Weddingnesday… a good (wedding) hair day

10 Nov

For the first time in my life, I’m growing my hair.

Obviously it’s grown all by itself many a time but this is the first time I’m not having it chopped on a whim. In other words, I have succumbed to the bride classic of wanting long tresses for the big day. (I’m currently referring to it as my mane if that makes it a little less clichéd?) But what to do with it once it’s grown?

Half of me wants to wear it down and to the side.
The other half has a soft spot for a whimsical up-do.

Something like this perhaps (via here)? I just love the relaxed look of it but I’m guessing a lot of effort probably goes into making it look like that!

Or a little like this… I just adore this button detail up-do on this bride… the buttons were hand-sewn into her hair! (As many of you will guess, it was the yellow buttons in this shot that made me squeal with delight when I first saw it!)

And how stunning is this step-by-step side chignon? (Admittedly the girl model is rather gorgeous too.) I especially like how it looks in pic number 5 as it reminds me of one of all-time favourite hair dos

Which is a little like this loopy up-do I found today (via here)…

What do you think? Too much or just the right side of fun?

It’s also dawned on that with our wedding theme and plans (still on the list of things Zoë can’t blog about!) whatever I have done to my hair will have to be something that will stay put all day but still look fun and relaxed. Hmmm… hair down and to the side then?

How did you all decide how to wear your hair? Or have you seen any lovely hair dos I can ‘borrow’ for the day?

(And man, I’ve got an awful lot of hair-growing to do if I’m going to achieve any of these!)

16 Responses to “Weddingnesday… a good (wedding) hair day”

  1. Caroline 10/11/2010 at 6:56 PM #

    You should go see Leigh Ferguson (http://www.leighferguson.com) She is the most AMAZING hair stylist and I can see her do something AMAZING with your locks! X

  2. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 10/11/2010 at 6:59 PM #

    These are all gorgeous. I really feel for you, as hair is so important on a wedding day isn’t it. Not that I have got married but I agree it needs to be comfortable, last, and not have so many pins in that you can’t feel your head! I hope you find something stunning! xx

  3. Lisa-Marie 10/11/2010 at 7:11 PM #

    I like the first one, and the one with the buttons. You could always combine them though, by putting buttons on ribbon and tying it in. The first one looks pretty easy, it has just been loose curled and pinned. I also really like the sideways one!

    I hand the urge to get a bob about a month before our wedding, and I wasn’t allowed. I am really glad people stopped me now. I did my own hair too(and make-up), it’s so expensive to have it done!

  4. Rachel Dale 10/11/2010 at 7:14 PM #

    I like them all, espcially the one with the buttons.
    Honestly, though, it depends a lot on what your dress is like as to which would look best. Too bad we don’t know what that will look like! 🙂

  5. domestikate 10/11/2010 at 7:41 PM #

    Ooooh the buttons are amazing! Love it! My advice would be to play around and try lots of options, then go for the one you feel most comfortable with. It does have to last all day!

    Also, helloooooo new blog header! It’s super fun!

  6. Bonnie 10/11/2010 at 7:53 PM #

    Ooh, the redhead model looks like a younger Christina Hendricks!

    My hair’s so thick, any style like that would have fallen out by night time but they’re all lovely- I’m sure you’ll find something that is very much your own and in keeping with the other elements of the day 🙂

  7. ellie 10/11/2010 at 8:28 PM #

    these are beautiful! I love the red headed side do! So gorgeous. x

  8. Tonia 10/11/2010 at 9:18 PM #

    I did the cliche too: hair grown and up, admittedly with tumbling down bits that were curled and had flowers woven in – it did look very pretty from the back. But I wish I’d kept my fringe!

  9. Caroline, No. 10/11/2010 at 10:02 PM #

    Love the loopy updo. You’d probably be surprised at what your hairdresser can do to make short hair look super romantic and lovely anyway so wouldn’t worry too much about growing it. 🙂 x

  10. anna and the ring 11/11/2010 at 3:10 AM #

    Gotta love that chic chignon.

  11. Louisa 11/11/2010 at 9:27 AM #

    I went for this on my wedding day, I loved the intricate yet relaxed style. I had no idea what to have, then I saw this episode of Poirot and knew! Good luck

    http://sweetsundaymornings.blogspot.com/2009/06/agatha-christies-poirot-hollow-2004.html

  12. Polly 11/11/2010 at 10:54 AM #

    Love the new header!
    I adore the first hair style. I would have that on my wedding day I think, especially as my hair is that kind of colour.
    The step-by-step side chignon is lovely too. I’m sure any of these styles would look nice on you! Good luck with growing your mane!

  13. Helen 11/11/2010 at 4:26 PM #

    You could always do what I did and cheat by adding a hair piece to give your updo extra volume. I was dead against the idea at first but one of my bridesmaids persuaded me to give me a go and I was really pleased with the result.

    I love the loopy up do – definitely the right side of fun.

    • Helen 11/11/2010 at 4:27 PM #

      Whoops… that should read ‘give it a go’ not ‘give me a go’.

  14. Becky 12/11/2010 at 9:15 AM #

    I like the first one, but agree that those hairstyles that look so relaxed and thrown haphazardly together are often the hardest to achieve!

  15. Conversation Pieces 12/11/2010 at 7:35 PM #

    @Caroline – will be sure to check her out, thanks 🙂

    @andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou – I hadn’t even thought about all the pins! d’oh!

    @Rachel Dale – yeah I can’t tell you that yet… partly because I’m not too sure myself 😉

    @Louisa – love love love her hair! what a fab reference – thank you!!

    @domestikate @Polly – thanks for the header comments guys 🙂

    @Helen – a friend of mine had a piece in her hair and it did look really good, the only reason I knew was because she told me… so that might be an idea!

Leave a little love...

