Blook Club… wine and wombles

17 Oct

I brought my new tote bag to the second Blook Club.
Thankfully, everyone had read the book
and not been reading wine labels instead.

(Though I was feeling a little blurry round the edges
myself thanks to a birthday party the night before.)

Our book this time was When God Was A Rabbit.

Some of us loved the book, some liked it, others loathed it.
Which was good, because heck who wants to agree all the time!

The one thing we all agreed on? That the bit
with the Womble was a tad disturbing.*

For the Americans amongst us,
it was perhaps even more disturbing
as a bunch of us tried to excitedly describe
a Womble and then sing the theme tune.
(And maybe almost try to reenact the scene too.)

Yup, serious English Literature tutorial we ain’t!
But that’s what I’m loving so far about Blook Club.
Smart, funny, chatty, talented, passionate
witty, wonderful gals who are good for a giggle.
And some of them even baked too!

*****

So, the next Blook Club…

The next date I had free was in early December.
So I thought it would be good to do a Christmas themed
Blook Club. And you can’t really get any more festive than…
 To read: Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol
To read by: 4th December
To be accompanied by: mulled wine
and minced pies (I may do a recipe too)

*****

 If you want to read along or just talk
books to other Blook Clubbers,
the twitter is @blookclub or #blookclub

If you’d like to come along,
click here for more details.

*****

P.S. Did you read When God Was A Rabbit?
Did you love, like or loathe?
What was your most memorable bit?
(Since I’ve shared mine!)

*This covers a teeny, tiny part of the book.
Don’t read any further if you don’t want to
know what happens… essentially someone
has sex with a person dressed as a Womble.
There. I warned you.

16 Responses to “Blook Club… wine and wombles”

  1. Abi 17/10/2011 at 8:00 PM #

    Wish I could come! I’ve never liked wombles they are soooo freaky!!

  2. Emily Blackburn 17/10/2011 at 8:22 PM #

    I liked it a lot while I was reading it, but in retrospect not as much – if that makes any sense! It just seemed like the author had tried to cram as many traumatic events into one novel as possible. The brother/sister relationship that was supposed to be the crux of the story was just a bit boring. One bit I did like was when she got angry with her brother after he lost his memory and started shouting at him to make him remember who he used to be. That was quite moving.

    • Conversation Pieces 18/10/2011 at 9:05 AM #

      @Emily Blackburn and @sparklehorse… that’s actually very similar to what a lot of us were saying on Sunday. There was a definite discussion about the amount of historical events – some people liked it, while others were rather flabbergasted that nothing got left out! We also discussed the ‘magical’ bits that never got explained… I was hoping that I’d maybe just missed something in the book and someone would explain that bit!

  3. sparklehorse 17/10/2011 at 9:25 PM #

    Same here Emily! I liked it but, and a big but I found it frustrating. The 50p which Jenny Penny pulls from her arm! Never explained.

  4. Kirsty {a safe mooring} 17/10/2011 at 10:13 PM #

    Oh Zoe, you read my mind. I was telling F that this was the next book and we agreed, since neither of us has a copy, that we would buy a nice hardback copy since it’s something you could imagine reading one day to your children and who knows, maybe even your grandchildren. And lo and behold, here is a nice hardback copy! Thank you – can’t wait to read it properly for the first time as a so-called adult.

  5. mysparethoughts 18/10/2011 at 8:40 AM #

    So my smug free kindle download looks so rubbish next to the pretty penguin classic. I want the pretty book!

  6. Conversation Pieces 18/10/2011 at 9:08 AM #

    @Kirsty {a safe mooring} and @mysparethoughts yeah it’s so pretty isn’t it? I almost bought it online last night but it feels like a copy you have to buy from an actual shop somehow!

  7. threesmallapples 18/10/2011 at 11:07 AM #

    I reread A Christman Carol recently (in August… not sure why?!) but it’s as good you remember as a kid and does tug at heart strings. Ol’ Mr D knew how to write them!

    xx

  8. Siobhan 18/10/2011 at 12:56 PM #

    When I read it and realised when it was set I realised what the inevitable historic event there would be. I studied that event in literature as an undergraduate and read and saw some amazing and moving things about it. This was not one of them. I know people who have had fairly traumatic things happen to them but this book seemed to revel in it. I eventually felt compelled to finish it but would not say I enjoyed it. The womble part was something that stuck in my memory but so was the incident with the next door neighbour which made me feel a bit sick. I found most of the characters annoying too in retrospect. It certainly is a good book for dsicussing though!

    A Christmas Carol is an excellent choice for next book – it has one of my favourite paragraphs in any novel on the first page and that makes me very happy!

  9. comicchick 18/10/2011 at 1:11 PM #

    oh I wish I was able to be there in person. *super sad face*

  10. jenniferlovatt 18/10/2011 at 1:19 PM #

    I am half way through the book and *just* got to the bit with the Womble. Oh my. Shocking indeed. But I am really enjoying it! I just started it too late so was only a few chapters in by the blookclub meetup, but will definitely be at the next one!

    Dickens, mince pies and mulled wine sounds absolutely perfect 🙂 Amidst the fairy lights of the venue too, ahhh.

  11. Danae 20/10/2011 at 9:29 AM #

    Oh man, I’m with mysparethoughts — that hardback copy is so beautiful I might have to indulge, even though I have it for free on Kindle!

  12. robyn 22/10/2011 at 6:51 PM #

    i’ve not read it yet, but it is on my list. I have just finished reading Purple Hibiscus,which I loved. I read Half of a Yellow Sun with my old book club- but fell in love with the characters in Purple Hibiscus more. I would recommend it if your club hasn’t read it yet.
    PS- love the bag!

  13. Becca 23/10/2011 at 11:23 AM #

    @robyn totally agree with you on Purple Hibiscus it is a stunning and oh so heart wrenching read. also i saw the pretty hardback copy of A Christmas Carol last night and was so glad to have an actual excuse to buy it instead of my usual whimsy! xxx

  14. arnique 25/10/2011 at 11:59 AM #

    Damn Penguin for re-issuing classics in lovely hardbound covers! I already have the 99-cent versions and ebooks but I want the expensive luxury books now. :))

  15. Gaynor 08/11/2011 at 10:07 AM #

    Although I still havent finished either of the last two books, im going to try and read this one too!

    But I really dont think I can come to this one either, sob! Its my birthday the day before and I think we are having afternoon tea with my family on the sunday!!! I so wanted to go to Emily’s studio too!

Leave a little love...

