Colour me happy…

14 Jan

So Friday I’m in love with colour.

I know, I know, it’s not exactly a big surprise is it?

But I’m cheating here. I’ve been a bit short on time recently.

Ok, when I say a bit, I kind of mean I have none.

But I wrote the following post last October and then never published it.

I do that a lot more than I should.

Anyway, it might be a cheat but it’s a colourful cheat so I’m sure you’ll forgive me.

Have a lovely Friday and weekend everyone.

**********

Once upon I lived in a monochrome flat.

The front door was black.
The walls painted stark white.
The furniture was a mixture of both.

And I myself lived in black, looking somewhat like a modern
Snow White with my near black hair and too pale skin.

I had an austere outlook on the world and
you could see it, even in my decorating.

Today, when I come home and see our bright yellow door,
it’s a reminder that I of how far I’ve come from those days.

That I remembered that life is for living, for laughing, for loving.

It’s too short and precious not to at least try to be happy.

And colour makes me happy.

Especially yellow.

But you all knew that already.

(love this sign!)

(think this might be the inspiration behind why I organise my books by colour.
the writer in me hates it but the budding interior designer in me loves it.)

(I love this kitchen. I look at this so many times when we were doing ours
but came to the conclusion by the time you add our level of general mess
to it, it would just induce headaches.)

(my original choice for our bedroom. the other half did not like it.
it’s very rare for him not to like something so I had to listen!)

(I still still still want a hang-it-all.
I also wish my childhood bedroom had been this cool.)

(I love this lamp – both as a pop of colour and with lots of other yellow loveliness.)

And this… this is just how yellow my front door is!

You can imagine what the neighbours said when we were
painting it. (Mainly ‘um, is it going to stay that colour?’)

(Excuse the random pipeness, I meant to take a more
blog-friendly picture and then never did!)

Happy (colourful) weekend everyone xx

****

1. hrrrthrrr via pinterest 2. A Sense of Place Photography
3. Scanned in from old Living Etc 4. Magnus Anesund via Marvelous Kiddo
5. Scanned in from old Easy Living 6. pikkuvarpunen
7. hilda grahnat 8. hilda grahnat via whatkatiedoes.net

23 Responses to “Colour me happy…”

  1. Louise Macpherson 14/01/2011 at 12:47 PM #

    Love this post. I’ve been itching to create that colour-coordinated-books thing for ages. Before I can though I need to:
    1. buy a bigger flat
    2. buy a big gorgeous bookcase
    3. buy a lot more books and
    4. explain to the husband why his sport books will NOT have a place in my beautiful colour coordinated bookcase.
    One day it will be mine! x

  2. Lisa-Marie 14/01/2011 at 12:47 PM #

    ZOE, If I’d seen these pICtures on another blog, or in a magazine, I’d have thought of you 🙂

    You are properly a liver of life, I’m glad your outlook is reflected in how and where you live.

    And dude, don’t feel bad about posting old-unposted things. This one is dead good!

  3. Elizabeth@rosalilium 14/01/2011 at 1:26 PM #

    Now that is a front door with meaning! I love it.

  4. Laura Givans 14/01/2011 at 1:47 PM #

    I love this post!

    You’re absolutely right – adding a spice of colour to life in this weather keeps you in good moods and your creativity flowing.

    That sunshine yellow is divine.

  5. Sam 14/01/2011 at 1:55 PM #

    I love your welcoming, happy front door.

  6. Clare 14/01/2011 at 2:05 PM #

    You have just birghtened up a very dull afternoon for me. Loving the yellow door, and wishing I was tidy/organised/stylish enough to have my books like that and for it to look that good. *le sigh*

    Happy weekend!

  7. Superbadfriend 14/01/2011 at 2:43 PM #

    Perfect post for a grey snowy day! Btw, your yellow door is perfection. 🙂

  8. Sarah Rooftops 14/01/2011 at 4:38 PM #

    I love this post!

    I sometimes see shiny white-walled, minimalist flats online or in films and think how lovely and sleek they are; I wonder if I should have painted MY walls white…? And then I think about my personality (and reluctance to dust) and realise, no, colourful is much more fun.

  9. ellie 14/01/2011 at 6:32 PM #

    This post just makes me ridiculously happy. Thank you. x

  10. mysparethoughts 14/01/2011 at 10:17 PM #

    I bet your yellow door makes your neighbours smile everyday.

  11. francesca 15/01/2011 at 8:09 AM #

    gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous! colour makes me so happy too. that kitchen is amazing! but you’re right, you can’t help life happening in a kitchen, especially with kids, and it would soon lose it’s loveliness. we are finally doing our yellow kitchen. just waiting for the door sample to arrive. i bloody hope we like it! have a lovely weekend. x

  12. Rebecca 16/01/2011 at 11:17 PM #

    This is a lovely post! I think you may have just made me love the colour yellow a teeny bit more than I did before…

  13. Red Boots 17/01/2011 at 2:45 PM #

    I love these photos. I am a lover of colour too – none of this white or beige minimalism for me! I would love a yellow front door, but our outside walls are red (I didn’t paint them – I swear!!), so not sure if yellow and red would be a bit too much!

    xx

    ps: I’ve only just noticed that when I post comments on here using my iPhone the auto correct function changes the ‘blogspot’ part of my web address to ‘bloodspot’. Oh dear :/

  14. Lisa 17/01/2011 at 11:06 PM #

    Beautiful door! I’ve been wanting to paint ours for nearly a year now and just keep putting it on the back burner. I want pillarbox red! Great inspiring post : )

  15. Alexa 18/01/2011 at 5:32 AM #

    Just came across your blog today. You love color maybe more than me! I’m going to check back often and add you to my Blog Lovin’ list. I love the door! I have always wanted a bright orange door!!!

  16. Mel 19/01/2011 at 7:51 PM #

    Hey Zoe,

    Fellow Edinburger here, was looking at Martha Stewart’s wedding website to try and find cakespiration and stumbled upon this picture which made me think of your blog (yellow cake!!)

    http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/photogallery/modern-wedding-cakes#slide_33

    Enjoy!

  17. Raffles Bizarre 19/01/2011 at 8:08 PM #

    Oooh ooh! I love that bedroom, I NEED those animal cushions!

  18. Natalie 20/01/2011 at 2:55 PM #

    That Living etc. bookcase picture also encouraged me to organise my bookshelves by colour. But then I realised I had lots of black, white and green books and hardly any red, pink or blue. When I found myself attracted to books by the colour of their spines rather than their contents I knew things had gone too far…

    • Katie - Coco Målé 10/03/2011 at 12:51 PM #

      Love the candy- coloured kitchen!! I recently renovated ours and added a bright fuschia pink splashback but I would have never thought to have different-coloured doors. It’s so original!! I know there’s a chance of getting sick of it quite soon but doors can always be changed… anyway, thanks for posting it, it’s so inspiring!

      P.S. Love your blog by the way, so glad I came across it!!

    • Conversation Pieces 16/04/2011 at 9:40 PM #

      Too true Natalie… contents first then outside colours!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today’s Dose of Lovely | The Spotted Fox - 22/01/2011

    […] #1. I love this quote from Mr. Mel Brooks. Via HERE. […]

Leave a little love...

