Because it’s a heart-shaped Monday…

14 Feb

Here’s a bit of a confession:
we don’t do Valentine’s Day.

Well, not really.

In our many years together,
we have done the 14th of Feb
a few days before or after,
a week early, a week late,
but hardly ever on the actual date.

We’ve skipped cards, presents,
dinner dates and flowers.

Not out of any sort of protest
(though I’m not a huge fan of Clinton Cards)
but just because we’ve always liked
doing things on our own terms.

I much prefer ‘I love you’s on every other day.

All that said, I have adored Aesthetic Outburst‘s
20 Valentines in 20 Days. Especially the heart medals.

Bit late to share it I know but I guess that’s in
keeping with the way I keep Happy Heart Day!

P.S. For a Valentine’s post that will make you cry,
visit Red Boots. (But remembered I warned you.)

Love to you all
365 days a year
and then some xx

******

All images via the ace Aesthetic Outburst.

11 Responses to “Because it’s a heart-shaped Monday…”

  1. Maca Martinez 15/02/2011 at 2:57 AM #

    Lovely Post! Happy V. Day! Xo

  2. Sarah Rooftops 15/02/2011 at 8:23 AM #

    Nor do we, though I think somebody put the idea in Steve’s head this year that I didn’t mean it because he came home with a bar of chocolate looking nervous…!

  3. Jessica Benson-Egglenton 15/02/2011 at 10:41 AM #

    What lovely hearts! Much nicer than the usual valentines chintz. I particularly like the paper heart garland and felt flag – both of which would be easy to make at home. And how good would the flag be for jazzing up a birthday cake?!

  4. Lisa-Marie 15/02/2011 at 12:23 PM #

    I don’t do Valentine’s, but I do love heart shaped stuff! This is a beautiful post Zoe!

  5. anna and the ring 15/02/2011 at 12:58 PM #

    I completely agree, love is for every day.

  6. b. 15/02/2011 at 6:51 PM #

    ditto, i’m actually starting to think that not many people do the day per se! we skipped off to brighton and hung out on sunday using vday as an excuse to go to one of our favorite places, it was ace (although boy did get me flowers, which was sweet). love is for everyday, it improves everything!

    loving asthetic outburst!

    x.

  7. ellie 15/02/2011 at 8:58 PM #

    thank you, thank you for posting that link to red boots. I just blubbed my heart out. It was just so perfect.

    And you’re right, love is everyday, every minute. x

  8. Kerry 15/02/2011 at 10:35 PM #

    We’re not great do-ers of Valentines day either (though my husband got me a gift today a day late, and it was a fab vintage suitcase from a charity shop…£2…I’ll take some pics for the blog). I just read the link, and oh my goodness, yes, I did shed a little tear.

  9. mysparethoughts 18/02/2011 at 6:52 PM #

    I love that post from Red Boots.
    We don’t do Valentines, disappointed some single ladies by telling them having a boyfriend/husband does not mean they’ll automatically get chocolates and flowers.

  10. Red Boots 20/02/2011 at 11:17 AM #

    I don’t think we’ve ever done valentines stuff on valentine’s day ever! We don’t even do anything remotely valentine-y round about valentine’s day. I guess I just don’t get the point of it, really.

    And oh no – sorry to make you cry!!

    x

  11. Eleni Drinks Tea 24/02/2011 at 3:13 PM #

    Hey! I’ve been offline for a couple of weeks so I’ve only just seen this post. I’ve already re-posted that quote from Red Boots – bloody hell! I let out a sob. One single, lump-in-my-throat, my-heart-just-broke sob. Wonderful 🙂

Leave a little love...

