Hello Christmas… goodbye 2010

22 Dec

So Christmas is nearly here… which might explain why there’s large paper
snowflakes hanging on our wall… and snow shapes on our windows!

I found these vintage snow stencils last year in a charity shop.

A total bargain as I think we’ll be using for years to come.

I’ve also framed this lovely old Days of Christmas tea towel.

(I found it in the old table that belonged to the other half’s aunt…
the same one that I found the vintage paper straws in.)

The lords a-leaping make me laugh so!

For the first year ever I made a pact with myself – no new Christmas decorations.

Partly a bid to save some money but also because we have enough already.

The only cheat was that I’d already bought this ‘Russian doll’ Christmas
set back in October when I was looking for Halloween decorations.

So I kind of / sort of stuck to my pact!

Here’s my little snowman I’ve had since 1999 and the new
Christmas decoration – wonder if they’ll be around for as long?

We also put back up the reindeer mirror… or the other half did.
(I’m not as handy with a drill!) I’m currently searching for some
mini vintage mirrors to fill in the spaces but Edinburgh charity
shops are proving fruitless so far… darn!

In the spirit of recycling, I dug out our old letterpress tray
and filled it with old baubles… (excuse the dust on the
floor – that’s from putting up the mirrors!)

And inbetween working (really, really) long hours, we’ve managed to squeeze in
a little crafting… some hand-stitched cards and some tiny gingerbread houses.

The other half has also been hard at work trying to finish finish our kitchen for
Christmas – and doing some crafty surprise presents for my little cousins.

But I’ve had to abandon my heart wreath plan – next year for that one!

Of course not every is a fan of the new decorations… one of our
residents has been redecorating the tree any chance they get.

Anyway, for this final post of 2010, I wanted to wish you all
a very Merry Christmas and a very very Happy New Year.


I hope you all get spoiled rotten, have maximum chill-out time
and a ridiculous
amount of fun you lovely, lovely people!

Thanks so much for making blogging such a pleasure
in 2010. Here’s to having even more fun in 2011!

29 Responses to “Hello Christmas… goodbye 2010”

  1. HannahB 22/12/2010 at 10:15 AM #

    HAPPY CHRISTMAS ZOE! Thank you for your lovely blog!

    I love your yellow wall!

    see you next year.

  2. Sarah 22/12/2010 at 10:17 AM #

    Happy Christmas Zoe!

    I love your blog; so full of lovely words and inspiration. Look forward to reading it in 2011 xx

  3. Caroline 22/12/2010 at 10:20 AM #

    Wow, I LOVE all your decorations but especially your letterpress tray and baubles – such a great idea! Happy x-mas to you too and I look forward to more beautiful crafty inspirations from you in 2011! X

  4. Jules 22/12/2010 at 10:22 AM #

    Oh my gosh your apartment looks so beautiful. I am v jealous especially given that our house is more of a building site right now! Merry Christmas, Jules x

  5. Helen 22/12/2010 at 10:22 AM #

    Love the first picture of the snowflakes above the sideboard so much. You have a lovely home. Good look with the treasure hunting for your mirrors and have a wonderful Christmas.

  6. Imogen 22/12/2010 at 10:24 AM #

    Thankyou for your inspirational blog.

  7. Pip 22/12/2010 at 10:37 AM #

    So many lovely touches! But where is that yellow wallpaper from? Its beautiful and so cheery. Enjoy your Christmas

  8. Louise 22/12/2010 at 10:40 AM #

    I want your flat! You’ve decorated it so beautifully! And am so impressed with the mini gingerbread houses – they are ridiculously cute xx

    Hope you have a lovely Christmas! xx

  9. Elizabeth @ rosalilium 22/12/2010 at 11:00 AM #

    Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year to you, lovely Zoe.
    Your blog has come to be one of my favourites and I am sure I will remain a loyal reader in the coming year.

    I love your decorations, it looks very fab indeed. I hope you have a great rest over the festive period.

    x.x.x

  10. Kerry 22/12/2010 at 11:18 AM #

    I so love your Christmasy flat! Thank you for still being such a lovely place to visit as always. Have a super-duper Christmas, and I look forward to your return. We’ll be renting in London by the way (no chance of us affording property there)! So it’ll be a ‘make do’ interior I imagine!

  11. ellie 22/12/2010 at 11:18 AM #

    Oh Zoe, this is all so beautiful! You have done such a fantastic job without buying anything new. I think my favourites are the huge snowflakes and the reindeer mirror, what a shame you can’t keep it up all year round!

    Have a wonderful, relaxing Christmas and thank you for being one of my favourite blogs in 2010! x

  12. Tonia 22/12/2010 at 12:10 PM #

    And a very merry Christmas to you and the OH too!

  13. Jennyff 22/12/2010 at 1:39 PM #

    Happy Christmas, you’ve made a lovely job of those decorations with some valuable cat assistants. Have a great time, look forward to catching up in 2011.

  14. Rhian 22/12/2010 at 5:49 PM #

    Happy Christmas too! I will send a pic of the WTWTA wolf suit I’ve made for my baby cousin with your instructions! 🙂

  15. Rebecca 22/12/2010 at 6:13 PM #

    Thanks be to you for providing us with so many eye-pleasing delights over the past year! Merry Christmas, here’s to more Conversation Pieces in 2011!

  16. francesca 22/12/2010 at 8:11 PM #

    happy crimbles! love your giant snowflake wall especially. see you next year. x

  17. mysparethoughts 22/12/2010 at 9:20 PM #

    Merry Christmas my dear, it has been a wonderful year, have really enjoyed getting to know you more – and next year promises to be so exciting. However I do think I might need to steal your cats – so cute.

  18. lisa 22/12/2010 at 10:25 PM #

    Merry Chrimbo and all the best for 2011! Thanks for always posting so brilliantly… always inspirational! X

  19. Deb (Kickcan & Conkers) 23/12/2010 at 2:43 AM #

    Everything looks great Zoe – have a wonderful time, see you next year!

  20. Louise 26/12/2010 at 11:00 PM #

    I love the letterpress bauble extravaganza, that’s the most original christmas decoration I’ve seen in a while! x

  21. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 27/12/2010 at 12:16 AM #

    Hope you had a lovely Christmas and what gorgeous decorations you have there xxx

    • Clare 28/12/2010 at 1:05 AM #

      Wow I adore your decorations. I don’t know where to start! The little baubles are such a great idea and I’m so impressed with the paper snowflakes. Did you make them yourself? I tried to make some and they came out nowhere near as nice as those. Tips please! Hope you had a wonderful christmas

  22. Sam 29/12/2010 at 12:46 AM #

    i think the snowflakes are so lovely they should stay up! And…nice cat.

  23. evie 30/12/2010 at 10:00 PM #

    hello zoe. i hope you and your family have had a magical christams. all the best for 2011. what a year you have ahead. may all your wedding and new years dreams come true. thanks for sharing some of your world with us on your gorgeous blog. x evie

  24. Caroline, No. 03/01/2011 at 12:09 PM #

    Hope you had a great Christmas and Happy New Year. I hear you. I’ve been working really long hours too. Really really LAME!

    xx

  25. Ann 04/01/2011 at 9:59 PM #

    Have a Happy New Year Zoe! Have you had any accidents with your cat and the Christmas tree? 😉

  26. Helen Evans 09/01/2011 at 4:49 PM #

    Hi Zoe,

    I Love, Love those white snowflakes on your yellow wallpaper – they look very striking! As do all your decorations. Hope you had a great Christmas and New year! Helen x

  27. Gaynor 10/01/2011 at 2:34 PM #

    Awww i want paper snowflakes too!

    I just took down and packaged up all of our decorations yesterday which made me sad! Although I kind of bought loads of new decorations this year throughout the year and in florida that I had to find an extra box to keep them in! I always do have to have at least one new one every year with that years date on it!

  28. Gaynor 10/01/2011 at 2:34 PM #

    ps. hope you had a fab christmas & new year, looking forward to catching up again soon!

Leave a little love...

