Meet my new typewriter, vintage china… and, um, butter churner

18 Apr

Last Sunday, I spotted an army green typewriter at a car boot sale,
decided not to buy it and then regretted it as soon as we left.

This Sunday, the other half went ‘booting’ on his own and bagged
this lovely blue (and still working) typewriter. The boy done good!

We’ve also (for reasons some of you might guess) been collecting
more vintage china – from car boots, charity shops and junk places.

These little beauties came from a charity shop… the insides of them are so pretty.

A little yellow lady… me in another time perhaps?

The fox-owl-cat guards some of our new finds…

We’ve also been acquiring some vintage suitcases of which my favourite
is this Spartan number… I think we should use it for our mini moon.

And we found a little 3D view master…

With a reel of brilliant bird images.
Love this one so much!

As well as the car booting, I bought us this rather gorgeous drinks set
from Thrift-ola… if you haven’t checked out Leona’s new shoppe, you should!

I also came across this yellowy vintage teapot in Curiouser and Curiouser.
I’d only gone in to get some baker’s twine but how could I resist?

And in a junk shop in Glasgow, I found a vintage butter churn!
A crazy looking thing that  I just fell in love with…

No idea if we’ll ever try and churn butter with it of course!Between now and the wedding, we’ve got quite a few more booting
mornings planned, I do wonder what we’ll come home with next?

****

Found any lovely thrifty finds yourself lately?

32 Responses to “Meet my new typewriter, vintage china… and, um, butter churner”

  1. katie 18/04/2011 at 11:02 AM #

    oooh I have thrift-envy, especially for the cool butter churn and pretty tea cups!

  2. Rowan 18/04/2011 at 11:06 AM #

    Love all the teacups. I actually have 2 glasses that match your bird glasses and am now very jealous of the jug that matches! xx

  3. Katie 18/04/2011 at 11:09 AM #

    Love each and every find. You have a good eye. I’m off to the charity shops today to find something for my Mom for (USA) Mother’s day.

  4. Linsey 18/04/2011 at 11:11 AM #

    Where do you go car booting?? Fancy picking up some cheap bits and pieces for the (newly decorated!!) house. Am in Glasgow but I’m up for a wee jaunt when I’m off on holiday next week!

  5. Rebecca 18/04/2011 at 11:13 AM #

    I’m a teacup collector also – those floral ones of yours are so gorgeous! The best of my recent finds are two black and white photographs of Edinburgh taken in the 1920s. My love for them has further confirmed my long-standing belief that I was born in the wrong decade!

  6. Ali 18/04/2011 at 11:45 AM #

    Might I ask how much you got those lovely vintage tea-sets for. I’m pondering hunting some down myself, for a tea-party hen…

    • Conversation Pieces 18/04/2011 at 11:53 AM #

      Hey Ali… the cheapest set was £6 from an ‘out of town’ charity shop, the rest were only a couple of pounds more from car boots etc. Haggling at car boots works too!

  7. Cat (WildCat Designs) 18/04/2011 at 1:17 PM #

    Wonderful finds! Especially love the typewriter & pretty china sets 🙂

  8. Julia M 18/04/2011 at 1:25 PM #

    Fox-owl cat is the coolest looking cat I’ve seen in a long time!
    The typewriter looks really cool, it’s so rare to find one in such great condition in a sale. My great auntie had 3 from way back when-two were in wee cases like the blue one in this post, and looked really cool! I think she’s since sold them though 😦

  9. THE VINTAGE KITTEN 18/04/2011 at 3:54 PM #

    Ooh I have ‘thrifty’ envy! Love it ALL x

  10. Robin & Mould 18/04/2011 at 3:54 PM #

    Good finds! We did our first car boot of the season yesterday and managed to bag an original anglepoise lamp for a mere £4 but we did decided not to buy a typewriter just like yours and now I’m regretting it too!! Darn it.

  11. Lucy A 18/04/2011 at 4:23 PM #

    I had one of those viewfinder toys when I was a kid!!! I must be soooo old (they seemed so futuristic)!

    Love the teapot!

  12. PinkBow 18/04/2011 at 7:48 PM #

    aahh you scored some magnificent goods! i love the typewriter. and you have a very enviable china collection. mine is currently running around half that amount…but i am running out of storage space 😦

  13. domestikate 18/04/2011 at 8:49 PM #

    Oh wow, the china collection is looking beautiful! And lucky you having such a clever boy – that typewriter is fab!

  14. lisa 18/04/2011 at 9:16 PM #

    Wow! You are doing well…! The tea-cup with the forget me nots is the same as my Gran’s china collection… really reminds me of Christmas and Easter at their home.

  15. Hayley 18/04/2011 at 9:55 PM #

    LOVE your tea cup collection – I’d love to have even a quarter of that collection!

  16. Mez 19/04/2011 at 9:48 AM #

    I L-O-V-E all of those thrifty finds, especially the blue typewriter, it is so beautiful. 🙂 I used to have one as a child, I never quite worked out how to use it but it was brown and not half as gorgeous as yours.

    From looking at your blog I have just purchased a fine looking tea towel from Mr Cheapskate and am now longing to go car booting!!

    I like to collect vintage glassware, 40’s measuring jugs, crystal sugar bowls and am head over heels with vintage champagne saucers. I hope things are going well with your wedding plans :).

    Mez aka- Buttoned Betty. xx

  17. Eleni Drinks Tea 19/04/2011 at 11:33 AM #

    Wow, my auntie has the bird glasses and jug set in the ’80s! I wonder when painted sets of glasses went out of fashion? I think they’re lovely and they make such memories when you’re little. If I ever have my own kitchen again I will definitely make an effort to find some nice decorative glasses and not just pinch pint glasses from pubs as I have done in the past (I guess I am an adult now?!)

  18. beautyh2t 19/04/2011 at 1:57 PM #

    you have so many good FINDS! that typewriter is incredible, love it! It was really lovely to meet you on Saturday Missy, I hope you had a fab time with the MUA the next morning 🙂

    Hope to see you again soon ,

    Bxx

  19. Elizabeth@rosalilium 19/04/2011 at 6:49 PM #

    Amazing finds, Zoe! Good job. I am now thoroughly jealous.

  20. Janne 19/04/2011 at 8:19 PM #

    Funny you should ask – guess what I found today? A vintage typewriter not that different from yours. I’ll post it on my blog later 🙂

    Great finds, by the way. Love the teapot.

  21. louiserastall 20/04/2011 at 8:18 AM #

    I miss car booting, the Aussies do garage sales instead with no tea van in site…..love the teapot btw x

  22. Lisa-Marie 20/04/2011 at 2:40 PM #

    Love. LOVE. I want ALL the china!

  23. Polly 20/04/2011 at 6:27 PM #

    Wow all that vintage china is absolutely gorgeous! And I’m loving the teapot. x

  24. Becky 20/04/2011 at 10:13 PM #

    What an amazing haul! Typewriters and teacups, I like! just got back from NYC and had a ball at the Brooklyn flea, came home with a vintage glass cocktail shaker and some milk glass vases, which all survived the journey back too luckily!

  25. littleowlski 23/04/2011 at 12:33 PM #

    I actually once found the exact same bird glasses but without the jug. I think they went on Ebay (it was a few years ago now). I love vintage glasses – we’ve got some that are souvenirs from a 70s Tour de France, and with playing card designs. They look ace – much more exciting than Ikea or the like! Emma

  26. lemony 23/04/2011 at 9:52 PM #

    Ooh love your yellow wallpaper – do you mind me asking where it’s from?
    Thanks x

  27. Gaynor 25/04/2011 at 9:05 AM #

    I love the typewriter & I havent seen one of those viewer things for years.

    I dont know if you watch the TV show Fringe {its on Sky 1} but they use a typewriter to communicate between the parallel universes!

    {p.s no idea why I suddenly just thought of that now!}

  28. adele 26/04/2011 at 7:28 PM #

    every self respecting girl needs a butter churner! 😉
    by the way zoe, i know its been a few weeks (been all over the shop and not been properly ONLINE until now…)but just want to say “hey” and that it was looovveeeely meeting you at the ballet event!
    adele x

  29. SoLoveLy {decoration} 15/05/2011 at 7:20 PM #

    tons of inspiration in here !
    bonne soirée
    sophie *

  30. La Rimule 17/05/2011 at 9:02 AM #

    Hello ! I know what is a “charity shop” but what is a “junk shop” ?
    I love buying old french stuff in these kind of shop ! You can see it on my blog !

  31. amber 24/05/2011 at 8:01 AM #

    I love the photo you captured of the bird through the viewfinder! Amazing!!

Leave a little love...

