Weddingnesday… wishful thinking

4 May

In around 6 week’s time, I’m meant to look presentable.

Bridal even…

Which might explain why my rebel without a cause self
is hankering after the following things that  I kind of wish
I was brave enough to do for our wedding.*

(*I may still do them one day.)

1. My something blue?

How gorgeous is Doe Deere’s hair?
Every time I see this picture it so makes me want blue hair… and curls.
(Damn, my naturally straight, dark hair!)

2. My something daring?

I do love this dress by LoveJune.
(With a back that low and a bust like mine it would be daring!)
But what I love is that tattoo… not everyone’s cup of tea I know
but I’ve been looking for an excuse to get a second one for some time,
and getting married seems like a reason to do something permanent!

3. My something fun?

I wear tights all year round. I love tights.
I love one with hearts, dots, patterns, colours… if I could find
a pair that went with my dress I would so do this. (That said,
I don’t want to look like a children’s TV presenter on the day!)

*****

What about you all? Is there anything
you kind of wished you could of done
(or wish you could do) on your day?

*****

1. DoeDeereBlogazine  via here 2. LoveJune via here
3. Alison Conklin via Ruffled via here

20 Responses to “Weddingnesday… wishful thinking”

  1. Mel 04/05/2011 at 8:00 PM #

    My rebel self would love to have bubblegum pink or pillarbox red hair, matching lipstick and my tattoos on display. But job prevents my hair colour going too wild, and my mum would set about with passive-aggressive comments if I walked down the aisle with my backpiece on display. Also bikini-clad pinup girl ink is probably not so appropriate for a church.

  2. Rhianne 05/05/2011 at 8:43 AM #

    wear some amazing tights 🙂 its your wedding right?

    I really hope that I do everything I want to do on my wedding day, by the time that we get married I’ll have waited so long it had better be the best day that I want evver lol.

  3. Gaynor 05/05/2011 at 9:47 AM #

    Wow, look at the blue hair! I fear you would regret the blue in your wedding pics in a few years maybe? But otherwise you should so go for it; how fab would it look in winter in the snow {thinking ahead here!}

    I would be too scared to get a tattoo and also I didnt know you had one!

    Im not sure what I would have done differently, maybe I would have loved to get the coloured shoes I originally wanted, although they just didnt fit with my dress!

  4. Elizabeth@rosalilium 05/05/2011 at 10:20 AM #

    I am so in love with the blue hair. Her hair colour matches her eye colour, how cool is that?! Ever thought of having a perm? Not one of those 80’s poodle thingimajigs, but maybe a light curl?

    Good luck with the final preparations, I am sure your wedding will be super-fun, with or without crazy hair and tattoos.
    x

  5. Catherine 05/05/2011 at 3:40 PM #

    That tattoo is really beautiful. Anything with a well-placed scroll has me itching to get something big like that! I’m really looking forward to what you’ve come up with for your wedding! Judging by your save the dates and awesome home, being a rebel at heart is enough! xo

  6. jennie 05/05/2011 at 6:47 PM #

    Do it!! All of them!! The hair would look amazing in your pictures and the tattoo will give you the best memories every time you see it. I’m getting my other shoulder/upper arm/collar bone done for mine.

  7. alison cross 05/05/2011 at 10:39 PM #

    I absolutely love the blue hair! I’m actually really grey underneath all this mid brown dye and I often wonder whether a modern take on a blue rinse would be a good look for me. My mother was appalled and said that I could only stop dying my hair when Tartarus died…..

    Tights! Wear whatever danged colour you like, girl – it’s your wedding!

    The tat I am a wee bit less enthusiastic about. I cannot imagine loving one image so much that I want it on my body for ever lol!

    Do what you will, it’s YOUR day and it’s up to you how to make it special! 🙂

    Ali xxxx

  8. Another Emma 07/05/2011 at 7:19 AM #

    That LoveJune dress is amazing! I love it!

  9. Lynne, Tea for Joy 07/05/2011 at 7:42 AM #

    Zoe, I’m sure you are going to look fabulous, blue hair or not!

  10. Redlilocks {Swoon Worthy} 07/05/2011 at 2:34 PM #

    Just discovered your blog via the Independent article on ‘Undecorating’ (I always thought it was just called ‘eclectic’ but hey whatever it’s called, it works for me!) Anyway, I have just had a jolly good look around your blog and I’m loving it! Such quirkiness must be the result of a lovely happy creative brain which is always ace in my book. Lovely to ‘meet’ you – I’m following you on bloglovin’ now.

    Blue hair rocks. Tattoos rock too. Do them all.

  11. Lisa-Marie 07/05/2011 at 3:30 PM #

    I love all of this!

    I wish our wedding hadn’t been quite so ‘normal’. Really,the only thing that mattered to us was getting married, so our wedding was quite traditional, with wee vintage touches. It could have been more ‘us’ i think.

  12. Kerry 07/05/2011 at 11:47 PM #

    I wish if we got married that we could do it without all our families except parents and brothers and sisters. Impossibility but something that I would wish for xx

  13. Becky 09/05/2011 at 6:49 PM #

    Love the blue hair. Yes.

  14. Eleni Drinks Tea 11/05/2011 at 12:16 PM #

    Definitely wear coloured tights or shoes! Maybe they could be your “something blue?”

    I dyed my blue once. I adored it, but had to dye it back to normal when I started a new job though 😦

    Yes, I wholeheartedly support a tattoo in honour of your wedding – such a landmark deserves all the recognition it can get.

    I’m many years off getting married, but so far all I know is that I won’t wear white – I’m too pale and pasty and I never wear white in real life, so why change the habit of a lifetime?

  15. the teapot explodes 14/05/2011 at 1:38 PM #

    I love that blue hair. I’ve always hankered after pale, pale pink hair… maybe one day. I’m sure you will look amazing. I’ve always fancied some heavy crochet lace tights? I’m just catching up on your blog after some time away. It’s just as lovely as always x

  16. Daeminimon 16/05/2011 at 8:41 AM #

    I got a tattoo for our wedding. My maiden name means oakleaf, so I got oakleaves falling down my back, to symbolise the end of an era.
    We also did a “Happy Days”-inspired first dance, choreographed and all. I wore a short white dress with a big fluffy petticoat and lo-top Converse, the groom wore a white tight t-shirt, blue 501’s and hi-top Converse! 😀

  17. linda dacey 16/05/2011 at 8:56 AM #

    love
    the blue
    hair
    and
    as for
    what
    i would
    have done
    “run”
    (very fast
    opposite
    direction)
    !
    good luck
    & enjoy
    smile

    ***

  18. Kylie @ 3 Sheets 16/05/2011 at 8:58 AM #

    I love the blue hair so much! I’ve always wanted to go that colour but have reached an age where it’s probably best left till I join the blue rinse set at the bingo hall 😉
    Congratulations on your upcoming wedding. We got married in the rose garden of a park and then had a fabulous reception at a nearby summer house. I wore a blood red dress and we had tarot readers and clairvoyants and a brazilian band – it was all about doing the non-traditional thing and was the best night of our lives in every way, except one. I wish I’d let my dad give me away and I wish I’d asked him to speak at my wedding. We were so het up on being ‘so very modern’… and now he’s passed away and I regret that. Maybe my comment should simply be ‘Don’t throw away the baby with the bath water’ 😉 Do the crazy things but remember the things that make life really special too. God I sound like an old lady.
    Thanks. Your blog is just lovely. Kx

  19. Poetesswug 16/05/2011 at 9:49 AM #

    I didn’t wish I did anything nearly as daring as this. Not my cup of tea. But I did wish I had worn a little shorter dress and went barefoot down the aisle. That would have been really fun!…and comfortable. 🙂 {I did go barefoot for the reception though. Dancing with my dad in bare feet is a memory I hold dear, even these 29 years later. :-]}

Leave a little love...

