Friday I’m in love… with London

12 Aug

I love London. I really do.
It’s the place I escape to
for a whirlwind weekend.
It’s where I got engaged.
It’s where friends and
my little sis live.

Watching this week unfold has been
so desperately sad. And so sad
that things can get this desperate.

But rather than add to the debate,
(though there is a very good article here),
I thought I’d do a sort of ode to London.

About my two recent London trips.
One pre-wedding. One post-wedding.

*******

Trip no.1…

…all the family fun you can have with free signs.

 You know how I sort of have a thing for foxes?

This is me doing my impersonation of the Southbank fox.

And yes… being a fox again!

(They have whiskers right?)

 My super, super gorgeous little sis.

The next day was her graduation
from acting school Italia Conti.

Me busking… with my harmonica necklace.

Where I would live in London if I could…

Ok, not really. But I do have my eye on
a ‘if I ever win the lotto’ flat down there!

*****

Trip No.2

Yup, he’s still there… had to check!

Then off to see my little sis’s play…

Then on to see a friend’s dad’s play…
this is where we got lost.

Which is fine because getting lost is (eventually) followed by ice-cream…

Bubblegum ice-cream!
(Tablet ice-cream feels healthy now.)

And after ice-cream, you must sit down…
at a fake beach of course.

The best of getting lost? Finding old signs…

Love this tea and coffee sign.

But this one won me over completely…

I’ve actually started designing a print based on it.
That’s just how much I love it.

Also seems somewhat relevant to right now, doesn’t it?

*****

Hope you all have safe, happy, relaxing weekends.

I’m off to a 90th birthday party.

Yup, 90! How amazing is that?

17 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with London”

  1. niceday4asulk 12/08/2011 at 7:06 AM #

    Lovely lovely post, your pictures and words are beatiful. Gaelle
    X

  2. mysparethoughts 12/08/2011 at 7:26 AM #

    Ace post Zoe, well done for showing the lighter side of London. We need to remember what an amazing city it is. Were those signs put up especially for you?

  3. Sara 12/08/2011 at 1:45 PM #

    I love old signage and that create no nuisance one is incredible! 🙂

    Have fun at the party. 90 is amazing!

  4. Alison Cross 12/08/2011 at 7:22 PM #

    I love these pix! It’s been very saddening to see what’s gone on down south. But what can we expect with our politicians fiddling the books and our coppers taking bribes from NoTW?! Now we have a chance to make things better – the boil has, hopefully, burst.

    I cannot WAIT to see what you do with that Create No Nuisance sign!

    Ali x

  5. Mathilde heart Manech 12/08/2011 at 11:54 PM #

    Ah Zoe! What an inspiring post. That sign is just perfect. I see why you love it.

    P.S adore your sunglasses 8)

  6. Katie 13/08/2011 at 1:39 AM #

    Gorgeous post, I’m loving everything about this! xo

  7. Kylie @ 3 Sheets 13/08/2011 at 1:46 AM #

    These are fabulous photos. I love London – it’s my ‘happy place’, so for me too, it really is frightening to see what London has been going through. We are there in September. Actually, we’ve rented an apartment next to the Tate Modern – hope Mr Fox is still there 🙂 Kx

  8. Becky 13/08/2011 at 9:03 AM #

    Thank you for this post with the positive side of London, part of what worried me so much this past week is what must people elsewhere be thinking about my beloved city. Positive London post from me coming later this weekend. And I love the commit no nuisance sign!

  9. Catherine Sprunt (@catherinesprunt) 13/08/2011 at 2:18 PM #

    I love your sunnies! xo

  10. Siobhan 15/08/2011 at 7:30 AM #

    I like your ode to London. I love my adopted home and really like to see it at its best.

  11. Helen Evans 15/08/2011 at 8:20 PM #

    As a Londoner it’s lovely to see such a lovely post about the city. London does have so many wonderful things to see do and experience. Really pretty dress too! x

  12. trishkoh 16/08/2011 at 1:43 AM #

    Great post, Zoe. I love how you were basking with your “harmonica” hehe. Love that pretty floaty dress you wore too.

  13. Jessica 16/08/2011 at 10:41 AM #

    That ice cream is so blue! Humans are meant to have a innate aversion to blue foods, but I guess it doesn’t always work!

    I thought that Zoe Williams’ article on the riots was very good too, the best I read of the many many that were/are around.

  14. Gaynor 17/08/2011 at 1:13 PM #

    Love all the signs you found. We trooped along South Bank last time I was there after we took my nephew to the aquarium but didnt see those signs!

    Congrats to your sis on her graduation too!

  15. aDizzyGirl 22/08/2011 at 7:12 PM #

    You always find the best places in London – I will need to pick your brains sometime.

    love the last sign, sadly very apt though

  16. PRINTforLOVEofWOOD (@print_for_love) 31/08/2011 at 12:17 PM #

    ohh love those vintage signs, keep em coming!

  17. Laura 05/09/2011 at 4:58 PM #

    I love your grey tights 🙂

Leave a little love...

