You’ve been framed…

4 Mar

First, some good news: we sold our old flat.
Which is such a relief I can’t tell you.

But it has caused a slight problem* as…

I now have all my prints and art from both flats.

So this weekend, inspired by the following gorgeous displays,
I’m going to have a go at grouping some of our pictures.

(If you hear a loud yelp in Edinburgh,
it’ll be me hitting my thumb with the hammer.)

How gorgeous is this display? I love that isak print!

Amazing colours… in this pop-up shop.

Love the idea of using trouser hangers.

I’ve tried this with bulldog clips in the past but we obviously
have the heating on too much… as the prints started to curl up!

I also adore this clipboard idea

Love this staircase display

Yes, I have spotted it has maps and globes in it!

And a super cute staircase wall display by the seventy tree.

I love the blackboard speech bubble. So clever.

I was extremely lucky to recently win one of her
gorgeous bear prints – another one for the display!

Ok, now where did I put that hammer…

****

1. nicoletter via pinterest 2. Kate Spade via life style etc
3. apartment therapy via pinterest 4. smile and wave
5. design sponge 6. seventy tree 7. seventy tree shop

 

*when I said ‘slight problem’
I may have been exaggerating!

13 Responses to “You’ve been framed…”

  1. Polly 04/03/2011 at 10:40 PM #

    Lovely images! The first two are gorgeous, and I love Kerry’s print so much – I’m very jealous! Congrats on selling the flat and good luck with your print hanging xox

  2. letters 04/03/2011 at 10:40 PM #

    I am flat hunting at the moment and the pickings are slim, this gives me hope me as to what might be…

  3. Lisa-Marie 05/03/2011 at 8:03 AM #

    I love groupings of art and prints! I think especially when you have high ceilings (as we both do), they fill space better, as most prints look a bit small on their own (though I know you have a few big ones).

    Pictures when you are done please!

  4. b. 05/03/2011 at 8:45 AM #

    i am a big fan of grouping pictures, at the moment i am collecting and framing a whole lot of pictures i like so that when i have walls that will submit to picture hooks (my current walls repel them with all their might!) the fist thing i will do is hang my pretty pictures!

    x.

  5. Kerry 05/03/2011 at 11:37 AM #

    I love the clipboard hanging one that is so cool. Good luck with sorting out the hanging, I hope that we get to see a picture of them all xx

  6. mysparethoughts 06/03/2011 at 10:53 AM #

    Yes definitely pictures when you are done. I love them all, especially the staircase ones but our stairs don’t really feel like part of our home. You just race up them to get into the body of the flat.
    My parent’s have a huge art collection in their downstairs loo – it is full of art that members of the family have created, mostly my sisters and I but drawings that my Mum or Nana have done. They took photos of where everything was before getting the toilet redecorated so that everything could go back where it was. You can never get bored in there.

  7. Anja 06/03/2011 at 2:46 PM #

    So many great ideas! The display with the hangers was very nice, haven’t seen that before.

  8. Clare 07/03/2011 at 11:39 AM #

    We tried the bulldog clips method in our office but have the same problem with things curling up at the edges. Love the trouser hanger idea though. I’m always dreaming of having a house with a big staircase so I can group lots of photos and pictures all the way up.

  9. Eleni Drinks Tea 07/03/2011 at 4:18 PM #

    I had grand plans for just such a wall in my room, only to discover that it’s a stud wall and so I can only hang pictures on one tiny section of it! But I’ve always done this in previous flats – it means you can be a lot less precise about lining them up 🙂 Congratulations on selling your flat, by the way, that must be a huge relief!

  10. Red Boots 10/03/2011 at 12:21 PM #

    Love that Isak print too!

    I’m on the hunt for good prints at the moment. I just bought the British Isles one from Bold and Noble and it’s looking pretty good on our living room wall! It’s looking a bit lonely though, so need some more. I’ve never lived somewhere where I’ve been able to put pictures on the wall so it’s all a bit of a novelty!

    And yay on selling the flat! What a relief!

    x

  11. Gaynor 10/03/2011 at 4:19 PM #

    Yay for selling the flat!

    How did your picture grouping go? I want to see pics too, might inspire us to get on with hanging everything thats just propped up just now!

  12. Lisa 10/03/2011 at 7:46 PM #

    Teehee! This made me smile. I have so many pictures/prints to hang and just don’t know where to begin! Gorgeous examples! The trouser hangers idea is great!
    x

  13. Conversation Pieces 16/04/2011 at 9:47 PM #

    Thanks all for the flat selling congrats… it really is so nice to have it gone 🙂

Leave a little love...

