I heart mini-moons… our too cute vintage airstream caravan

7 Jul

I love the phrase ‘mini-moon’.

It’s fun to say… and even more fun to be on.

For our mini-moon, we wanted to do something chilled,
low effort and relaxed, without having to travel far.

Somewhere we could sleep, eat, drink and be happy.

So to start our mini-moon, we rented an airstream
from Vintage Vacations on the Isle of Wight.

I can’t tell you how much we loved our wee caravan.
It was just so perfect. A perfect start to married life.

So while we’re waiting on wedding pics,
here’s some snaps from our mini-moon part 1…

Our French chocolate and caramel wedding tea
from my Dad and his girlfriend…

Our lucky charms breakfast from my little sis…

Our caravan… the Sparton Manor.

Sunny deck chairs… for two.

Sunny Hendricks gin and tonics… for two.

Me and a fox mask from our wedding…
(we brought it on mini-moon as we forgot all about it on the day!)

One of the comfiest beds in the world…
and it has a yellow blanket too!Two very tired but very happy people…
getting married is exhausting!

I also took a few Diana shots…

One of the fires we lit… so we could sit
outside until the stars came out.Our favourite caravan on the site… the dinky Doris!

So much a favourite that we took
a Polaroid of us outside of it!

Oh to have my own little airstream!

How lovely that would be…

****

28 Responses to “I heart mini-moons… our too cute vintage airstream caravan”

  1. Joanne 07/07/2011 at 7:19 PM #

    Looks gorgeous!

    Where did you get that lovely cape/top?

  2. Lisa-Marie 07/07/2011 at 7:24 PM #

    Oh Zoe, it just looks like perfection, stripy deck chairs, hearty straws, fluffy blankets, gin,lovely tea, and quite the most beautiful caravan.

    Not to mention a very happy couple of people 🙂

  3. Rebecca 07/07/2011 at 7:35 PM #

    I need to smell that tea!!!!
    So glad it was wonderful for you, it looks immense!

  4. francesca 07/07/2011 at 7:45 PM #

    lovely zoe, and nice to see your fella too. you look v happy. good on ya! (i’m not aussie, can i still say good on ya?). looking forwrd to some wedding pics x

  5. Red Boots 07/07/2011 at 7:47 PM #

    It looks so wonderful – those airstreams look great, and such cute little touches they have! I love the Isle of Wight – I spent lots of time there when I lived in Southampton! And totally coveting your Little Rabbit t-shirt. Where did you get it?
    xx

  6. domestikate 07/07/2011 at 8:32 PM #

    Looks fabulously wonderful! Congrats!

  7. Ellie 07/07/2011 at 9:02 PM #

    Just perfect and magical. I think I want to do something before we have a big honeymoon, just chill out and soak up everything from the wedding. xx

  8. Kerry 07/07/2011 at 10:12 PM #

    That looks like heaven absolute bliss! So very jealous! xx

  9. sécia 08/07/2011 at 3:45 AM #

    I heart your caravan.

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

  10. Rhianne 08/07/2011 at 11:19 AM #

    ohhh, I love your diana shots, the colours are beautiful.

    I love the word mini moon too 🙂 I asked thomas if we could get married just so we could have one haha (he said no, hmph) it looks like you had an amazing time!

  11. Lynne 08/07/2011 at 9:20 PM #

    Love Rhianne’s comment! Must send this to my friend, who loved having a ‘mini-moon’ too – and I’ve always wanted to go there, too. Good that it was sunny, though… Love the rabbit tee-shirt too.

  12. Janne 09/07/2011 at 2:00 PM #

    Belated congrats! Great post :-))

  13. Ellie Pullen 10/07/2011 at 4:38 PM #

    So cute, what a great mini-moon!!!

  14. Becky 10/07/2011 at 4:46 PM #

    Zoe – it looks wonderful! I have been desperate, desperate to go stay in one of the Isle of Wight vintage airstreams ever since I saw them on a blog a few years ago, so happy you could live the dream. Looks perfect!

  15. little miss scout 10/07/2011 at 11:23 PM #

    just gorgeous! I have those exact stripy deckchairs here in NZ! Brings back my honeymoon memories…many moons ago….congratulations!

  16. Elizabeth@rosalilium 11/07/2011 at 8:56 PM #

    Love love love these photos. It totally captures the cuteness and loveliness of your mini moon. So happy for you both.x.

  17. Conversation Pieces 11/07/2011 at 9:59 PM #

    Thanks everyone 🙂

    @Joanne – my cape is from asos, a completely non-sensible, non-flattering purchase but I love it so!

    @francesca – yes you can still say that!

    @RedBoots – my rabbit tee is from Pull & Bear. usually their tees are a bit spanglish but I kinda like that about them! 😉

    @Rhianne – ha, love it. just secretly call your next trip a mini-moon, he’ll be none the wiser 😉

    @Becky – so worth it, you should book one!

  18. threesmallapples 13/07/2011 at 2:25 PM #

    This is the most adorable post. I love the idea of a mini-moon. It looks like absolute bliss.

    xx

  19. lovetopeaces 14/07/2011 at 6:56 AM #

    I love this idea of a mini-moon. Just the name sounds intimate. I know so many people who have to put off big honeymoon trips till the first year anniversary because of expenses but this is a great way to have your cake, eat it too and not have to wait a year!

    lovetopeaes.blogspot.com

  20. Alison Cross 14/07/2011 at 7:07 AM #

    Oh how happy you both look!!!! Congratulations 😀 I’d love an airstream too – but do not underestimate the restorative powers of ANY caravan!!! We bought ours for £500 – sleeps 4. Even if we don’t go away for another weekend in it, it still works out cheaper than a weekend in a hotel to actually buy 😉

    Hope you’re both still on your post-wedding glow for many years to come!

    Ali x

  21. caroline, no 15/07/2011 at 12:49 PM #

    Aw! How completely lovely. A thousand congratulations, can’t wait to see more pics! xxx

  22. mysparethoughts 16/07/2011 at 10:05 AM #

    A field of airstreams! i need to go. So glad you managed to relax and had such a good time.

    Sorry it has taken me so long to drop by.

  23. Helen and Frazer Cunningham 17/07/2011 at 9:42 AM #

    Such a lovely blog – you have made our day/month/year xxxx

  24. NordicBliss 19/07/2011 at 5:52 PM #

    Congratulations on getting married! Looks like you had a lovely time. (ps. love the straws with hearts. Where are they from?)

  25. Gaynor 27/07/2011 at 11:27 AM #

    It looks fabulous; I want to go and stay in an airstream now!

  26. aDizzyGirl 22/08/2011 at 8:04 PM #

    I need to get me some serious brownie points to persuade the boy to stay in one of these. He’s strictly a hotel man.

    seriously, Z, your minimoon was perfection – you are going to have to really up your game to make the sunnymoon an improvement!

Leave a little love...

