Just a quiet birthday night in…

2 Nov

For this year’s birthday, the OH had planned (at my insistence) a quiet night in for me… just a few friends coming round, some cupcakes and a glass of fizz.

No big Halloween bash, just a chilled, casual evening – but old habits die hard.

Especially when your OH has bought you an official bottle of Tru Blood to drink!

And has made you some ceramic fangs to wear…

… which look rather dapper with your fake moustaches…

… and then a friend brings you a pumpkin piñata (the video footage of us all trying to ‘bash’ the piñata makes me cry with laughter!)

… and then you decide that Tru Blood tastes better with a little vodka (in the cup your OH has made you especially)!

So all in all, the quiet night in turned out into a mini Halloween giggle-fest… .

… complete with very yummy blood red velvets that the OH baked too…

… and his rather superb owly and dapper dude pumpkins…

Thank you everyone… the girl who didn’t want to party happily admits a party was just what she needed. For once, I’ll forgive you all for not listening to me!

22 Responses to “Just a quiet birthday night in…”

  1. Caroline, No. 02/11/2010 at 10:59 PM #

    Your dude…

    Made you fangs?

    Made you a cup? With fangs on?

    Made you cupcakes?

    Holy caramba. Lucky lass! Happy Birthday! x

  2. Rhian 02/11/2010 at 11:04 PM #

    Ooh wow, what a lucky birthoweenday girl you were! I love the pumpkins 🙂 and is that cake wallpaper in the last photo?? Beautiful!

    Rhian x

  3. Bonnie 02/11/2010 at 11:12 PM #

    The Pumpkin on the right really reminds me of Tick Tock from Return to Oz!

  4. Lynne, Tea for Joy 02/11/2010 at 11:14 PM #

    I think your fiance needs to have his own blog! To document all his super-crafty activities! Looks like a fab party!

  5. domestikate 02/11/2010 at 11:56 PM #

    Looks fab! Love the ceramic fans and cup – what a brilliant boy you have there!

  6. Polly 03/11/2010 at 1:11 AM #

    Happy birthday! Looks like a lovely night. And your fiance’s creations are amazing!
    xx

  7. Eleni Drinks Tea 03/11/2010 at 11:11 AM #

    Happy birthday! What a lovely crafty fella you have! Looks like the perfect celebration to me 🙂

  8. Victoria 03/11/2010 at 11:27 AM #

    Sounds like super fun! Where can I find a “OH”? 🙂

  9. Joanne 03/11/2010 at 12:02 PM #

    You have the best fiance ever! How sweet!

  10. Lucy 03/11/2010 at 12:32 PM #

    The pinata head and the bowler hat pumpkin (?) photos made me laugh out loud – love it! x

  11. the teapot explodes 03/11/2010 at 4:07 PM #

    Looks like you had a wonderful birthday! Love your bat top also x

  12. Elizabeth @ rosalilium 03/11/2010 at 5:28 PM #

    Your OH is rad – so thoughtful and crafty clever. And the pumpkin pinata is amazing! Looks like a fun time was had by all!
    x

  13. Ellie 03/11/2010 at 8:02 PM #

    You officially had the coolest halloween/birthday ever! Trueblood!! I am so jealous of this! x

  14. Lisa-Marie 04/11/2010 at 9:28 PM #

    Ooooh ceramic fangs! And also, those are quite the coolest pumpkins I’ve seen! Xx

  15. Kerry 05/11/2010 at 11:43 AM #

    I love it! You have such a lovely man! I’d marry him up quick if I were you!! 🙂

  16. Kerry 05/11/2010 at 11:43 AM #

    p.s. I agree with Lynne…he needs his own blog too.

  17. Jess 05/11/2010 at 2:11 PM #

    Those pumpkins are BRILLIANT and make mine look a little… basic. Must try harder next year.

  18. Rebecca 06/11/2010 at 12:39 AM #

    That looks like a very cute birthday party indeed! Love the ceramic fangs.

  19. Bex 07/11/2010 at 7:20 PM #

    Happy belated birthday! I love your pumpkins!

  20. Jenny 10/11/2010 at 2:48 PM #

    I have to know where your top is from? I think it is amazing.

    Also it looks like a wonderful night – those little pumpkins are just darling!!

  21. Conversation Pieces 12/11/2010 at 7:09 PM #

    @Rhian – it’s jelly wallpaper from http://www.thornbackandpeel.co.uk 🙂

    @Bonnie – me too now you mention it!

    @Lynne, Tea for Joy, @Kerry – think he’s entirely happy to just have nice things said about him here – he says blogging would cut into his playstation time 😉

    @Victoria – I think he’s one of a kind I’m afraid (not even a brother) 😉

    @Jenny – it’s just from French Connection – it was one of those ‘oh no I’m going to have to buy that’ moments as soon as I saw it!

  22. mysparethoughts 26/11/2010 at 9:23 PM #

    What does Tru Blood taste like?

Leave a little love...

