Because it’s Monday… a little bit of rain

18 Jul

When I was little, very little, I thought I could control the weather.

Whenever there were tears running down my face,
the world seemed to weep with me.

Big fat raindrops to match my own wet chubby cheeks.

(I blame my literal interpretation of my Nana
singing ‘When You’re Smiling’ for this.)

Then you get older and realise that no, the weather just does as it pleases.

You plan a picnic and it pours.
You want a rainy day for movies and there’s a heat wave.
You want a white Christmas? Well, tough.*

And like most Scots, I learnt to just deal with it.

And then I learned to like it.

Blame living in LA straight after uni as it taught me to miss weather.
Every day there started with grey smog which would clear to blazing sunshine.

Brilliant yes? Well, kind of. After a while, I missed the unpredictability.
I missed the need for a cardigan. I missed the sound of rain.

****

We knew three weeks before our wedding that
it was going to tip it down. Proper, proper rain.

So we bought brollies, gazebos, wellies, the works.

Lots of people told us the day would be ruined if it rained…
And I never understood that. How? How ruined?
Would we not get married on account of the weather?

So when I spotted this little beauty below by Heidi Burton
I wanted to have it for our wedding day.

“I like people who smile when it’s raining.”

I do. I really do. And from the wedding pics I’ve seen so far,
my god, me and my now husband are two
of smiley-est people you’ll ever see.

Surrounded by lots of lovely other smiley people.

And maybe they sort of did control the weather
that day as it only really rained a little bit.

*******

* Likelihood of snow at Christmas is now pretty likely I know!

P.S. My lovely print was framed by the lovely people
at Curiouser & Curiouser. They did a fab, fab job!

14 Responses to “Because it’s Monday… a little bit of rain”

  1. Sal 18/07/2011 at 2:10 PM #

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog recently – thank you.
    I too got married (last Thursday) and I was so delighted to be marrying my hubby that I was oblivious to everything else – including the weather! I completely agree with liking people that smile in the rain – it’s all about your outlook. Glad you had a fab day! Sal x

    • Conversation Pieces 02/08/2011 at 11:44 AM #

      Aww thanks Sal – and congratulations! Glad to hear you had a lovely day too 🙂

  2. anna and the ring 18/07/2011 at 2:44 PM #

    Yes. Why is rain always so unhappy. Yes a drizzle is rubbish but big fat rain is wonderful.

  3. JoaniSchofield 18/07/2011 at 3:45 PM #

    I couldn’t agree more! As someone who lives in Seattle, the ability to smile at rain makes life much more pleasant :). Thanks for celebrating weather with me!

  4. andrea 18/07/2011 at 4:18 PM #

    Here in France they say it is very lucky to rain on your wedding day…or maybe they were just saying that to make me feel better! Very lovely print 🙂

    • Conversation Pieces 02/08/2011 at 11:55 AM #

      I’m going with ‘lucky’ Andrea 🙂 Someone told me on twitter that it’s lucky for it rain on your day because then you’ll weather any storm (or something like that). Quite like that 🙂

  5. mysparethoughts 18/07/2011 at 6:58 PM #

    After a rainy weekend what better way to start the week. I’m not sure why people think the weather will ruin your big day. As you say the rain wasn’t going to stop you getting married.

  6. Lisa-Marie 18/07/2011 at 7:21 PM #

    People were horrified at the forecast rain for our wedding. Quite frankly it could have tipped down and i could have been soaked, and I’d still have gotten married, so no big deal.

    I love your attitude!

    • Elizabeth@rosalilium 18/07/2011 at 8:40 PM #

      I love this quote too. Saw it a while back, liked it and then forgot about it. So thank you for reminding me!

      I took an Instagram photo the other day of the view outside my room, it was pouring with rain and so dramatically beautiful.

  7. Juliet 18/07/2011 at 8:39 PM #

    I like the rain.. especially on a Sunday afternoon when you just want an excuse to be lazy & stay inside watching films! (although maybe I have just been forced to love it because I’m Scottish, ha). Lovely print. x

  8. Becky 19/07/2011 at 8:45 AM #

    Sometimes I’m happiest in the rain! And really, as this post so brilliantly expresses, there are more important things in life than worrying about the weather (just got back from a very wet, very muddy festival, where I still had an amazing time, so feel authorised to comment!)

  9. Carla 21/07/2011 at 10:52 AM #

    I completely understand what you mean about the rain. Since leaving Scotland to move down South, I really miss it. My boyfriend says I’m being ridiculous, but I really long for proper rainy days now. And on the odd occasion it does rain, I soak it up and will intentionally try to go out for a walk in it (or maybe after it) just so I can smell the nice post-rain fragrance. It really lifts my mood too and makes me super efficient and productive for some strange reason. I heart the rain!

  10. Gaynor 16/08/2011 at 1:34 PM #

    Yes its lucky to have rain on your wedding day; also in Scotland the chances are always pretty high!

  11. aDizzyGirl 22/08/2011 at 7:58 PM #

    your day was wonderful despite the rain! I love your print too, rain doesn’t bother me unless I have soggy shoes!

Leave a little love...

