Life inside a snow globe…

2 Dec

On Saturday, it started snowing…

It’s now Thursday and it hasn’t stopped.

I feel like I’m living in a snow globe.

Just as well I bought myself mittens last week.


On Saturday, me and my mittens went to visit a potential new wedding venue.

(I was planning on doing a Weddingnesday post about it
this week but time has just run away with me.)

Anyway, on the way there we met these frosty fellows…


There were three adorable baby Highland moos too…
but the adult cows kept blocking them whenever
we went to take a picture. Darn.


On Sunday, we got up to this view…


Our plan had been to go visit the Castle but it was shut due to the snow.

So we went to the park instead.


It looked so pretty and serene.

But with all the squeals and shrieks
from sledgers, it was pretty noisy.

We wished we had a sledge.

Until we spotted this little old woman…


At a surprisingly fast speed, she was driving round the frozen pond,
throwing bits of old bread and being chased by swans.

And hooting with laughter all the way!


As the swans were distracted, I took the opportunity to do some snapping.


Swans are much taller than you think they are… which is only
vaguely disconcerting when you’re taking their pic!

Then we went off for a small snowball fight
and contemplated making a snowman.


Good scarf huh?


I can’t remember what me and this snowman
are looking at… it was maybe the sun setting.


Which made for a beautiful view on the way home.

(After 4 days more of snow, this street is much, much snowier now!)

Hope you’re all not too snowed-in/stuck/disrupted by it all.

I want it to last until the weekend so I go out and play in it…
even if I still haven’t found my wellies yet!

21 Responses to “Life inside a snow globe…”

  1. JoaniSchofield 02/12/2010 at 3:33 PM #

    So jealous! All of our Seattle snow has melted away and there is nothing but rain. Also, I love highland cattle with all their hairy fluffiness, great pics. 🙂

  2. Sarah Among the Chimneypots 02/12/2010 at 3:55 PM #

    That old lady has given me something to aspire to.

  3. Red Boots 02/12/2010 at 3:59 PM #

    Those photos are beauties! Especially the ones with all the swans!

    Can I just ask, where oh where did you get your mittens? I have mitten love!!

    x

    • French Gifts 31/03/2011 at 12:39 PM #

      All photos are looking gorgeous. Your looking beautiful in nice scarf. Yes, Especially the ones with all the swans! I love this. I think you enjoy this tour. Great experience. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Lucy 02/12/2010 at 4:16 PM #

    I hope I’m like that old lady one day. I think she’s a lesson to us all. Who needs a sledge when you have a mobility scooter?! Beautiful photos, especially love the swan beak line up (I find swan muchos disconcerting) x

  5. Sam 02/12/2010 at 4:21 PM #

    Beautiful swan pics, snowman and lovely story of your day! And inside a snow globe is a brilliant description!

  6. mandi cromer 02/12/2010 at 4:28 PM #

    I came across your blog while in Edinburgh on hols and I really like it! Love your little articles! The photos are lovely too!

  7. Jo 02/12/2010 at 5:09 PM #

    love the granny – sounds like she was having a blast! 😀

  8. francesca 02/12/2010 at 5:44 PM #

    i love your snow animation! i thought i was imagining it at first. gorgeous pics. x

  9. La Franglaise 02/12/2010 at 6:00 PM #

    I love your mittens and the snow animation is cleva!! xx

  10. Polly 02/12/2010 at 6:38 PM #

    Looks like a lovely day! Your pictures are beautiful. Where are your gloves from? I love em! xx

  11. Conversation Pieces 02/12/2010 at 10:57 PM #

    @Red Boots & @Polly – my mittens are from Joy (https://www.joythestore.com)

    @Sarah Among the Chimneypots & @Lucy – yes, a definite inspiration to the rest of us 😉

  12. mysparethoughts 03/12/2010 at 10:30 PM #

    That old lady is my hero! We have some big swans nearby, they are scary.
    Do you have your mittens on a string through your coat? So cute.

  13. anna and the ring 06/12/2010 at 5:07 PM #

    Yay for the cutest mittens!

    I do adore those cows!

  14. Becky 07/12/2010 at 4:27 PM #

    Snow’s all melted here, but will live through your lovely photos and imagine it is still a winter wonderland outside! (Still freezing though!)

  15. Brittany 07/12/2010 at 11:00 PM #

    Seriously…that is a darling reportage of a day that belongs in a children’s book. So sweet!

    -Brittany

  16. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 08/12/2010 at 4:57 PM #

    These pictures are fab looks like you had lots of fun xx

  17. tschitschi 11/12/2010 at 5:29 PM #

    what an adventurous snow-day!!

  18. Victoria 19/12/2010 at 4:09 AM #

    Oh my… Swans on snow might be my favorite image ever! How magical:)

  19. Nona Mills 22/12/2010 at 5:41 PM #

    These pictures are fab looks like you had lots of fun xx

  20. Victoria 24/03/2011 at 10:34 PM #

    Came across your blog completely by accident, had a quick look and was hooked for ages! I kept saying to myself ‘just read one more post then go to bed’ but I couldn’t stop! Really enjoyed your text and cute pics, keep it up! x

Leave a little love...

