My type of thrifty finds… a new typewriter and more china

20 Sep

We’ve not had much time for car booting lately.

All our theories of having a quiet life once married are yet to materialise.

That said, we have picked up a few treasures recently…

My favourite find: our Good Companion typewriter.

In perfect working condition… with its own case

And check out the crest on it!


Somehow it seems more glamorous
because it has a crest on it!


We’ve also been collecting a spot more china.

I actually agreed to lend our china to
a lovely bride for her wedding this week…

Only problem was that some of our china went missing
from our wedding… so we were quite a few sets short.

Thankfully, we managed to source the ones below
(and someone very sweet gave me some too) so we had enough.

I still pretty gutted about some of the things we’re missing though.
Especially my cups with the yellow skirted lady on them.
But maybe I’ll find replacements one day!

Anyway, here’s my favourite of our recent china finds:


Also since I found the Meakin teapot, cups and saucers
the husband has got pretty good at spotting Meakin himself.
So much so that he picked up these coffee pots one day…
at this rate, he’s going to become a better thrifter than me!

Found any good thrifty finds recently?
At car boots or charity shops?

I’m finding it harder and harder to pick things
up at charity shops in Edinburgh.
The other day I saw a tea set in one for £100,
another had one set for £65.

Obviously it’s great for the charity if someone can afford that…
but it’s well out of my budget. Popping into charity shops
used to be one of my favourite spare time activities,
so I feel a little sad that it’s not affordable any more.

On the plus side, I have been out and about discovering
new junk places so there’s hope yet!

(And I’ll just need to donate to charity some other way.)

*****

25 Responses to “My type of thrifty finds… a new typewriter and more china”

  1. Elizabeth@rosalilium 20/09/2011 at 10:51 AM #

    I have those green leafy teacups too! We’re thrifted-china twins. Hoorah.

    I know what you mean about charity shops raising their prices. I was able to buy a kitchen table for £30 6 months ago in my favourite place. Went back 2 weeks ago to get something similar for my bro and a table there was £80. Way too much for a charity shop if you ask me!

    • Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 11:33 AM #

      Yeah, the prices seem to vary so much right now… I do wonder if they’re actually making more money from it? As you’d assume that people like you and me are buying less?

  2. @alabamacupcakes 20/09/2011 at 10:59 AM #

    what gorgeous finds! Totally agree about prices in charity shops these days – I’ve had to find areas they are not so pricey

  3. Anna Lewis 20/09/2011 at 11:02 AM #

    I totally agree with you about the charity shops – use to get very excited about the prospect of what bargains I might find – but now I come out feeling very disappointed as I can’t afford anything. Love the type writer and tea cups, I found an Imperial baby blue type writer the other day still in its case at a carboot – love it!

    • Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 11:35 AM #

      Yeah, it’s pretty disappointing not being able to afford things in a charity shop… it’s one way to feel pretty poor! Good find on the baby blue typewriter Anna! I think car boot sales are where it’s at now.

  4. Siobhan 20/09/2011 at 11:05 AM #

    My favourite junk shop on Borughton Street has long since gone. But some charity shops still have steals.

    I really like those coffee pots.

  5. Caroline 20/09/2011 at 12:07 PM #

    Wow the last coffee pot and those ivy cups are beautiful! I have got to get my act together and go car booting!

  6. Rachel 20/09/2011 at 12:12 PM #

    Hi

    I’m just starting to put together a china collection ahead of my wedding next year. I bought a lovely white and gold set at a car boot on Sunday for £6.

    I’m new to it though so I was wondering, how much would you say is a good price for a tea set? I

    Thanks. x

    • Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 2:05 PM #

      Hi Rachel. £6 is a great price. For me, it depends on the design/pattern, the shape, the condition and how many they’re selling… You’ll find some people selling chipped, tarnished sets for twice what people selling ones in mint condition are. Also I find people with single trios (cups/saucers/plates) are selling them for much, much more. I try to buy in bulk and do some bartering… and if people try to tell me how valuable a set is then I walk away. Hope that helps!

  7. Amy @ThenWhereWere 20/09/2011 at 12:19 PM #

    I love the way you find treasures and put things together. But I was thinking today, how do you limit how much ‘stuff’ you have? Do you have a one in and one out policy or regularly go through things?

    Amy x

    • Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 2:00 PM #

      We regularly give our old stuff to charity (or even freecycle it)… but we might have a plan for some our finds in the future 😉

  8. Eleni Drinks Tea 20/09/2011 at 1:51 PM #

    Oh no, you’re missing some china from your wedding? That’s terrible! Where on Earth could it have gone? Do you think your guests half-inched them as mementos?

    • Conversation Pieces 20/09/2011 at 1:58 PM #

      Afraid not. Our guests stuck to making off with jars of flowers (I did tell everyone to help themselves!), umbrellas and the occasional wooden animal!

      Instead it was a mix-up with our caterer… we lent them two boxes of our china to supplement some of theirs – and three months on, we’ve only got half of it back 😦

  9. threesmallapples 20/09/2011 at 4:09 PM #

    Stunning! I’m a bit of a tea set fiend too (nothing makes a cup of Earl Grey better than a pretty tea cup and saucer. Oh, and a Bakewell Slice…)but I saw one tiny set (and when I say ‘set’ I mean 1 tea cup & 1 saucer!!!) being sold for £23 in Primrose Hill. What?! I huffed out of there pretty quickly but still have a hankering for the bloody thing…

    xx

  10. Fianceesarehumanstoo 20/09/2011 at 9:34 PM #

    I guess as soon as it becomes the ‘in thing’ to buy tea sets and the like, shops can put their prices up so much, they know it’s in demand! We begged and borrowed vintage cups and saucers from friends, shoved some flowers in, and voila! Fantastic result.

  11. sécia 21/09/2011 at 3:56 AM #

    Great finds!

    ♥ sécia
    http://www.petiteinsanities.blogspot.com

  12. Rhianne 21/09/2011 at 8:47 AM #

    Thomas is a better thrifter than me, he always has been, he loves it and always finds the most amazing things – mainly t shirts, he has a crazy collection of them now lol.

    it makes me sad they aren’t affordable too – when I was younger I thought they were charity shops for people who couldn’t afford to spend a lot as well as earning money for the charity, a double win if you ask me – I was a little sad when I realised it wasn’t really orientated that way and its definitely got worse recently, I see so many things I’m not willing to spend the money on – mainly primark clothes – some places charge more than they cost originally!

    anyway, rant over… I love your china finds. I’m sad about your yellow skirted lady too though.

  13. Nell 21/09/2011 at 8:56 AM #

    I hear you on the pricey charity shop front…like you say, great for the charity, but only if they actually sell. I’ve seen some great pieces lurking in charity shops for months because they’re so overpriced and then no-one benefits! I have recently found the most insane junk shop though, where you can pick up pretty tea plates and crazy old tins for about £1 each. And Ercol chairs for a fiver. That was my find last week. Only 2, but they’re awesome. Going back this weekend in the hope of finding the perfect desk/table for our computer and a chest of drawers for the nursery. Here’s hoping. Thrifting makes me happy xx

  14. Juliet 21/09/2011 at 11:29 AM #

    The typewriter is BEAUTIFUL! I am very jealous.

    I agree about charity shops…I’m getting so used to seeing high prices everywhere that I was pretty shocked (and super pleased!) to find lovely china for £2 (for a whole set of plates!) in a cats protection shop in Leith. Can’t imagine how much they charge in Stockbridge or Morningside though…

  15. Lisa-Marie 21/09/2011 at 11:40 AM #

    That typewriter is spectacular! Look at the round, bezel like buttons!

    Also, yay for more china. Boooooo for missing china, I know you love it so.

  16. Crystal 23/09/2011 at 9:47 PM #

    Oooh I love Meakin coffee pots! I would really like one of their tea pots too! x

  17. Becky 01/10/2011 at 8:34 PM #

    Yes, they have got pricey…at my parents’ in Norfolk this weekend, where things are normally pretty cheap, but saw a set of 5 Babycham glasses for £30 – crazy. You can still find them for 25p in some of the shops though, try to make as much of the inconsistencies as possible while they last!

    Sad your china went walkies 😦

  18. kit & nancy 10/10/2011 at 12:26 PM #

    what a treat for my eyes! those teapots are a delight!

  19. Gaynor 08/11/2011 at 9:57 AM #

    My mum has the whole set of the poppies one; think it was a wedding gift they got!

Leave a little love...

