Weddingnesday… and the hallowedding

27 Oct

One of the first things a lot of friends said when we first got engaged was: “Oooh you could have a Halloween wedding!”

Now this might sound a little odd – but if you know me outside of the blogworld, then you’ll know I’m crazy about Halloween.

Well, crazy might not be the right word… maybe fanatical… hmmm, that doesn’t sound much better.

Basically Halloween makes me happy.

There’s pumpkins to carve, costumes to create, Michael Jackson’s Thriller to dance to, spooky sweeties to gorge on… oh yes and my birthday.

But a hallowedding? I drew the line at that.

(Plus I would have my wedding anniversary and birthday rolled into one!)

Then I caught sight of this gorgeous wedding on (who else?) Rock n Roll Bride

And I must admit I’m a little jealous – it looks like such a great fun day/night!

I absolutely adore their location too… I think my OH would be ecstatic to have a wedding that involved dinosaurs!

What do you think? Would you have a Halloween wedding?

13 Responses to “Weddingnesday… and the hallowedding”

  1. Tonia 27/10/2010 at 8:10 AM #

    Most definitely – wish I’d thought of it 4 years ago!

  2. Wes West 27/10/2010 at 8:18 AM #

    If you want dinosaurs at your wedding, why not do it at the Natural History Museum?

    http://www.yayido.co.uk/2010/01/natural-history-mueseum/

  3. ellie 27/10/2010 at 3:08 PM #

    I, too, am obsessed with halloween. I would love a spooky wedding, with a big old haunted house for the reception! The only thing that puts me off is the weather is so abysmal in October in the UK 😦

  4. Clare 27/10/2010 at 3:29 PM #

    That photo of the bride and groom with the shark behind them is brilliant! I definitely think Halloween can inspire a stylish and sophisticated wedding – came across the one below on Style Me Pretty a while ago. They went for lush, slightly creepy orchids, big candles in hurricane jars and a fun skeleton motif on their cake and invitations. It reminds me of the Mexican Day of the Dead a bit – here’s the link: http://www.stylemepretty.com/2010/02/25/halloween-inspired-wedding-from-verbena-floral-design/

  5. Erin 27/10/2010 at 6:49 PM #

    I am a big fan of Halloween, but no way I’d have a Halloween wedding!

  6. lisa 27/10/2010 at 8:58 PM #

    Wow! Seriously cool idea… my boyfriend would love a dinosaur wedding too! Thanks for your comment. X

  7. Eleni Drinks Tea 28/10/2010 at 9:56 AM #

    Hi, thanks for reading and commenting on my blog!

    This is an amazing wedding – I LOVE her outfit! It’s niece to see a gothic wedding that isn’t just a High Street Goth stereotype.

  8. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 28/10/2010 at 2:45 PM #

    I think this is a fab idea, if we ever got married which I doubt as neither that bothered. We would do something a little wacky like this for sure think it is great! xx

  9. littleowlski 28/10/2010 at 3:57 PM #

    I would love a Halloween wedding. More than that though, I’d like a 1950s themed one. Someone where I live had a ‘Victoriana Steampunk’ one – pictures looked amazing!

  10. Kerry 28/10/2010 at 7:15 PM #

    Obviously i’m already married (and I didn’t have a halloween wedding), but if you’d asked me this question about 24 years ago, I’d have said YES i want to get married on Halloween…probably to the Karate Kid)! I had a huge halloween obsession as a child…fuelled by halloween ‘Roseanne’ episodes, that I still love now (sad).

    • Conversation Pieces 12/11/2010 at 7:04 PM #

      Me too… I loved the Roseanne Halloween episodes. Maybe it did start there too?!

  11. PinkBow 28/10/2010 at 7:18 PM #

    What an amazing theme , their’s looked stunning!

Leave a little love...

