Friday I’m in love… with Autumn

22 Oct

Ok, so it wasn’t that long ago I was bemoaning the end of Summer but I really do love Autumn. Mainly because it’s nearly time for Halloween, Bonfire Night and, oh yes, my birthday. (Whoop!)

So when a very charming Helen from Most Wanted got in touch to ask if I could come up for a few things under £50 for their Autumn Styling Challenge, I thought it sounded like fun.

So here’s my Autumn adds that I would pick to brighten up my home if I had a few more pennies:

1. This gorgeous owl cushions from Roddy and Ginger… partly because most of our cushion are dressing our for sale flat. I miss having funky cushions to recline on – or to hide behind when I’m watching Dexter!

2. Pretty coloured light flexes from Rockett St George.co.uk… because a little pop of colour on a grey day or a dark night can’t be a bad thing.

3. A Pet Sounds tea towel from To Dry For… because it matches my hall wallpaper (and because you can’t dry your dishes with wallpaper!).

4. A wee mountain (or two) by Hilary Grant to brighten up my white duvet cover.

5. This gorgeous screen print by Nikki Williams which reads “A house full of teacakes is a happy one”… because it makes me smile.

6. This amazing Squirrel Tea Cozy from Fuzzy Logic Felt… because it would not only keep my teapot warm but co-ordinate with my green tea!

7. This Sleeping Foxes print by Dee Beale… because doesn’t it make you feel cosy and snuggly?

8. A Snail Plate from Welcome Home… Why? Because I have no doubt that this (complete with a cupcake) would make me grin from ear to ear on dreich, blustery day (there’s a few of those in Scotland!).

9. More fairy lights from Habitat… to make our place sparkle a bit more when it’s dark outside. Currently my favourite ‘string’ is wound round the top of our yellow 4 poster bed which makes it look like our little den.

10. And finally (breaking the rules here!) if money was no object, I would get one of these…

… a Donna Wilson House blanket! (Hint: this costs a quite a lot more than £50!) I have one her mini blankets at home and it’s fab for putting over you when watching TV but a bit too small (perfect for the cats to cuddle up in though!). So this one would be extra cosy and you can put it over a clothes horse to make a house… amazing!

Have a lovely Autumn weekend my dears x

First pic via here


17 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with Autumn”

  1. Kerry 22/10/2010 at 8:36 AM #

    I love the snail plate, although not for myself but Baba has a bit of an obsession with snails and he would just think that was divine think he would eat anything served on that. Lol xx

  2. Kerry 22/10/2010 at 8:42 AM #

    I love the snail plate, not so much for me but Baba. He is obsessed with snails and I don’t think we would have a problem with him eating off this. He would eat whatever was put on it lol xx

  3. Tonia 22/10/2010 at 9:01 AM #

    The owl cushion and teadcake house print have just completely rocked my Friday world!

  4. Lisa-Marie 22/10/2010 at 9:50 AM #

    I’ll take one of each please! particular loves – the wee mountains, the mug on the first picture(a bit like your owl-fox-cat, no?), the wee snailer plate, and the teacake house print.

  5. katie 22/10/2010 at 10:48 AM #

    Great finds – love the owl and mountain cushions!

  6. Becky 22/10/2010 at 11:20 AM #

    Really like the fox print, how about that for your hallway…it’s also along the orange colour scheme! (Didn’t comment on the last post because I was suffering from indecision, I loved the fox print but you’re right the price was in a very different ball park to the Aardvark manifesto one!)

  7. mysparethoughts 22/10/2010 at 9:12 PM #

    I love crisp autumn days but not all this rain!

    A requirement of clothes horses is the ability to make dens out of them no? Oh they’re for drying clothes on – huh.

    Those mountain pillows are very special.

  8. virginia 22/10/2010 at 9:40 PM #

    you’ve made my day too! roddy is in good company, thanks so much.

  9. domestikate 23/10/2010 at 10:59 AM #

    I so love autumn! And also that squirrel tea cosy – pure brilliant!

  10. j 24/10/2010 at 9:15 AM #

    lovely things…the foxes are perfect and i am mad about the fairy lights – also, you have a yellow four poster bed?! – wow!

    • Bex 24/10/2010 at 9:44 AM #

      I absolutely adore that teacake print! I’m forever thinking that the Tunnocks Teacakes wrappers are too pretty just to be scrunched up into tiny balls and thrown away – finally something that recognises their aesthetic worth! A great selection 🙂

  11. Andrea 26/10/2010 at 7:01 AM #

    Nothing can top that cup in the first image. So cute.

  12. kickcan & conkers 27/10/2010 at 11:11 AM #

    Dee Beale, Roddy & Ginger and Hilary Grant – love them all!

  13. Eleni Drinks Tea 28/10/2010 at 10:00 AM #

    Snail plates! Mountain cushions! Cat mugs! I salute your impeccable taste, my dear, you just got yurself a new follower 🙂

  14. Globes 29/10/2010 at 7:51 AM #

    I love the mountain cushions and the dangly lights. But the snail plates are fab!

  15. Hilary Grant 27/11/2010 at 7:08 PM #

    Thanks for this lovely post, nice to know the mountains go down well and it’s an honor to be mentioned alongside all this lovely work. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday I’m in love… with Autumn « Conversation Pieces « Retail Therapy for Life - 22/10/2010

    […] Friday I’m in love… with Autumn « Conversation Pieces […]

Leave a little love...

