Friday I’m in love… with Edinburgh

16 Sep

I’m not from Edinburgh.
As a city it wasn’t my first love.
In fact, Glasgow stole my heart first,
then I cheated on it with Copenhagen.

But by god, I have learned to love you Edinburgh,
you crazy cool be-castled city.*

(Spot the deliberate mistake in this pic!)

And every August, I fall a little more in love
as the Festival takes over and forces me**
into the streets to go and explore, laugh,
think, meet, and generally not sit on my sofa.

This year was no different.
Except I went to more shows than ever before.
And also to 3 weddings and a 90th birthday too.

Here’s a few snaps that sort of sum up
a little of my Edinburgh in August…

Hanging out in the Mirazozo Tent…
and playing my new iphone!

The Speigeltent… one of my favourite venues.

Animals took over my local gardens… 

The re-opening of the Museum…

And finishing off the Festival
with a gig at the castle itself…
Oh yeah and some silly snaps from the 3 weddings…

Thank you Edinburgh, it was great.

Now I need a lie-down…
and maybe a cat nap too!

Happy Friday everyone xx

****

So what about you? Do you love where
you live? Or do you dream of living
somewhere else?

****

* Yes, be-castled is not a word.
** Forces me without the need
for a cattle-prod or other threat!

22 Responses to “Friday I’m in love… with Edinburgh”

  1. bonnie 16/09/2011 at 3:09 PM #

    It’s nice to here someone who lives in Edinburgh and isn’t moaning about the Festival or the tourists! It is a wonderful city 🙂

  2. Lauren 16/09/2011 at 3:16 PM #

    I dream of living in Edinburgh actually. Though Aberdeen is worming its way under my skin, I don’t think I could take that much grey for the rest of my life.

  3. Elizabeth@rosalilium 16/09/2011 at 3:29 PM #

    lens cap!x

    • Conversation Pieces 16/09/2011 at 3:36 PM #

      You guessed right Elizabeth! Let’s not tell the husband I wasn’t really taking a pic of him… shhh 😉

  4. Abigail 16/09/2011 at 3:43 PM #

    Ah I’m so jealous you went into the mirazozo tent! I always make so many plans for the festival, and then the next thing I know it’s September! And I love my ‘I heart Edinburgh’ bag 🙂 Looks like you had an brilliant August!

  5. Lisa-Marie 16/09/2011 at 4:38 PM #

    I love Edinburgh. And also the Spiegeltent!

    Can I cheat and say I love Glasgow? There are things I love about Dundee, but Glasgow, oh it is great. Yummy food, lovely shops, lots of architecture and history, brilliant bands aplenty, more ace bridges than you can shake a stick at, museums galore!

  6. sécia 16/09/2011 at 5:29 PM #

    Great shots. What a cool place.

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

  7. Sarah Rooftops 16/09/2011 at 8:24 PM #

    I love Aberdeen but that’s largely because it’s where the majority of the people I care about live. If I could transplant them all to Edinburgh I most likely would do.

    I agree with Bonnie – it’s lovely to see an Edinburgh resident NOT moaning about the Festival; I remember how annoying the crowds could be when I lived there and I was in a rush to get someplace, but I think people forget just how lucky they have all that going on around them.

  8. Bryony 17/09/2011 at 7:36 AM #

    I’ve got a long weekend booked there next year – really can’t wait!
    ps: I would cheat on anywhere with Copenhagen – my favourite city in the world!

  9. Colleen @ Hello Olive 17/09/2011 at 12:07 PM #

    Good old Edinburgh… I love it! We moved away a year ago and I still miss it. Who knows, maybe one day we’ll move back!

  10. Danae 18/09/2011 at 1:12 PM #

    What a lovely tribute to Auld Reekie! I also live my adopted home of Edinburgh – the festival, the Christmas market, the architecture, the nightlife, it’s just such an amazing city. I know how damn lucky I am to live here!

  11. Siobhan 18/09/2011 at 4:02 PM #

    I want to live in Edinburgh one day. Every time I visit family there I want to stay for a while to explore again. I love London though, so it feels wrong but I think it wont once I am in Edinburgh eventually.

  12. Silmi 18/09/2011 at 5:52 PM #

    I really, really want to visit this city someday. Edinburgh or any other cities in Britain.

  13. Rebecca 18/09/2011 at 7:24 PM #

    How amazing is the newly re-opened museum?! That T-Rex terrifies me though, I have to admit…

  14. threesmallapples 19/09/2011 at 11:57 AM #

    I’m completely in love with Edinburgh too, although I didn’t realise how amazing it was until I moved to London… Nowadays I just can’t get enough and coming home is genuinely a thrill.

    xx

  15. Lottie 19/09/2011 at 12:47 PM #

    I love Edinburgh and have been fond of it ever since a holiday with my then bf and now husband. It was the perfect break away, getting lost in a city we didn’t know and walking hand in hand along its historic streets, lots of tea and scones in little tea room and of course a trip to the castle.

    {Oh and thank you for the comment on my blog, I don’t do follow the proverb enough either, but I am ever hopeful I am getting nearer}

  16. Anna 19/09/2011 at 7:46 PM #

    Oh I do love Edinburgh too…I love introducing people to its history and wee staircases and scottish-ness…it’s always great to find new places, and the festival is such an easy time to do it!

  17. Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 11:31 AM #

    @bonnie @Sarah Rooftops – oh I’ve probably done my fair share of moaning over the years (mainly when stuck on a bus that’s going nowhere) but overall I love August here… it’s like having a holiday in your own city!

    @Lauren – I find Aberdeen a little grey too but it seems to be raining every time I’m there!

    @Abigail – the mirazozo was fab… I could have happily stayed there and had a nap if they’d let me!

    @Lisa-Marie – of course you can say Glasgow!

    @Bryony – Copenhagen is fab isn’t it? I really need to go back, I’m just always worried that it won’t live up to my memory of it.

    @Danae – yeah, it’s pretty amazing when you put it like that isn’t it?

    @Siobhan – I’m sure London would forgive you… maybe 😉

    @Rebecca – it’s really good 🙂 I need to go back again as I didn’t have enough tea/cake to get me fully round the day we went!

    @threesmallapples – strange how that happens isn’t it? I never knew how much I like changeable weather until I lived in LA and I missed rain/wind so much!

    @Lottie – sounds like a fab holiday and pretty much what I do here at the weekend 🙂 yeah it’s a good proverb!

  18. Eleni Drinks Tea 20/09/2011 at 1:49 PM #

    I live in Bath and I love it! It’s beautiful – the best time of day is when the sun is going down and all the Bath stone buildings turn pink. We don’t have a castle, but we have an amazing abbey with upside-down angels on its walls. The city is small enough to walk everywhere and it sits in a big green bowl of hills and valleys. Rent is affordable. There’s a lot of hippies and artists, so there’s a lot of brilliant pubs and cafes. And I will adore the Fashion Museum and the American Museum forever.

    I lived in London for eight years and thought nothing could ever replace her. The Natural History Museum! Libertys! Carnaby Street! The gigs! The restaurants! But, like most first loves, London and I grew apart. We started to annoy each other. We just didn’t fit together so well anymore. I still love her, and it’s so nice when we get to catch up. She will always have a special place in my heart, but these days, Bath is most definitely Home 🙂

  19. Rhianne 21/09/2011 at 8:41 AM #

    I’ve only been to Edinburgh once but it completely won me over, the atmosphere is so grea there, I’m constantly wishing that I was going back… I doubt it will be long before we do go back (hopefully).

    I do love Leeds though, its perfect for us and now I can’t imagine living anywhere else, or even going home to Norfolk which still surprises me, I always thought we would move back after a little while.

  20. rebekah 07/10/2011 at 6:13 PM #

    yey edinburgh!
    i have that bag…got it free with the scotsman last year and use i proudly all the time!

  21. Gaynor 08/11/2011 at 9:55 AM #

    Yay, I love Edinburgh too; not as keen on Glasgow!

    Glad you had a fab festival; we saw a couple of shows which were hilarious too; missed having a drink tho! Next year, next year!

    Oh and I still havent been to the museum yet!

Leave a little love...

