A little Merry Craftmas…

15 Dec

Right now this cat is me.

Well, not literally but I’m not exactly full of festive cheer.

All our wonderful, idyllic plans of making and baking while
watching old Christmas films… look like they’re going
to be squeezed in on Christmas Eve. Eeek!

(Why does Christmas start earlier each year
but there still seems to be less time for it?)

But I don’t want to be all bah humbug about it.

So here’s a few crafty Christmasy ideas that have made me
smile recently… and that I’m hoping to get time to try.

(Correction… I am going to try!)

Christmas photo booth accessories!
I adore these… especially the Rudolph ones.

Strawberry Santas! These look so easy and fun to make.
And they’d make a nice alternative to all the chocolate indulging!

Gorgeous spool wreath!
This looks a bit trickier it has to be said but so pretty.
I currently have a wire heart shape to make our wreath
with but that’s as far as I’ve got for the moment.

And since I’m still obsessed with hot chocolate…
these darling little gingerbread houses!

Aren’t they lovely?
The challenge will be not eating them straight away.

How festive are you all feeling?
Are you all ho-ho-ho-happy?
Or a little grinchy about the whole thing?

18 Responses to “A little Merry Craftmas…”

  1. Rebecca 15/12/2010 at 12:57 PM #

    I adore ALL of these ideas! But especially the strawberry santas. They are genius (and look easy peasy for crap crafters like me) x

  2. Rachel Dale 15/12/2010 at 2:37 PM #

    adorable!!

  3. Caroline 15/12/2010 at 3:41 PM #

    Not feeling festive at all… Want to hibernate now until March! Got a stinking cold, feel cold and achy but thank you so much for your gorgeous x-mas ideas. I totally heart the strawberry santas, will definitely make these with my daughter and the spool wreath is totally AMAZING but I am not blessed in the crafts department so would be too hard for me to make… x

    • Alison Cross 15/12/2010 at 4:00 PM #

      I LOVE these!!!

      I am SO going to do those wee Santas! So simple and yet so brilliant! The gingerbread houses will present a bit more of a challenge šŸ™‚

      You’ll get into the mood soon enough, promise!

      Ali x

  4. Red boots 15/12/2010 at 5:28 PM #

    Oh goodness, am not feeling christmasy at all. I’m hoping next week the excitement kicks in! I finish work on Tuesday so have a bit of time to get into the festive spirit!

  5. ellie 15/12/2010 at 8:12 PM #

    oh my oh my! I don’t know where to start. Well, the gingerbread house are amazing. I want to make some but I fear my family would just gobble then down with no thought for how long it took me to make them!

    And the spool wreath, just lovely!

  6. Rebecca 15/12/2010 at 10:13 PM #

    zoe I can’t believe it of you that you arent feeling christmassy, but then, I’m right there with you. I’m all out of kilter this year and its been hard to get into it, I’m trying though!
    p.s. I love all of these, especially the wreath!!

  7. HannahB 16/12/2010 at 1:36 PM #

    Zoe- this is the best selection of ideas ive seen all Christmas and all original too; havent seen them elsewhere on the blogosphere! I love every single one, definitely very inspiring!

  8. Becky 16/12/2010 at 3:58 PM #

    These ideas are all amazing (especially the edible ones), thanks for sharing!

  9. domestikate 16/12/2010 at 8:51 PM #

    Hee hee, I love those photobooth probs, and the spool wreath is gorgeous! Spotted those gingerbread houses last year and am still bowled over by them!

  10. fiona 17/12/2010 at 2:25 AM #

    These are all so great! I WISH I had the skills to do the gingerbread houses but think it’ll be the santas for me! Anyone have any suggestions how to do the eyes?

  11. Louise 18/12/2010 at 6:50 PM #

    I’m feeling so festive at the moment! But I’ve got most of December off work so I think I might be a little over excited because I get to lie in every day šŸ˜‰

    I love those strawberry santas – have to make those on Christmas day! x

  12. Lisa-Marie 18/12/2010 at 10:57 PM #

    The wee kitten cat made me smile!

    I love Christmas, but to be honest, for the past couple of weeks life has been hectic and tiring, and it was just something else to worry about. This weekend and a couple of days before Christmas, I will get into the spirit!

  13. Wellies 20/12/2010 at 4:55 PM #

    OMG.. in LOVE with the mini gingerbread house! wish I had the time to make all theses lovely things I keep on seeing.. Must finish our kitchen and prepare house for mother in laws arrival.. and finish all pending work – then I can think baking and making! Might end up being next year instead! hey ho! agree that christmas starts earlier and earlier and yet still no time for that picture postcard christmas.. one day I’ll be there!

    Enjoy your christmas!

  14. mysparethoughts 22/12/2010 at 9:23 PM #

    Need strawberries and gingerbread houses now!

  15. shauna 29/12/2010 at 5:02 PM #

    Those little houses are just the cutest thing. I wish I would have seen this when I made my big ‘normal’ gingerbread house {small cave-in in the roof but we bashed it and ate it anyway}.

  16. Gaynor 10/01/2011 at 2:29 PM #

    Love the strawberries & gingerbread too!

    Mmmm backing on christmas eve sounds just like me; i started making christmas pudding cupcakes at 10pm after getting home from dinner with friends; i like to say its because they would be fresher that way but in reality I ran out of time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tales from the blogosphere « domestikated - 16/12/2010

    […] An amazingly intricateĀ thread spool wreath onĀ Conversation Pieces […]

Leave a little love...

