me where you are getting the coloured tile slips from? I have been searching the internet to no avail, but would love to recreate this look.
      Many thanks,
      Julia

  6. Tonia 01/10/2010 at 11:59 AM #

    Really is nothing to beat a real fire, unless it’s on a beach, and how decadent would a fire in the bedroom be?!

  7. Elizabeth @ rosalilium 01/10/2010 at 1:22 PM #

    Real fire. Do it. You will never regret it, but with a gas fire you will always wonder ‘what if?’.

  8. rebecca 01/10/2010 at 6:43 PM #

    i love all those fires, we have a real fire and its wonderful. do it. (coal aint the cheapest though and you need something to store it in)
    also, I think that stool is meant to loo0k like that, I’m sure I’ve seen it somewhere before in a magazine.

  9. Jenny at Dos Family 01/10/2010 at 7:41 PM #

    Lovely. I think I will go sit by mine now. Fireplace that is. It is not very nice looking though. But it is getting really cold here in Sweden now.

  10. PinkBow 03/10/2010 at 9:10 AM #

    oh this makes me feel so cosy!!

  11. Becky 04/10/2010 at 9:00 AM #

    In the meantime you could group a few fat candles in the space…I once read somewhere that that is a good second best…warm glow, flickering light etc!

  12. Red Boots 06/10/2010 at 8:19 PM #

    We took off an old gas fire in our living room, hoping there was a big gap behind it to create a fireplace. Alas, there’s only a small gap, but we’re going for a fireplace anyway, full to the brim with logs (a bit like the third picture). Orla’s fireplace is giving me fireplace envy though…!

Leave a little love...

