Friday I’m in love… with typewriters

4 Feb

I have a new obsession. Well, an old obsession reborn.

You see, I’ve got a bit of a thing for typewriters
but it’s not exactly a new fixation…

Yes, this is baby me.

(The dashing young fella is my Dad.)

This picture alone probably tells you that
I was going to grow up to be a writer.

And that I would develop a lifelong fixation with yellow.

So I’ve been searching for a pretty typewriter…

You know, just to carry about and stuff…

(Um, maybe not.)

To be honest, I’ll probably just plonk it next to some of my old globes…

Or just use it for doing crafty stuff…

Or perhaps as a message board?

It took me a minute to realise this must be in a bookshop.
I thought it was a more general offer of help at first!

A mustardy, yellow one would be ideal…

But this old advert is right… having a pink typewriter
might actually induce to me do some real typing!

Happy Friday everyone xx

****

1. Olive Handmade 2. my baby pic! 3. Yvette Inufio
4. Sadie W Harris 5. Uppercase via Oh Joy
6. Life Through The Lens 7. :: Kate ::
8. Nerd Nest 9. Katnip

22 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with typewriters”

  1. Lisa-Marie 04/02/2011 at 7:01 PM #

    I love typewriters too!

    You were a super cute baby Zoe!!

  2. anna and the ring 04/02/2011 at 7:31 PM #

    The yellow love started at a young age?!

    (I may have a treat for you soon!)

  3. Helen 04/02/2011 at 8:13 PM #

    I love typewriters too, I have an old remington one but it’s so noisy to use I hardly do haha.

  4. Lisa 04/02/2011 at 8:21 PM #

    Ah typewriters. I would chose the mustard one too. Mine is white and is called Monica!when my niece came round at Xmas, she couldn’t stop tapping away on it, writing letters to Santa, thus using up all the ink! Xx

  5. Sarah 04/02/2011 at 8:28 PM #

    I’m also an enormous typewriter fan – and the last pic is the very same one that inspired my blog header! I keep finding them in vintage stores (I especially want a turquoise one) but they’re so pricey, and I suspect they’d just sit on my precious space like my giant ice-cream lamp, many many picture frames and several vanity cases….

  6. Sarah Rooftops 04/02/2011 at 8:46 PM #

    I almost bought an old 60s one for £4 this week because it had a buttercup yellow case. Then I realised the typewriter itself was boring old white and that I didn’t have any room for it… A part of me is considering going back to the charity shop to see if it’s still there, though…

  7. mysparethoughts 04/02/2011 at 9:10 PM #

    How cute is baby you?!

  8. Kate 04/02/2011 at 11:25 PM #

    Just to let you know pic number 7 is one of mine 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 04/02/2011 at 11:37 PM #

      Brill pic Kate… was an actual sign in a library or set-up? (Updated link to point to you now… sorry about that!)

      • Kate 05/02/2011 at 12:07 AM #

        Thanks for linking me 🙂 The sign was already there, it’s in a bookshop ! An amazing bookshop!

  9. Maca Martinez 05/02/2011 at 8:25 AM #

    Ah! Lovely Post! Adored the vintage photo of yours! Xo

  10. domestikate 05/02/2011 at 10:39 AM #

    Love that first typewriter cushion, so cute! And baby Zoe is pretty cute too! =D

  11. Peonies and Polaroids 07/02/2011 at 8:50 AM #

    I had a typewriter as a child, I loved it. And I think all houses need a sign with a general offer of help.

    Also, how dishy is your dad?!

  12. Trudi * Fabricated Tales 07/02/2011 at 4:07 PM #

    What a lovely collection of pix. I would love to own a couple – but where to put them?

  13. Becky 08/02/2011 at 1:38 PM #

    That advert with the pink one is like something straight from Mad Men…can just imagine Don Draper coming up with something like that!

  14. Reidunn 09/02/2011 at 1:18 PM #

    I share your love for typewriters. Still have to find the perfect one.

    If I’m not mistaken, you also have a thing for foxes. Have you seen this one?
    http://mirdinara.blogspot.com/2011/01/foxes.html
    I read about it, and thought of you.

  15. Gaynor 15/02/2011 at 9:40 PM #

    Such a cute baby; now you def need a typewriter!

  16. thecheckeredmind 10/03/2011 at 10:08 AM #

    are you after something like this by any chance?

    Tell It Like It Always Is

    picked this little chappy up for a fiver in Oxfam, Aberdeen not but 2 days ago!

    • Sarah Rooftops 10/03/2011 at 9:30 PM #

      I’m after exactly that!!! Drat, I didn’t bother with Oxfam this weekend because they’re usually so pricey!

Leave a little love...

