A mini confession… and a small surprise

28 Jul

Here’s a confession…

Over the years, we have killed a lot of plants.

Despite our best attempts to look after then they always die.

ALWAYS.

(Yes, we did our own wedding flowers
but they didn’t have to live for that long.)

So recently we decided that we were giving up.

And we went out and bought some fake plants instead.

I can’t under water them. I can’t over water them.
Heck, I can’t water them at all.

They won’t die of a horrible disease, like Planty Number 2 did.

(Does anyone else give their plants stupid names?)

But we thought they were a bit plain…

Should we decorate the pots?

Or make some fabric flowers to brighten them up?

Maybe. Eventually.

But then we hit upon a better plan…

Yes, we now have our own sentry… watching out for us.

It cannot be underestimated how
much this makes me laugh.

*****

This might be one of the reasons
my little cousins call me
a ‘pretend grown-up’.

14 Responses to “A mini confession… and a small surprise”

  1. katie 28/07/2011 at 8:43 PM #

    Hahaha love the little sentry, he blends right in doesn’t he?!

  2. domestikate 28/07/2011 at 10:23 PM #

    LOL! Makes me laugh too! And I saw a brilliant post the other day about painting plant pots with blackboard paint so you can chalk on them …

  3. Jessica Hall 29/07/2011 at 12:25 PM #

    Brilliant! I have a big cactus and little plastic monsters live amongst the stones on top of the soil, cheers me up every time I look at them! :o)

  4. Anna 29/07/2011 at 12:26 PM #

    Hello there! I just came across your blog the other day and realised I’d seen your lovely home in Company mag a couple of weeks back. I love finding wonderful British blogs, makes me feel like I live really close, like you’re a neighbor despite the fact that I live in Wales and you in Scotland! Glad I found you , you have great style and a fab blog. Have a fab weekend!
    Anna
    goldliondiaries.blogspot.com

  5. louche 30/07/2011 at 9:36 PM #

    Excellent last picture!

  6. Helen 30/07/2011 at 10:46 PM #

    Hehe love him and how camouflaged he is. I have the exact same problem with plants, this is a great way to get around it. xx

  7. Becky 31/07/2011 at 8:48 PM #

    Ha, brilliant! Reminds me of this lady on etsy

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/kristimcmurry

    And also, a little bit reminds me of Toy Story – he totally comes alive and starts scaling the branches when you’re not looking!

  8. Rachel 01/08/2011 at 12:53 PM #

    This is so totally adorable!

  9. Lisa-Marie 01/08/2011 at 5:57 PM #

    hahaha, I love it. My aunt would say you inner child is very close to your outside!

  10. Conversation Pieces 02/08/2011 at 1:02 PM #

    @domestikate – loving that idea! ta x

    @Jessica Hall – you’re a girl after my own heart – loving the plastic monsters!

    @anna – awww thanks. (cue slightly bashful blushing!)

    @becky – yeah made me think of toy story too as soon I’d done it (I am a fan!)

    @lisa-marie – that’s a fab saying! must use that one 🙂

  11. Rebecca 04/08/2011 at 6:30 AM #

    I have georgette the courgette, Gina the aubergine, and Ian botham the beefsteak tomato. Yourenot the only one who names plants….

  12. Gaynor 17/08/2011 at 1:08 PM #

    Ha ha I love it; I always kill plants too, I can almost keep an orchid alive for a bit but it doesnt last that long.

  13. nicole 14/09/2011 at 1:10 AM #

    ❤ Love! We put little army guys on our Christmas tree!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This week I’ve mostly been reading « Basil Exposition - 05/08/2011

    […] new sentinel made me laugh […]

Leave a little love...

