Friday I’m in love… with pretty stairs

21 Jan

I have never wanted to live in a house. I like flats.
I like being up high (I think that’s my inner cat.)

But every time I see a set of beautifully painted stairs,
it really makes me wish we had some. (Yes I am strange!)

Always loved these stairs decorated by Helen from the Living Etc forum.
(I actually bought a version of this Orla Kiely wallpaper for our bedroom.)

Love the different patterns… oh yes, and they’re yellow!

Simpler than the first ‘wordy’ one… I think the steps
should also say ‘come on down’ for the way back down.

Love this… I can’t imagine how long it would take to paint!

Perhaps I should paint my building’s communal stairs instead?
Just start graduating the colour from my yellow door down!

Happy Friday everyone! xx

****

1. the cherry blossom girl 2. design sponge 3. painter girl
4. say yes to hoboken 5. the haystack needle 6. the townhouse

20 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with pretty stairs”

  1. Becca 21/01/2011 at 12:13 PM #

    OMG Zoe I love all of these!!! Yellow, yay! You’re making me think differently about mine now!!

  2. Susan 21/01/2011 at 12:15 PM #

    Love the yellow ones too. The certically striped ones would make me a bit wobbly.

  3. Lisa-Marie 21/01/2011 at 12:16 PM #

    I love decorated steps! I should do something like this in our paisley flat. it would be so swank!

    The yellow ones are my favourite’ followed by the ones with writing. In red online last week they had a picture of mahogany stained stairs with mirror tile on the verticals!

  4. Sarah Rooftops 21/01/2011 at 1:01 PM #

    Oh, these are lovely – the flat next door to me has been empty for over a year now (it’s on the market); I wonder if anyone would notice/if it would help them sell it if I decorated the communal stairs…?!

  5. Laura 21/01/2011 at 1:40 PM #

    Love the Orla ones!

    I’ve just put some Orla wallpaper on one wall in our breakkie room….and I just sit staring at it!

    Hubby thinks I’m losing it; he just doesn’t understand my love for it!! 🙂

  6. Polly 21/01/2011 at 5:38 PM #

    Oh wow these are gorgeous! I love the yellow ones x

  7. Raffles Bizarre 21/01/2011 at 5:54 PM #

    ooh wow, they’re all fab! I can’t wait to have my own house and be able to do stuff like that!

  8. mysparethoughts 21/01/2011 at 9:06 PM #

    I need you to decorate my home – ok?

  9. mysparethoughts 21/01/2011 at 9:07 PM #

    Next project is the kitchen if you could just send all your inspiration this way.

  10. Jo 21/01/2011 at 9:46 PM #

    I’m not sure your neighbours would be so pleased 😀 that is so cool thought -making me want a house with stairs x

  11. francesca 22/01/2011 at 11:12 AM #

    oh yes! thanks for reminding me of those orla stairs. last time i saw them we didn’t have a house but now we do i am totally inspired. the yellow pattern mix is gorgeous. we need some colour in our hall and this is such a great way to do it. oh i hope ben likes this idea! have a lovely weekend. x

  12. Helen Evans 23/01/2011 at 9:03 PM #

    Love, Love, Love the yellow stairs! I would happily walk up and down these all day long.

  13. el {what you fancy} 24/01/2011 at 3:52 PM #

    Wow, the pink ones with the writing have made me fall in love! I’ve never thought of doing that before… but I’d love to do it at my next home (that will hopefully have stairs!). Thanks for the inspiration 🙂
    ~el

  14. Becky 24/01/2011 at 5:14 PM #

    Oh I like the yellow ones, and the ‘Come On Up’, brilliant collection.

  15. Margit Rosenaa 26/01/2011 at 9:30 AM #

    Love the stairs! thank you – walk up ,and down
    walk up ,and down
    walk up ,and down

  16. Laura @ Eden Rose 31/01/2011 at 11:28 PM #

    OH NO!!!! Now I’m going to have to wallpaper my stairs in yellow I will not be able to stop thinking about this now. Im with you on beautiful staircases, the only reason to have a house 🙂

  17. Peonies and Polaroids 07/02/2011 at 8:55 AM #

    Painting the communal stairs! *that* might cheer up our miserable neighbours.

  18. Gaynor 15/02/2011 at 9:33 PM #

    I love the stripes on the stairs and have seen the ones outside loads of time and it make we want to visit them!

    I would love to have a house with stairs!

  19. Polly 12/03/2011 at 11:37 PM #

    My mum just mentioned taking the carpet off our stairs and was asking me for ideas. Just showed her this post and she loved it 🙂 Especially the wallpaper/ different colour on the front xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inspiration : Painted Floorboards - 01/03/2011

    […] 5 – Pretty painted stairs. Source: Conversation Pieces […]

Leave a little love...

