Friday I’m in love… with prints (and peeved pets)

8 Apr

Remember my plan to try and create a display wall?

Well, one (almost) sunny Sunday in March, I started one…

A work in progress sure but it gives us something
nice to see when we open the front door.

It got this reaction from the fox-owl-cat…

To be fair, this look probably translates as ‘stop hammering, damn you’.

On a little roll, I then put up the other half’s favourite Mr Cheapskate print.

Yup, I’m attempting the bulldog clip thing again!

Remember how the fox-owl-cat used to like
to hide under the bed when we were doing diy?

Well, grey-ninja-cat seems to adopted the practice too.

It’s a hard life being a cat right?

I also finally framed my gorgeous birthday screenprint from my friend Jill.

(She based it on a phrase I once said to her… it almost like I’m famous!)

I thought it worked pretty well with our Japan print…
(which unfortunately became pretty relevant later on in March).

I absolutely adore the record detail… she has
superior screenprinting skills to me!

I also reintroduced our ‘rules are for fools’ print back into the flat.
(It had been ‘dressing’ our old flat while it was on the market.)

The chair in the shot is our future mustard velvet chair.
Can’t wait for us to finish it… when we have the time!

I also pondered where to put my lovely bear print from The Seventy Tree

And did a bit of honeymoon planning on our future map.

Apparently these quieter activities were much more satisfactory…

Maybe I’ll get round to finishing the wall display one day!

***

Hope you all have a lovely weekend.

We’re having a bit of a wedding weekend, making our invites,
testing our wines, and writing our vows. Oh yes and a bit snoozing,
chilling, relaxing and watching 30 Rock. Bring it on!

 

19 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with prints (and peeved pets)”

  1. Lisa-Marie 08/04/2011 at 9:01 AM #

    I love them all! Oh, and the top and tail bulldog clips, genius idea as they wont curl!

    I am so glad you have your rules are for fools print back, I know you love it.

    You should never invite me to your house. I will steal your cats.

  2. Lisa-Marie 08/04/2011 at 9:02 AM #

    Oh, and I like your duvet!

  3. Eleni Drinks Tea 08/04/2011 at 11:04 AM #

    Never a truer word spoken! Reminds me of a World/Inferno Friendaship Society lyric: “if money’s all you want, then money’s all you get.” You are wise!

  4. Lucy A 08/04/2011 at 11:17 AM #

    Oh, man, I love your flat so much!! It’s so bright and cheerful. Your screenprint is fab with the Japan print, and I love the frames. I need to be more adventurous with my frames and get a bit more variety.

    Oh, and Fox Owl Cat is so pretty and yet so disdainful… should have her/his own blog!

  5. Sarah Rooftops 08/04/2011 at 11:49 AM #

    I also love the duvet, I love the screenprint and I love… oh, all thes rest of it, too!

  6. Rhianne 08/04/2011 at 12:57 PM #

    Fox-Owl-Cat is the best cat nickname ever!!

    And I love your prints, I’m slowly building a display wall in our bedroom so its always great seeing other peoples choices.

    Have a great weekend

  7. Another Emma 08/04/2011 at 11:23 PM #

    Ok, if nothing else is going to, this post HAS to inspire me to go and hang up our 5+ items that have been sitting on our bureau waiting to be hung… for about 4 months. I love all your artwork!

  8. Sarah 09/04/2011 at 8:04 AM #

    I love your flat SO much – from the colours to the kitties!

  9. Steph 09/04/2011 at 4:55 PM #

    Hi Zoe,

    I’ve just found your blog and have had ridiculous amounts of fun reading back through your entries. Im just coming to the end of a 3 month contract over in Algeria (hence lots of time to sit and read fun things like blogs!) but will be flying home to Edinburgh next week. Your blog has made me so excited to get back to my home town!

    Apologies if these comments are a tad random. My brain has ALL of your posts to reply to.

    Firstly, im a little bit in love with your flat. My own wee flat in Gorgie is coming to the end of being completely refurbished and ive just put in my tiny wee size-of-a-cupboard pink kitchen. Ive had an absolute ball filling my flat with fun colours, a shitey 4 poster bed from ikea that everyone laughs at, a multicoloured chandelier and a ceramic seal lamp. My flat may be full of shit in the eyes of other people but they make me smile every time i walk through the door. I wish mine were yellow too. Also coveting from your flat are the orange wall paper and all your beautiful prints. I LOVE prints!

    If theres one thing i love more than filling me flat with random bits and pieces, its weddings. I cant wait to see your wedding pics. Being a singer by profession, most of my life is spent at weddings in and around Scotland and I’ve seen some pretty awesome weddings but i would LOVE to be a fly on the wall at your wedding purely to see all the fun details.

    Anyway, that was a pretty full on blabbery response to your lovely print wall (mine is still in progress). Looking forward to catching some more blog posts.

    Love and shiz,
    Steph

  10. CAPow! 10/04/2011 at 1:51 AM #

    your cats are ADORABLE! and those prints are all great!

  11. Francesca 10/04/2011 at 6:59 PM #

    Lovely post Zoe, I love all your bits and bobs and the flat is looking gorgeous. That chair with those floorboards – divine! Hope you had a successful weddingy weekend. X

  12. sami 11/04/2011 at 6:31 PM #

    love your wall of photos! i have a similar wall in my apartment and i love it! your kitties are toooo cute!

    xo
    sami
    ps. check out my giveaway! it’s a print for your wall!
    http://glimpseofglamour.blogspot.com/2011/04/heart-over-head.html

  13. Gaynor 12/04/2011 at 1:22 PM #

    I love your work in progress far; we have 7 prints / pics / a map to hang if you need something else to do!

    The pink framed prints are gorgeous and im loving the bulldog clips at the top & bottom, great idea!

    I love that your honeymoon planning is taking you all over the world; any decisions yet?

    How did the invites, wine & vows go?

    {p.s did I tell you that we bought the future map and have just stuck lots of pins into it! blog post coming at some point!}

    • Conversation Pieces 16/04/2011 at 9:59 PM #

      Actually the notes are places we’ve been already… Japan is still our frontrunner but there’s a few others in the mix too. Yay to future maps… I should be on commission 😉

  14. Mica Connelly 16/04/2011 at 12:58 AM #

    Hello! I love the display wall you have, I also have one which is growing every month, It will have to come down soon though as I will be moving house in a few months 😦 I have the everything is going to be alright quote in a photograph when it was displayed on the tate by Martin Creed. I will add photos to my blog soon of the display wall 🙂

    love your blog,

    Mica

  15. Becky 20/04/2011 at 10:15 PM #

    Can’t WAIT to see the mustard velvet chair.

  16. margarita 30/04/2011 at 7:17 PM #

    How funny I just got the same bear print, totally love it!!

Leave a little love...

