Baking, making and being spoiled… a wee xmas recap

10 Jan

I was an exceedingly lucky girl this Christmas.

(I’m pretty lucky at the best of times
but this occasion involved presents!)

I got lots of lovely things, too many to share,
but here’s a few iphone pics of my favourites.

This is my buffalo print from my Dad and his girlfriend.

(It’s by Paul of Navarone in case you’re wondering.)

It’s a. gorgeous and yellowy,
b. taps into my Japan obsession
and c. just makes me laugh.

My other half gave me this tiny bunting dish
(from a place in Glasgow) to keep my jewellery in.

I like it too much to put anything in it.
(I’m strange like that!)

I also got this wonderful typewriter necklace
by boygirlparty from my Dad’s girlfriend.

It’s my ‘oh hi, did you know I’m a writer’
necklace and I’m pretty chuffed with it.

My little sis got me this super gorgeous wedding book.

I’ll share a few of the DIY suggestions this Weddingnesday.

A good friend got me this yummy posh jelly book.

We can’t wait to try and make one of them…

… but I’m betting our first attempt will look nothing like this!

And now to share one of my
absolute favourite presents:

My adorable fox picture handmade by my little cousins.

Isn’t it absolutely fantastic?

(I think they might have been reading my blog!)

************

Of course my little cousins weren’t the only ones being crafty…

As I mentioned before, we had loads of Craftmas plans.

And we sort of, nearly, kind of made them happen. Eventually.

This is me at 2am on Christmas Eve Eve,
stitching away on my handmade cards.

This is the start of our ‘perch on a mug’
gingerbread houses production line…

Baked house segments… it was so hard not to just eat these!

One of the first assembled gingerbread villages…

And yay… proof that the gingerbread houses do perch on mugs!

Last but not least, the snowmen pinatas we made for my wee cousins.

My other half made the ‘shells’ and I did the illustrations.

He’s threatening to make more next year so
I better work on my drawing skills by then!

Hope you were all suitably spoiled too?
(Did any of you manage a very crafty Xmas?)

22 Responses to “Baking, making and being spoiled… a wee xmas recap”

  1. anna and the ring 10/01/2011 at 10:45 PM #

    Those gingerbread houses! Adore!

    I would love that jelly book too!

  2. HannahB 10/01/2011 at 10:46 PM #

    Happy New Year Zoe! Ok, the fox drawing? ADORABLE.

    Also adore your gingerbread mug toppers too- wow!

  3. Elizabeth@rosalilium 10/01/2011 at 10:48 PM #

    First of all – I love that fox picture, it is adorable.
    Second, how do you make pinatas?
    x

    P.S I managed to make homemade teacup candles this year which was a step in the right direction for a crafting novice like myself.

  4. threesmallapples 10/01/2011 at 10:48 PM #

    OMG I love those gingerbread houses!!!! They are just amazing! I need to start practising so I can successfully do it next Xmas! It’s probably take me a year to get the hang of.

    xx

  5. Sarah Rooftops 10/01/2011 at 10:56 PM #

    The fox pic is so cute and I’ve been coveting a Paul of Navarone print for ages so I’m MEGA jealous! Glad you had such a lucky Christmas!

  6. JoaniSchofield 10/01/2011 at 11:43 PM #

    Those fox drawings are fantastic! I’m going to have to start dropping subtle hints to my niece…

  7. Katie 11/01/2011 at 12:44 AM #

    AN absolutely precious bunch of gifts, the foxes especially 🙂

  8. Rebecca 11/01/2011 at 7:42 AM #

    Oh my holy crap Zoe, that’s a new level of Xmas crafting! And your presents were ace!

  9. Eleni Drinks Tea 11/01/2011 at 10:41 AM #

    You must have been very good last year 🙂 I’d seen those little gingerbread houses around Blogland in the build up to Christmas but ended up not having time to try and make any! Were they tricky? Or are you already a gingerbread house expert?!

  10. Jessica 11/01/2011 at 10:52 AM #

    Haha, love the snowmen pinatas – what a great idea!

  11. Polly 11/01/2011 at 12:58 PM #

    Wow your presents are gorgeous! I especially love your cousins’ creation too! Your gingerbread houses look fab. My friend and I attempted to some some this year but got too impatient with sticking them together and gave up and just ate the gingerbread on its own! xx

  12. Becky 11/01/2011 at 1:38 PM #

    Snap, I had the Jelly book too, let me know how you get on!

    Love love love the fox drawing collections from your cousins, brilliant. And dead impressed that you made those gingerbread houses, I thought they were just the stuff of food stylist pieces in magazines, but you have shown that they are actually achievable, and look pretty damn good to boot!

  13. hollyjune 11/01/2011 at 2:26 PM #

    Your foxes picture is amazing! When are your cousins opening a store? 😉

  14. Sian 11/01/2011 at 5:52 PM #

    Nice prezzies! The jelly book looks amazing… my christmas was pretty crafty in the end – i made christmas cards, mince pies, fig chutney, ginger and cardamom infused vodka for my dad, and a lingerie bag for my mum!

  15. ellie 11/01/2011 at 6:30 PM #

    oh wowow. I think you received the best, simplest and most interesting presents I’ve seen so far. The dish is beautiful!

    And well done on the gingerbread houses, they look fantastic! x

  16. domestikate 11/01/2011 at 7:41 PM #

    You did the gingerbread houses! They’ve fabulous! Am so impressed! Love the fox picture too!

  17. Helen 11/01/2011 at 9:20 PM #

    Aww that fox drawing is so cute! Also your snowmen pinata are a really great idea, love it!

  18. Kerry 11/01/2011 at 11:10 PM #

    Wow, what amazing pressies! Love them all. The fox art is the best thing ever. How lovely of them!

  19. Lisa-Marie 12/01/2011 at 10:59 AM #

    Dude, you did well! Love the buffalo print and also, you cousins have skills!

    Your gingerbread houses are adorable, and your snowmen have character!

  20. Tamsin 13/01/2011 at 12:54 PM #

    Oh my gosh, cutest crafty Christmas ever! x

  21. Lynne, Tea for Joy 13/01/2011 at 9:19 PM #

    Well, I thought I left my Christmas cards to the last minute but you beat me! Love the gingerbread mug toppers + of course, the fox picture is SO cool – I think they totally were reading your blog! I’d love to know the pinata instructions too.

  22. mysparethoughts 14/01/2011 at 10:31 PM #

    The typewriter necklace is perfect for you. Love the picture your cousins did.

Leave a little love...

