A bit of car boot loot…

25 Jul

A typical weekend conversation…

Me: How about we go car booting on Sunday morning?

Him: Ok. What time do you want to go?

Me: Super early… so we can get the best stuff.

Him (knowing my inability to get up in the mornings): Ok.

*

A typical Sunday morning conversation before 9am…

Him: It’s ten to nine. Do you want to get up?

Me: Zzzzzzzzz.

Him: Zoë? Hello?

Me: Zzzzzzzzzzz.

Him: Ok, I’ll give you another 30 mins.

*

A typical Sunday morning conversation around 10.30am…

Me: Why didn’t you wake me up?

Him: Um, I did try.

*****

Some days however we manage to drag ourselves (ok, me)
out of bed and head to a car boot sale. And on these days
we very rarely come away empty-handed.

Here’s a few of my favourite recent finds…

A 60s ‘Topic’ teapot by J & G Meakin.

A bit of a departure this one for me…
usually all my china is gold-edged
delicate little vintage numbers but I just
love the colours and that pattern.

This set came with a bit of a car boot sale reminder though…
always check what you’re buying.

As well as the cups, saucers, sugar bowl and milk jug,
there were also some cute side plates. The lady that was selling them
was super nice so I didn’t bother to check them all…

And yup some of the side plates were broken.
Still a bargain but disappointing all the same.

Got ourselves some more glass jelly moulds…
one of these days we do need to try
out our posh jelly recipe book.

Some pretty measuring tape…

Though post-wedding I don’t give a flying fig
about my waist measurements etc.
(As a consequence I think I lost weight
just because that’s how my world works!)

A big cosy yellow blanket…

This one was a charity shop find rather than booting
and from the label it appears to be rather old… but in perfect nick.

It seemed rude not to buy it.

A polaroid camera for 20p.

I love this camera. I love the stripe.

I love the shape. I love that cheerful big red button.

It just makes me feel happy and that’s definitely worth 20p!

It also looks rather good on my little roll-top desk display.

(We think we hate our flip clock though. No-one warns you
that these make a god awful noise when they flip round.
Loudest, most heart-attack-inducing noise ever!)

And of course after a hard (ok not that hard) morning
car-booting, it is essential that you treat yourself to ice-cream.

Irn-bru and tablet ice-cream of course.

Well, you need a reward for getting up early on a Sunday.

(Look at the concentration!
That’s how good tablet ice-cream is!)

*****

Anyone else found any lovely booting
or charity shop finds recently?

*****

P.S. For all those asking, the ice-cream came from
the ice-cream van opposite the John Hope Gateway
at Edinburgh’s Botanic Gardens. Thoroughly recommend!

25 Responses to “A bit of car boot loot…”

  1. Siobhan 25/07/2011 at 3:56 PM #

    Tablet ice cream is amazing – a perfect treat! That tea set is lovely – it’s such a shame the side plates were smashed. I really like the yellow blnket too!

  2. Cait - Wayward Daughter 25/07/2011 at 4:04 PM #

    Hahaha! That is the exact conversation I have with Adam every Sunday. I am hopeless at getting up early. On Sundays sleep is just too appealing, right?

    Those are some great finds, I love the measuring tapes. If you can believe it, my Mum was lucky enough to nab one of those clocks in the Habitat closing down sale for only £30!

    Cait

  3. Mel 25/07/2011 at 4:11 PM #

    Where are the best car boot sales near Edinburgh? I always intend to get up early and go but never drag myself out of bed!
    I’m on a mission for fruit crates to make shelves with- any tips?

    • Conversation Pieces 02/08/2011 at 12:55 PM #

      Mel… the best here are probably the one in the omni centre (it’s a little scary but has good stuff) or the one at the corn exchange. not seen any apple crates at car boots here – maybe best to try the salvage places? or get friendly with a posh deli and see if they have any?

  4. threesmallapples 25/07/2011 at 4:19 PM #

    Irn Bru and Tablet ice cream? Are you serious? Where did you buy it? I must have some when I’m next home!! xx

  5. Elizabeth@rosalilium 25/07/2011 at 4:51 PM #

    What is tablet ice cream? :-S

  6. Lisa-Marie 25/07/2011 at 5:22 PM #

    Nardini’s in Largs do Irn Bru and tablet ice cream. It’s ACE! I love the blanket, and the Meakin teaset is lovely! It’s all pretty great though!

  7. sécia 25/07/2011 at 7:34 PM #

    Loved that intro. Very cute. Great finds!

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

  8. Simone - Carousel Girl Blog 25/07/2011 at 8:18 PM #

    I love car-boot sales I used to love going with my parents but now I don’t have a car but there is one near by that we could get to. I’m inspired now to get going again. But I do love charity shopping! xxxx

  9. Lynne, Tea for Joy 25/07/2011 at 10:11 PM #

    Yeah, I don’t know what tablet ice cream is either… I’ve got some good things recently but not sure they are such bargains… Some day, some time, I will get around to photographing them…Love the camera + blanket!

  10. arnique 26/07/2011 at 9:53 AM #

    I have been scouring ebay for a well-priced tea set. Why couldn’t I find something like that?! I think it’s time to set up a car boot in Manila!

  11. Debbie Greenwood 26/07/2011 at 2:47 PM #

    Hi there, loving this blog!!!

    If youre wanting rid of your flip clock then I’ll gladly take it off your hands!!! Is it for sale??

  12. Dolly Dahl 27/07/2011 at 2:47 AM #

    Oh that teaset is amazing! Good job on that! Feel free to invite me over for tea. 😉

  13. little miss scout 27/07/2011 at 5:27 AM #

    oh my goodness 20p for a polaroid camera! looks so great! if you really hate your flip clock that much…I will buy it off you!
    I love going to ‘garage sales’ thats what we call them in NZ, or car booting too but they aren’t as common….and we have lots of op-shops that are full of treasures…loving your blog!

  14. Julia @ Retro Jules 27/07/2011 at 4:23 PM #

    gorgeous finds, we used to have a biscuit-y colour of that blanket you had (until it ripped). One of my fave things ever, that was!

    Oh and I too am an irn-bru lover… but being from England I don’t know what Tablet IceCream is!!!!

    Julia @ Retro Jules

  15. Laura 27/07/2011 at 6:16 PM #

    Love this. My nana had the same crockery. Brings back happy memories!

  16. Vicky 27/07/2011 at 7:45 PM #

    What great finds – the polaroid for 20p was such a bargain! I haven’t been car booting in ages – I’m going on Saturday, eeek! x

  17. Alison Cross 28/07/2011 at 11:06 AM #

    It is disappointing when things like side plates are broken and useless, isn’t it 😦 On the other hand – great finds!!!

    Tablet ice-cream??? Irn Bru ice cream???? That doesn’t sound healthy. Sounds fun though!

    Ali x

  18. Claire @ Happy Elastic 01/08/2011 at 7:59 AM #

    I have that teapot from a car boot too. Loving the cups that go with it, I’ve never found any of those.

  19. Conversation Pieces 02/08/2011 at 12:58 PM #

    @Cait – Wayward Daughter – we grabbed ours in the habitat sale too… always fancied one but never wanted to spend that much on a clock. wish someone had said about the noise though 😉

    @threesmallapples – it is amazing! I’ve added into the post where you can get it as I got a flurry of emails about it too. (that wasn’t meant to be a pun!)

    @debbie – thanks for the offer. I may do one day… it is so pretty, just it gives us a fright twice a day!

  20. Conversation Pieces 02/08/2011 at 12:59 PM #

    @Elizabeth@rosalilium, @lynne, tea for joy and @Julia @ Retro Jules… tablet is basically amazing. sort of like a hard fudge but so much better. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tablet_(confectionery) I feel I might have to do a recipe post on it sometime soon 🙂

  21. nimblefingerssteadyeyebrows 02/08/2011 at 6:48 PM #

    Lovely loot! I found some Meakin at a car boot recently too. Pictures of it, and my other most recent finds here Laura x

  22. Gaynor 17/08/2011 at 1:07 PM #

    mmmm i think i need tablet ice cream soon!

    I so always do the same at the weekend, make grand plans then the lure of my bed is just too much!

  23. Natalie 06/10/2011 at 8:17 AM #

    My Nan had that Meakin tea set. It’s pretty much my dream crockery! Fantastic find (and congrats on your beautiful-looking wedding).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My type of thrifty finds… a new typewriter and more china « Conversation Pieces - 20/09/2011

    […] since I found the Meakin teapot, cups and saucers… the husband has got pretty good at spotting Meakin himself. So much so that he picked up […]

Leave a little love...

