Weddingnesday… stuck on repeat

26 Jan

Here’s a few of the wedding-y things that are going round
and round in my brain, driving me vaguely insane…

(Let’s start with a nice one.)

(a) shoes… especially these

(b) budgets… boring but true
(cute purses though right?)

(c) eeek, we’d better start writing our vows

(d) why oh why am I growing my hair again?
(and will it ever look anything like this?!)

(e) first dances… love this pic!

(f) what are my bridesmaids going to wear?
(love the ice-cream colours of these dresses)

(g) what am I going to wear?
(I do have a dress but I keep thinking what if… and that what
if always leads me to something sparkly. Magpie syndrome!)

(h) Flowers and would it be too crazy to do my own?

(i) crafty plans, diy dreams, sourcing
of odds and ends… aka the fun bit

(j) everything else… drinks, toilets, suits, accommodation,
buses, music, food, cake, decorations, favours, rings,
hen dos, hair dos, must dos, must not dos

As fun as some of all this is, I would like my brain back.

Do I have to wait until I become a Mrs for that?

****

1. Kim Fox via Style Me Pretty 2. The Purl Bee 3. unknown? via pinterest
4. Haunt Design via weheartit 5. micha & megan via snippetandink.com
6. Debs Ivelja via rocknrollbride 7. net-a-porter 8. L. Grainee
9. girlhula via houseofbliss 10. baltimoreprintstudios via swiss miss

26 Responses to “Weddingnesday… stuck on repeat”

  1. Lisa-Marie 26/01/2011 at 11:15 PM #

    Pretty much!

    BUT at least other than budgets, most of that stuff is pretty cool! If you need any help with the crafting, give me a shout!

    Oh, and, you should do your own flowers. Then they will have Zoe-ness.

  2. anna and the ring 26/01/2011 at 11:31 PM #

    So many questions!
    Love the purse clasps too (budgets are meant to be ignored!)

    Your hair is uber gorgeous, no frettles there young lady!

    You can do you own flowers – you will need helpful friends (can I volunteer!?)

    Wowzers the sequins.

    Your wedding – will be epic!

  3. Rebecca 27/01/2011 at 4:22 AM #

    In answer to your last question, probably.

    In answer to the flowers, probably.

  4. Margit Rosenaa Platz 27/01/2011 at 6:13 AM #

    I got married the 23 oct. – 2010. And It’s wonderful.
    And you are def. on the right track. The shoes are cute – your hair is beautiful and your ideas are great.
    Take care

  5. Danae 27/01/2011 at 9:52 AM #

    It’s totally not crazy to do your own flowers. I did the flowers for a friend of mine and it was dead easy, albeit time consuming (if you’re doing table flowers). It took me about 3 hours in total to put together about 30 hand-ties and teacups like this http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=7195570&l=f084d07ec0&id=727661040 .

    Most friendly florists will order flowers for you wholesale and just hand them over. Be sure to also ask for wire (used for buttonholes, you shove the wire in the back of the flower to bend the head forward), oasis (the green stuff that you stick flowers in, essential for some arrangements), and floristry tape (which is really weird to use at first, because you have to stretch it out to make it tacky, but you get used to it after about 20 minutes – practice!)

  6. Another Emma 27/01/2011 at 11:18 AM #

    Snap! On growing the hair – I’m still wondering about it. Wrote a whole post on it. Not convinced. Blah!

    Also considering doing my own flowers – is it a totally insane idea?

    • Another Emma 27/01/2011 at 11:19 AM #

      Ooh also forgot to say that I LOVE that sequin dress. Oh my gosh. Thanks for sharing your pinterest 🙂

  7. Elizabeth@rosalilium 27/01/2011 at 11:48 AM #

    Yes. Once a Mrs you can have your brain back and you will marvel at the memories.

  8. Chloe from Love Making It 27/01/2011 at 1:29 PM #

    My favourite post of yours so far! Gorgeous pics and a pleasure to read… I’m sure everything will come together and you’re wedding will be amazing! x

  9. Kerry 28/01/2011 at 11:29 AM #

    Hello Zoe. It is a bit of a stess isn’t it! I remember it well. I did all the flowers apart from my bouquet and Maisie’s, myself. Got most of them as cheapies from Sainsburys!! They worked though, as it was very much a rustic/country wedding in the local pub!

    Those bridesmaid dress colours are scrumptious, and I need one of those purses. Hang in there! xx

  10. Whimsycate 29/01/2011 at 1:29 PM #

    the only positive plan type thing i’ve done towards my wedding is the decision to grow my hair – it’s driving me crazy, but it’s all for the love of a good man!

    keep on in their lady, you’ll work it all out with your trademark good style, your wedding will be fabulous!

    Cate, x

  11. Vanessa 29/01/2011 at 4:55 PM #

    I’m not sure if you’re familiar with Chelsea from Frolic, but she is a floral designer and she frequently features flower arrangement/bouquet tutorials on her blog: http://www.frolic-blog.com

  12. Laura @ Eden Rose 31/01/2011 at 11:31 PM #

    Don’t stress, it will all come together beautifully in the end you know it 😉 & yes, do the flowers yourself, they will have a real, organic, personal look that no florist can capture, plus saves you lots of dollar!!

  13. Louise 01/02/2011 at 10:02 AM #

    I know it’ll all come together perfectly for the big day! Re. the flowers, I say do it yourself! I bet they’ll look beautiful xx

  14. Louise Macpherson 01/02/2011 at 1:24 PM #

    I did my own flowers for a photoshoot for my website…. it was a lot harder than I expected and I had a few tears along the way, but it was VERY satisfying and I got there in the end! Might be good to consider getting a florist to do your bouquet if it’s important to you to get it just right, and then you can do your own flowers for the tables etc etc. Just practice practice practice!x

  15. Becky 01/02/2011 at 2:08 PM #

    Crikey, sounds hectic! But lots of pretty image to whizz round your head with the thoughts, no? Much better than work stress I think! Love all the images you’ve put together for this post, especially the sparkly shoes and dress!

    • Alison Cross 02/02/2011 at 8:24 PM #

      I love the shoes, the sparkly frock, the bridesmade frocks in Italian ice-cream colours; the gold stars….everything.

      If you have a short frock, get fabulous shoes. Long frock – no-one will see your beautiful shoes. Your hair – don’t fret, you can wear it in a loose up-do and it will be gorgeous. You could even put your gold stars in your hair!

      In short, you can have ANYTHING that your heart desires for your wedding, so just pick stuff that makes your heart sing and if it’s a short, sequin-starred frock, just get it. You will look beautiful whatever you decide to do.

      As far as your brain goes. This is as good as it’s going to get. Believe me. Start eating lots of oily fish 🙂 Love your vows!!!! I double dare you to say them.

      Ali xxx

      • Conversation Pieces 16/04/2011 at 9:45 PM #

        Gold stars in my hair would be fab… Alison, I love your ‘heart sing’ advice so much!

  16. Trudi * Fabricated Tales 01/02/2011 at 5:44 PM #

    My newly married friend did her own flowers for her wedding. She bought whatever what was in season wholesale from a flower market. It was all hands on deck the day before and there was florist sponge flying everywhere but they were really beautiful and worth the effort ;o)

  17. Linz 03/02/2011 at 8:40 AM #

    I feel exactly the same! The flowers…it’s so tempting but I think I’m going to give in and get them done, the bridesmaids dresses…maybe if one day they can all get together to try things on, the budget…brings me to tears on an almost weekly basis when I think of how much my ‘modest’ wedding day will cost. But I’m still excited and might be getting my dress tonight!!
    On the hair topic, mine’s always long and I just got it cut to my shoulders-going the opposite way to you!
    Linz x

  18. Gloria 07/02/2011 at 10:02 PM #

    fabulous picks! the first dance photo made me smile – what an adorable couple!

  19. smcanary 11/02/2011 at 6:06 PM #

    Do your own flowers if you have the passion to do them. But plan it carefully. Find/create a design you love and are comfortable being able to accomplish in the time you’ve allotted in your ‘getting ready’ timetable. I did my own, and I absolutely adored choosing the flowers and making them up. BUT…I didn’t have many to make (mine, 1 bridesmaid, 1 flowergirl), and my table flowers were single dutch iris blooms in jam jars, so a trusted friend did those on the morning of the wedding…so I’m coming from a POV of a VERY relaxed (but oh so pretty!) flower situation 🙂 I love looking at our wedding photos and knowing I did the flowers..such really happy memories. But only because they didn’t stress me out. Good luck with the flower making decisions!

  20. Gaynor 15/02/2011 at 9:35 PM #

    Lots & lots of lovely things; it will all come together & it will be fantastic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Olivia Palermo And The Week That Was – January 28, 2011 · Dismount Creative - 28/01/2011

    […] please send me these shoes in a 5 […]

Leave a little love...

