Happy best year ever…

5 Jan

So 2011. Otherwise known as the year of our wedding.

Pretty much as soon as the bells struck people
started shouting ‘you’re getting married this year!’

But with 364 days when we’re not getting married
I’m hoping that lots of other exciting things
are going to happen to us this year too.

This will be our first year when we’re not doing major DIY
so we’ll get to find out what life is like without paint,
wallpaper paste, caulk, plaster and dust.

(We won’t be totally DIY free though – as there’s still lots
of wedding DIY to be done but let’s skip over that detail!)

It’s also nice to get a bit of a fresh start.
The second half of 2009 was in a word: tricksy.
Some really great things happened to us but some
not so great, non-bloggable things happened too.

So it’s nice to draw a line under it all and say well, that
was then and this is now. Onwards, upwards…

Basically, we’re hoping for our best year ever, not just the best day ever.

And if none of our plans pan out, well, we still have a mini moon
and then hopefully a honeymoon to Japan to look forward to.

Happy New Year everyone.
Here’s hoping it’s your best yet.

 

(calendar via spreadthelove)

20 Responses to “Happy best year ever…”

  1. hollyjune 05/01/2011 at 10:59 PM #

    Happy new year darling! Can’t wait to see what the year has in store with less DIY time and more creativity time! See you soon for a catch up I hope xx

  2. pretty far west 05/01/2011 at 11:18 PM #

    That’s a wonderful calendar; I’m perked up just by looking at it. I hope 2011 exceeds your exceedingly expectant expectations.

  3. Elizabeth@rosalilium 06/01/2011 at 12:01 AM #

    You sound pretty darn happy indeed. I look forward to reading about your adventures this year!
    Happy New Year
    x

  4. Laura@ Eden Rose 06/01/2011 at 12:15 AM #

    Wow! So looking forwarded to all your posts in 2011, especially Japan Honeymoon, oh my I’m so jealous!! Sounds like 2011 will be very fun, very inspiring and can’t wait to read all about it. Happy New Year xxx

  5. Sticky Penguin 06/01/2011 at 2:44 AM #

    A lovely calendar, and such a great post… I was married last year, and had exactly the same thing said by so many people. It’s so wonderfully relieving and refreshing to come across a voice of sanity who put so well how many other days there are in the year (let alone in a lifetime) where you *don’t* get married, and the importance of making them all wonderful, and making them count, too. Thanks for sharing your perspective – I’m sure it will make the year (and *that* day) all the better for it…

  6. Katie 06/01/2011 at 5:24 AM #

    Congrats and here’s to the most brilliant year ever! 🙂

  7. Sarah Rooftops 06/01/2011 at 8:15 AM #

    I’m looking forward to a year without major DIY, too! Happy New Year to you; I hope it’s a wonderful one.

  8. Patchwork Harmony 06/01/2011 at 8:37 AM #

    happy new year to you Zoe! Hope this year brings you the best day of your life and many others in between. xxx

  9. Louise Macpherson 06/01/2011 at 9:19 AM #

    Happy new year! Found your blog towards the end of december after a recommendation from a friend, and instantly loved it – looking forward to reading it in 2011. I was married in 2009 and work in the wedding industry…. have to say although the ‘day’ is amazing its marriage that is really the thing to look forward to. I LOVE being married and it’s helped us get through some tricky times in our first couple of years of marriage. Particularly looking forward to reading all your wedding blogs, happy DIY-ing! x

  10. Katie 06/01/2011 at 2:11 PM #

    I’ll be crossing my fingers for you!

  11. Louise 06/01/2011 at 3:14 PM #

    I love this calendar! And I must say that I absolutely love your blog. It’s one of my favourite daily reads. Hope you have a truly lovely 2011 xx

  12. ellie 06/01/2011 at 5:28 PM #

    I’m so happy for you, this is just such a wonderful post. I bet your year will be fantastic and definitely the best yet! 🙂 x

  13. Kerry 06/01/2011 at 10:52 PM #

    Happy New Year to you too Zoe. I hope this year is an amazing one! I reckon it will be for you…so many exciting things…..will you feel lost without the DIY-ing though I wonder?! I’m sure there will be small projects. But Japan!! Wow! x

  14. Another Emma 07/01/2011 at 8:07 AM #

    Ahh, Japan… that’s where me and my fiance were holidaying when we got engaged. So, we are also getting married this year and I have also already had many people remind me of the fact!

    Looking forward to reading some familiar experiences as we plan alongside each other!

  15. the teapot explodes 07/01/2011 at 11:44 AM #

    What a wonderful year you have ahead. I’m going to Japan in March – so excited. Can’t wait to see more of the year holds for you xC

  16. mysparethoughts 07/01/2011 at 10:42 PM #

    Happy 2011! I seem to be looking forward to a year of major DIY, perhaps looking forward to isn’t the correct phrasing. It is going to be a fantastic year.

  17. francesca 09/01/2011 at 8:20 PM #

    happy new year sweet girl. i’m sorry about your unbloggable/unmentionables, hope the good far outweighs the bad this year. x

  18. Becky 10/01/2011 at 1:37 PM #

    Happy 2011 and hope it is a good one for you! Exciting that you’re hoping to honeymoon in Japan – I’m about to book flights to visit M there in April, will be my first visit there but somewhere I have always wanted to go so very excited. Looking forward to another year of Conversation Pieces and all your wonderful posts!

  19. Gaynor 10/01/2011 at 2:36 PM #

    Happy New Year!

    Hope 2011 is the best yet; im not how its going to top my 2010 but here’s hoping, i think the place to start is looking for a new house and planning an anniversary trip!

    Japan sounds amazing!

  20. The Radish Factory 10/01/2011 at 8:38 PM #

    I am very happy to have discovered your blog, my dear fellow cat lover! Give us some more!

    Happy new year!

Leave a little love...

