A dead good birthday…

1 Nov

At the weekend, we celebrated my birthday. Or my birthoween.
That’s Halloween and a birthday rolled into one.

Let’s just call it a dead good birthday.
(Scots are allowed to use ‘dead’ as an adjective, honest.)

I had a silly, sugar-fuelled, Halloweeny day
that started with me eating Lucky Charms and cupcakes…

Next came presents… lots of lovely things
but perhaps the best was my new Viewmaster!

Complete with a reel of pics of our wedding, us in New York,
our mini-moon Airstream… and the cats too!

How cool is that?

The husband even made a caption
for each of the photos too
which made me giggle so much.

Then there was more presents,
more cake (because I needed more sugar!)
and then we set off to spend the night at a spooky hotel.

Ok, it maybe wasn’t haunted…
but all I could say when we were walking
down the corridor was “Come play with us”
in a creepy Shining voice!

Then we went out for a very nice dinner
but not before we ran round town trying
to find a bag of cobwebs for our costumes
for a Halloweeny birthday-ish night out.

Because every corpse bride and groom
needs some cobwebs of course!

Yup, we totally forgot in the first pic
that we’re meant to be scary
not happy!

However, a glass of bubbles or two later
(and one slightly awkward trip to a champagne bar
where everyone just stared or glared at us!)
we got into Halloween wedding mode!
 

I was strangely more attached to this bouquet
than the one I made for our wedding.
Oh yes and that veil… well, it was originally
bought for our wedding too but it didn’t suit my dress.
Love a bit of recycling me!

The next day, us plus our hangovers went to meet
my friend’s new baby (super adorable!) before heading home
to zombify like couch zombies.

Amongst all the fun, we actually forgot
to carve any pumpkins this year…
so I’m off now to attempt a Day of the Dead pumpkin
and that way he can stay out until Wednesday.

UPDATE: Here’s our Day of the Dead pumpkin.
Rather pleased with how he turned out.

Was thinking of giving him some flowers still
but I think he’s pretty good all the same.
Especially in the dark.
Happy Halloween everyone xx
(And Día de los Muertos too!)

P.S. Did you have a costume this year?
I saw so many Marios, sexy pirates,
a Pope, a few Black Swans and even
a Sherlock Holmes at the weekend.
Love it!

Except the people dressed as
scary clowns. That’s too scary!!

******

P.P.S. Thanks all your cold cure suggestions.
Not sure if any helped but they certainly
cheered me up regardless!

******

Image 1: Mexican Skull Gardland
by the super spooky The Doll City Rocker.
I so want to get this for next year’s Halloween.
Or heck, maybe I could do a spooky Xmas?!

19 Responses to “A dead good birthday…”

  1. abigail 31/10/2011 at 10:13 PM #

    The viewfinder is brilliant! What an amazing present. Looks like you had a great birthday too 😀 happy belated b’day x

  2. Abi 31/10/2011 at 10:55 PM #

    Happy Birth’oween! I used to LOVE lucky charms too!!

  3. Sam 31/10/2011 at 11:38 PM #

    Most drop-dead (geddit?) corpse bride I have ever seen. Not many women could make blue lipstick so glamorous. Happy Birthday!

    • Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:16 AM #

      Aww thanks Sam 🙂 Just seen the models are wearing blue lipstick on the topshop website so I could still wear it… or maybe not! 😉

  4. Raffles Bizarre (@rafflesbizarre) 31/10/2011 at 11:54 PM #

    Firstly I LOVE that garland!

    Sounds like you had a great weekend, you guys look fab! I was a ventriloquist dummy this year, which I blogged about today.

    Happy Birthday!! – Lucky Charms are definately the best birthday breakfast!

    http://www.rafflesbizarre.blogspot.com

  5. Maria 01/11/2011 at 12:25 AM #

    I have never had the chance to go to dress up for a Halloween party, it’s seems to be so fun! Love your blue makeup! Halloween has become bigger here in Sweden, but I think it’s mostly young people and familys who celebrate… Maybe next year!

  6. Maria 01/11/2011 at 12:26 AM #

    Oh, I forgot to say Happy Birthday! It seems to have been a great one!

  7. robyn 01/11/2011 at 3:04 AM #

    the outfits are also dead good!

  8. Hannahb 01/11/2011 at 12:17 PM #

    Happy Birthoween! I now always think of you on Halloween.

    How did the day of the dead pumpkin carving go?!

    • Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:23 AM #

      Thanks Hannah 🙂 Just updated with the pumpkin… we only had one this year as we did a last minute rush to a few supermarkets to get more but they were all sold out… otherwise he’d have a few wee friends!

  9. Rhianne 01/11/2011 at 12:41 PM #

    your viewfinder is one of the best presents I’ve seen in ages, what a great idea!! 🙂

    Looks like you had a great time, I love your costumes!

  10. Sarah Rooftops 01/11/2011 at 2:36 PM #

    Personalised Viewmaster? A-mazing!

    (oh, and a belated happy birthday to you!)

  11. Juliet 01/11/2011 at 5:24 PM #

    Happy birthday! Looks like you had loads of fun x

  12. Elizabeth 01/11/2011 at 6:14 PM #

    Happy Birthoween. Looks like you had a fab time, you guys look great in costumes.x.

  13. Conversation Pieces 02/11/2011 at 10:24 AM #

    Thanks everyone 🙂 Yeah, the viewfinder is pretty darn cool present. I’ve not stopped looking at it yet! 😉

  14. anna and the ring 02/11/2011 at 12:57 PM #

    You make such a hot zombie bride!

    What a super sweet present!

  15. Lottie 02/11/2011 at 5:40 PM #

    Happy belated Birth-oween!

    I love the viewfinder present and might steal the idea for my husband’s Christmas present…that is if he ever gets it as I can imagine me just keeping it and looking at it all the time!

  16. Hilla Hryniszyn 05/11/2011 at 3:27 PM #

    freaking cute…
    take a look at my blog, tell me if you like it 🙂
    inveiglefair.blogspot.com

Leave a little love...

