The loved and lost list…

22 Feb

Anyone else do this?

You spot something you like on Etsy (or ebay).

You bookmark it, pin it, whatever you do.

Then promptly forget about  it.
(Or assume that no-one else will have
spotted it before you can afford to buy it.)

Of course, once it’s sold, you’re gutted.

And you thus begin a life-long quest
to find a replacement version that
will never be quite the same.

*****

Here’s some of my loved/lost list:

(Also known as the “hurry up universe
and throw one of these my way” list!)

I really do wish I’d bought this school map.

Yes, it’s Canadian and I’ve never been there
but look at the colours and the size of it. *sigh*

This is the thing that inspired this post.

Do I need a Vintage Portable Music Air Organ?

Um, no.

Did I want this a Vintage Portable Music Air Organ?

Yes. A lot.

(Again might be something to do with the colours!)

My other half’s surname (and mine to be) has the word ‘pear’ in it.

So I thought about buying this pear money bank
(from the lovely Tales of a Junkaholic).

And then I thought about it some more
until some lucky soul snapped it up.

I owned a Fisher Price record player when I was little.
It looked sort of this (but without the ‘from Santa’ message.)
I’m still stalking similar ones on ebay.

Again this is sort of just a colourful map.

Well, a colourful map of the inside of a frog.

I couldn’t decide if this would be too disturbing in real life.
And I still have no idea where I would have put it.
(Not in the kitchen I’m guessing!)

Yes, another globe.
But look at the stand!
Lovely.

It’s not a map or a globe or even colourful
but this gorgeous vintage dress still gets
a place on my ‘lost’ list.

Isn’t it just perfect?

******

So how about you all?
What are your loved/lost things?

Maybe between us all we can track
down some replacements!

****

1. ethanollie 2. daindain 3. Tales of a Junkaholic
4. Thrush 5. luckylittledot 6. sweetshorn 7. Vintageous

P.S. Yes I do have a bit of a thing for maps and globes!

 

23 Responses to “The loved and lost list…”

  1. katie 22/02/2011 at 4:03 PM #

    Oh yes.. I desperately wanted a vintage moon globe on Etsy once but prohibitively expensive shipping put me off.. i still think about it though and haven’t found a similar one since.. I now impulse buy a lot more to avoid the pain of regret..!

  2. Kerry 22/02/2011 at 4:11 PM #

    I do this all the time, Mr always goes on ebay he doesn’t do the other sites and comments on things I am watching that have stopped. I am a nightmare for it but it is so much fun xxx

  3. Kirsty 22/02/2011 at 4:42 PM #

    I WANT that dress. As in, I have an actual physical longing for that dress. It’s the most beautiful dress I’ve ever seen and I would seriously consider getting married again (to the same person. Probably.) just for the chance to wear it. I looooooove it!

  4. Rebecca 22/02/2011 at 4:44 PM #

    Zoe, we all want a colourful map of a frog, that’s normal 😉 and that dress is beautiful!

  5. anna and the ring 22/02/2011 at 5:11 PM #

    Oh me oh my I completely understand!

    My etsy shopping bag is always full, but the fear, the fear of postage! (When I am earning again I look forward to the customs charges!)

  6. Sarah Rooftops 22/02/2011 at 6:04 PM #

    Oh yes, so many things I didn’t want to pay customs charges on… and then regretted missing out on… I have to delete them from my wishlists immediately so I can pretend they were never there.

  7. Rhian 22/02/2011 at 8:06 PM #

    I so wanted that dress too – spotted it on pinterest, it’s so beautiful!! 🙂 xx

  8. Elizabeth@rosalilium 22/02/2011 at 8:39 PM #

    Yes I do this all the time.

    Although it does sometimes pay to hold on for a bit – I once accidentally bought a wardrobe by bidding a silly low price and winning! oooops.

  9. Lena 22/02/2011 at 11:07 PM #

    How to you mean “bookmark”? If you add them to your eBay watchlist, eBay will send you a reminder to your email account a few hours before the auction finishes. Might depend on your settings though? It has saved me (and my poor memory) many times!

  10. Reidunn 23/02/2011 at 12:06 AM #

    I loved and lost the perfect apartment. Today. It got way to expencive for me. But I still wish it was mine.

  11. francesca 23/02/2011 at 7:11 AM #

    i’m naughty. but happy. if i see something i LOVE and MUST have. IMMEDIATELY, i ususlly buy it. especially if it’s unusual and vintage. i make my mind up by asking myself ‘would i be gutted if next time i clicked, it was sold?’ if the answer’s yes i click the buy button so bloody quickly! and i’ve not regretted it once. there have been a few that got away due to too much pondering, and oddly, i ponder over the mid-priced things more than the expensive things. i’m still hovering over that yellow sweater.

    next time you see an amazing vintage organ like that, imagine me on your shoulder going ‘do it. do it. do it!’
    lovely post, i might do a similar one if i can bare to look at my etsy faves. x

  12. Patchwork Harmony 23/02/2011 at 7:30 AM #

    Some lovely items there! I love maps & globes too! I’m gutted cos I missed out on a lovely set of drawers on eBay this week. They were buy it now with 20 days left, so thought I’d loads of time… How naive! And they were only up the road! 😦 but hey, u know there’ll be something else you’ll fall in love with in a week or two! X

  13. Toni 23/02/2011 at 9:53 AM #

    Oooh, great post idea! Here’s a link to my Lost Loves. Of course there are actually a zillion others. These are just the ones that still linger in my acquisitive little conscious:

    http://www.ladybehave.com/blog/object-of-lust/better-to-have-loved-lost/

    I think the rule should be: if you’re still lusting after it after a good night’s sleep (and can afford it!) – get it bought!!

  14. Alison Cross 23/02/2011 at 9:55 AM #

    oh yes! I feel your pain!!!! I am always deliberating for things too long and then, when I decide that no, I CANNOT live for another moment longer without a leopard print coat, someone else buys the damned thing.

    I also experienced the hell that is being gazumped in the dying seconds of an auction on THAT site. My son was bouncing up and down at the thought of getting (at long last) a Bakugan thing (plastic, shit toy, but makes him happy) and we got gazumped!!! he was so inconsolable that I sat up for hours trawling the net to find another one.

    I must be mad.

    I especially love the map of the inside of the frog. That is COOL!

    Ali x

  15. Lisa-Marie 23/02/2011 at 4:44 PM #

    My bookmarks folder is filled with beautiful thing I will never have too. Also, OMG that dress!!! I must have one!

  16. young at heart 24/02/2011 at 4:22 PM #

    oooh I want all those things….excellent taste!!

  17. katyelliott 27/02/2011 at 2:49 PM #

    I totally identify with you!!! I think I set up my whole blog based on ‘what i wish i could afford if only I had the funds (and the space!)’… sigh…

    I L.O.V.E. that dress!!!! x

    http://allkindsofnew.wordpress.com

  18. Lynne, Tea for Joy 27/02/2011 at 9:26 PM #

    Some tips…
    http://www.housetohome.co.uk/articles/World_map_wallpapers_516996.html I lost out on some gorgeous hooks while I ummed and aahed. 15 minutes later I took out the cash and went back – gone. Have never seen any as nice since.

  19. PinkBow 04/03/2011 at 8:29 PM #

    yes yes yes! i do usually try to put a reminder on my phone!

  20. Caroline Dulko 05/03/2011 at 10:50 PM #

    Ah! I actually have that little keyboard- it makes quite a racket but is lovely looking 😉
    That dress is so beautiful 🙂

  21. littleowlski 08/03/2011 at 8:35 PM #

    Can I play the keyboard whilst wearing the dress?? Both I think I need, not want, but need. Emma x

  22. Gaynor 10/03/2011 at 11:35 PM #

    I do that all the time and get so dissapointed when they are gone!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Better to have loved & lost… - Lady, Behave! - 23/02/2011

    […] a post on the lovely Conversation Pieces blog on eBay & etsy lost loves (the things you wistfully add […]

Leave a little love...

