The first rule of Blook Club…

12 Sep

Yesterday, I held the first, little trial run of Blook Club.

Some very lovely blogging ladies came along
and it seemed to go pretty well.
We all liked the book for a start.

We’d all cringed, laughed, guffawed
and crossed our legs at the book.

As it was the first Blook Club, and the first time
meeting for some of us, I thought it might be
safer to start talking about the fashion chapter.

But from there (with the help of some booze)
we covered life, housework, vulvas
and everything inbetween.

The word ‘junk’ has also been changed
irrevocably, thanks to Lauren!
Must remember not to tell
Americans how much I love junk!

We laughed. We ranted. We probably
made for entertaining eavesdropping!

*****

If you haven’t read How to be a Woman, do.
Though be warned, it’ll make want to read out loud
all the rude, brilliant, immensely quotable sections
to complete strangers on trains.

My husband was my audience.
He just kept asking, ‘what are you reading?’
followed by ‘who suggested this book?’
Yup, that would be me.

I stopped reading it out loud
when I came to the childbirth chapters.

Instead, I may have had the following
expression on my face…

You have been doubly warned!

*****

So, the next Blook Club…

I wanted to choose something very different
to How To Be A Woman and so I choose something
that I bought as part of my 3 for 2 when I got HTBAW!
(Yup, an intellectual choosing process here!)

To read: When God Was A Rabbit
To read by: 16th October


(UPDATE: I’ve now moved the ‘about’ Blook Club details
to its own page… just click the button at the top right.)

****

Oh, and the first rule of Blook Club…
to have fun. (And read a book.)
(And maybe eat some cake.)

If you’d like to join, just leave a comment here
or email and I’ll put you on the list.
Already emailed/commented?
Expect to hear from me soon.

There’s also quite a few people asking
about reading along online. If you’re
doing that, you can use #blookclub
on twitter, leave a comment here if you fancy
or write you own post and I’ll link to it here.

*****

Happy Monday everyone xx

19 Responses to “The first rule of Blook Club…”

  1. Claire 12/09/2011 at 12:43 PM #

    Sounds like it went really well 🙂

    Looking forward to finding out what the next book is and hopefully not having to work on the next meet!

  2. Lauren 12/09/2011 at 2:40 PM #

    There’s junk, and then there’s “junk inside my trunk”. The similarity can be deceptive, so it’s something to bare in mind.

  3. anna and the ring 12/09/2011 at 4:35 PM #

    Oh wish i could go to Blook club. Maybe I should schedule a visit to Scotland around blook club!

  4. niceday4asulk 12/09/2011 at 6:58 PM #

    Wish I was nearby so i could take part! How To Be A Woman was fab, absolutely loved it. My new proud saying is : ‘I’m a strident feminist’.

  5. kate bremner (@wee_ktb) 12/09/2011 at 7:35 PM #

    Ohhhh is there space for a wee one (well a size 10-12)?!

  6. Kylie @ 3 Sheets 12/09/2011 at 11:04 PM #

    Great post and a fantastic idea too! (I only found out about ‘junk’ when I saw the movie Juno!) Loving the sound of this book and I really did laugh out loud when I saw the expression on your pink softie :)) I’m sorry to say childbirth is a bit like that 😉 Looking forward to reading this book. Kx

  7. little miss scout 12/09/2011 at 11:49 PM #

    hi – would love to read the books!…I definitely am going to read How To Be A Woman! sounds like a hoot!

  8. mysparethoughts 13/09/2011 at 7:05 AM #

    Ha, brilliant representation of your expression.
    Glad the first blook club went well.

  9. preciousjolene 13/09/2011 at 12:49 PM #

    Hi Zoe
    I found your blog while I was ‘working’ and trying to expand my contacts for our production company. Anyway, I’m also a blogger and LOVE the idea of the online bookclub. One I’d really recommend is Paper Houses, kind of a history of feminism, but in a really ace and readable way
    Jolene
    x

  10. domestikate 13/09/2011 at 9:12 PM #

    Exciting!

    *runs off to library to get When God Was a Rabbit in preparation for next blook club*

  11. Lisa-Marie 14/09/2011 at 9:18 AM #

    I definitely had fun, and I am excited for the new book!

  12. Siobhan 14/09/2011 at 9:22 AM #

    I seem to be pre-emptively reading the Blook Club Books. This is a great idea and I am glad it is taking off.

  13. Fiona Carr 14/09/2011 at 10:11 AM #

    Ohhhhh, I am a friend of Danae’s and would love to join your book club! I am well-behaved (sometimes) and can make nice cakes. :o)

  14. Colleen @ Hello Olive 15/09/2011 at 11:41 AM #

    I’ve just finished ‘When God was a Rabbit’ and loved it!

  15. Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 11:22 AM #

    @Lauren – there is obviously so much to I could learn from you about junk 😉

    @Kylie@3Sheets – I think I just pulled the same face on reading your comment! I’m sure when I get there myself I’ll adjust somehow!

    @preciousjolene – thanks, will look out for that book 🙂

    @lisa-marie, @domestikate – yay!

    @Siobhan – you’ll have to let me know what you read next then! 😉

    @Colleen @ Hello Olive – glad to hear it’s good, I haven’t started it yet!

  16. Gaynor 21/09/2011 at 10:03 AM #

    Glad I managed to make it along; I have now bought the book to read it too!

    Sorry I cant make the next one but think I will also make an effort to read the book when we are on holiday.

  17. Bec 07/10/2011 at 12:45 PM #

    I was already reading How to be a Woman when you did your first Blook Club post and didn’t think I was going to be able to join in with this one as the reservations queue at the library was very long. However a friend lent it to me and I finished it yesterday. It was a really good read, I enjoyed the writing style and the fact that it spanned such a long period of time. Plus there was a rabbit in it which is always a win for me!!

  18. nicsnotebook 10/10/2011 at 3:30 PM #

    Ooooh I would like to join if I can? I have just read When God Was A Rabbit”!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happenings - 28/09/2011

    […] impressed by the people who come to me from there. They are good. I attended a book club, or rather Blook Club, and I listened and laughed and was happy to meet like minded ladies who I am excited to be making […]

Leave a little love...

