The month that was September…

6 Oct

So September… was 30 days of crazy I tell you.

Some of it good crazy, other bits were more bawl your eyes out crazy.

It’s safe to be said that work, life, diy and selling a flat don’t always mix well.

September was the month the OH (that’s other half for those of you new here!) made an angry ninja cloud cushion… never let it be said that he doesn’t put any ggrrr-ness to good use!

It was the month that my migraines – after being gone for a year – came back with avengence. Thanks body, yes I know I need to chill out more but making my brain feel like it’s going to burst doesn’t exactly help!

But it was also the month that the BBC said they were going to make my (very) short film I wrote for them. Yay!

It was also the month that I lost at scrabble to the OH when he played this triple word score! (Ozone was his word too!!)

And it was the month we did our first ever stall at a car boot sale. I didn’t exactly appreciate the 6am start but by the time we left, £150 better off, my cheeks were aching from grinning all morning. Regular car booters do seem to have a line in the best/most unexpected chat!

And it was the month in which the Cosmo Blog Awards ceremony was held.

I couldn’t go so my little sis Evie went in my place. (I’m betting you can all guess which one she is!) I didn’t win but she had a lovely time meeting bloggers Carrie from WishWishWish, Sarah from The Loves and Life of a London Girl and Nikki from Girl Geek Chic. Darn London for being so far away sometimes.

It was also the month of interviews… I did an online one about being nominated for the Cosmo Awards and then we did an interiors one for Scotland on Sunday’s At Home magazine.

It doesn’t scan that well but hopefully they’re going to send me a pdf or the photos soon so I can share it properly. I do so love this shot of our grey ninja cat!

And speaking of cats, it was also another month of them doing this… yup, hiding in the bedroom/under the duvet due to work being done in the flat…

… and me doing this… Yup, repeated trips to Ikea can really take it out of you!

I think after this trip (to sort out another kitchen thing) I swore I was never ever going back… and we were back a week later!

Ok, so this isn’t me back at Ikea but doesn’t it look like I could be… if I shrank suddenly!

With two mortgages to pay and so much going on, there wasn’t a lot of room for fun in September. (I also think sometimes when you’re stressed, you don’t allow yourself to have fun if you know what I mean?)

But a day out now and then to see some art does wonders for the soul… especially when the museum tells you ‘everything is going to be alright’ on the way in!

As for the big table and chairs, ok so maybe I don’t quite get the ‘art-ness’ of this but it made me smile and that’s what’s important right?

Because the lesson that September has taught me is that I need to take things a bit easier and take better care of myself.

Not entirely sure I know how to do that so all suggestions welcome… how do you guys stay sane when life is crazy?

Here’s to October being a nice, happy, pain-free-brain month!

18 Responses to “The month that was September…”

  1. Jules 06/10/2010 at 9:03 PM #

    Heeeeey, me too! Was there something in the air during September that made everything feel like harder work than usual or wot?? Well you sound like you’ve come through it and it’s always nice when you can look back at tough times and get it all back in perspective. Here’s to a more fun October! Jules x

  2. Lisa Gordon Scott 06/10/2010 at 9:04 PM #

    Saw your feature in At Home…well done!
    You need to go to Neal’s Yard on Hanover Street for an Indian Head massage…works wonders for relaxing and re-energising you…I thoroughly recommend it. Your hair might be a bit of a mess afterwards though.

  3. Elizabeth @ rosalilium 06/10/2010 at 9:39 PM #

    Wow, you have been a busy lady! But there are some awesome things going on too. Congrats on the short film, that is super-exciting.

    When I’m stressed I have a go-to activity such as reading a magazine for an hour. Or watching a good film. Or cooking is quite therapeutic. Sounds boring but simple things like that are good to switch an over-active brain off. Failing that, a soak in warm bubbly bath with scented candles also does the trick!

  4. lisa 06/10/2010 at 9:54 PM #

    Wow! Sounds like you’ve had a huge amount going on! I wish I had the answer to staying sane… i normally crumble and turn to food!

  5. anna and the ring 06/10/2010 at 10:47 PM #

    A busy fabulous bee!

  6. Tonia Collett 07/10/2010 at 3:44 AM #

    Wish I knew: September really was a doozy of a month wasn’t it?! October’s shaping up to follow in its franticly whirling footsteps too – think lots of naps (your cats have the right idea!) and reading that isn’t a struggle may have to be on the cards.

  7. rebecca 07/10/2010 at 6:49 AM #

    wow zoe, you’ve done so much! is wookie really a word in the dictionary? or do you play by other rules?!

  8. Caroline, No. 07/10/2010 at 9:56 AM #

    Chop some of the stress out, leave the DIY for a bit, I don’t know…turn one of the annoying things down for a bit. And go and get your hair made into candyfloss, like Lisa says.

    Good luck on the flat sale, ours is stressing us out too! x

  9. Rhianne 07/10/2010 at 10:12 AM #

    Wow,you’ve been busy! I love this break down though 🙂 how did September go so fast?

    Sorry to hear about the migraines, I get them too and they are evil, try and avoid chocolate, banana’s and coffee as they can help set them off.

    I hope October is more relaxing for you

  10. francesca 07/10/2010 at 12:45 PM #

    what a sweet and lovely post. hope your october is slightly less stressful. great news about your short film, how exciting. love to hear more about it. i thought you had either gone blonde or turned into claire danes, but it was just your sister. x

  11. Kerry 07/10/2010 at 7:25 PM #

    Woah, what a month you’ve had! Congratulations on the film! That is so exciting…as Francesca says above, I would like to hear more about it too. I hope your head isn’t hurting anymore…how miserable. But lots of good stuff amongst not so good….sounds like you need to have a slower/restful October. I hope you do. p.s. the Ikea bit made me laugh! Every time I go, I hate it and always say never again, the same…..but then I always go back…too addictive and affordable! Take care of yourself x

  12. Polly 07/10/2010 at 8:36 PM #

    Wow what a month! I hope October is a bit more relaxing for you.
    I don’t understand, why are you selling your lovely flat?! You’ve just spent so long making it perfect!! xxx

  13. Tiffany 08/10/2010 at 3:47 AM #

    don’t you love how our bodies seem to take on a whole being of their own when we do to much!!!! my body has been holding me to ransom now for just over 2 months with some rather bizarre unwell-ness & I am getting more & more peeved…I JUST WANT TO BE WELL!!! & I am SICK of the doctor telling me to go ‘go home, rest & drink lots of fluids”…….of course none of the above had ANYTHING to do with too much stuff going on in my life!!!
    Rest up in October dear lovely & do be kind to yourself….

  14. Becky 08/10/2010 at 11:55 AM #

    Ha, love the pic of you flat out on the Ikea bed, I totally feel like that sometimes! I’ve taken up climbing recently, great for taking my mind off everything else that is going on – hard to worry about anything other than the task in hand when you are halfway up a wall!

  15. PinkBow 08/10/2010 at 7:32 PM #

    congratulations for your cosmo nomination & esp the bbc film!!

  16. mysparethoughts 08/10/2010 at 8:40 PM #

    Where is the year going? Love the picture of you in ikea. By the time I get to the sofa section I’m always ready for a sit down.

  17. Lisa-Marie 11/10/2010 at 8:14 AM #

    Your month has been very busy. It gets really difficult when thing get hairy to take time out, when really it’s the time that it’s important to!

    I hope you have some sort of meds for your migraines, or at least a very dark room you can hide in!

    The big furniture is wonderful, it’s like you are having an Alice moment!

  18. Lynne 12/10/2010 at 6:26 PM #

    Wow – I’m catching up on a few of your blog posts I’ve missed but I LOVE your little video, how cool is that! I love your hair in it too + congratulations on the film, I’m dying to know more!

Leave a little love...

