Because it’s Monday… halfway to a hipster

21 Nov

When we were in Brooklyn, we played Spot the Hipster.

From this, we learned that to pass as hipsters
the other half would need to grow a beard,
and I would need to get a fringe.

There seemed to be other attributes
but these are the ones that stuck out.
Mainly as he’s never going to grow a beard
and I don’t suit fringes.

Once home, I happened upon this print
by Brit illustrator Jenni Sparks
“Things Hipsters Like”.

Turns out I’m halfway to being a hipster.
I love my Diana, my old gameboy, coloured bikes,
tea in china cups, brogues (but on the other half, not me)
typewriters, old record players (and music) and kitsch tees.

Oh yes, and I drink soya milk.
(Normal milk and I are not friends.)

The rest isn’t me. So I’m about 50% hipster.
50% unhipster. (Or whatever a non hipster is!)

How about you?
What percentage do you work out to be?

*****

P.S. I just did the maths.
I’m actually about 64.28% hipster.
Not sure if that’s better or worse!

25 Responses to “Because it’s Monday… halfway to a hipster”

  1. Abbi 21/11/2011 at 2:50 PM #

    No to the milk & pink keyboard but everything else yes! So I’m 12 of out 14 Hipster!!! >;]

  2. robyn 21/11/2011 at 3:00 PM #

    Im probably only 25 percent…would like to be more i think…does that mean I should start smoking roll-ups?

  3. Nell 21/11/2011 at 3:07 PM #

    I’m about the same as you…own way too many brogues, rock a fringe, have glasses just like that, drink Soya, have plenty of vintage teacups and saucers (even though I don’t drink tea…they’re just so pretty!) and play tunes on our record player. Who knew?! The roll-ups, bike and game boy? Definitely not however! Love that illustration xx

  4. Lauren 21/11/2011 at 3:21 PM #

    I’m like 100% except I quit smoking last year. While I think second hand smoke is one of the most obnoxious things known to man, I occasionally, very rarely still enjoy the odd cigarette on nights out if others around me are partaking. So does that mean that I’m 98%?

    I never would have thought it could be so. I’m just to sincere to be a full blown hipster.

  5. Abigail 21/11/2011 at 3:31 PM #

    Only 21%! I now have 3 pairs of brogues, heart my gameboy, colour and advance B-) and my plastic cameras. Too Cool.

  6. JulesLt 21/11/2011 at 4:03 PM #

    You need a tShirt with 64.8% Hipster printed in Helvetica

  7. Eleni Drinks Tea 21/11/2011 at 4:36 PM #

    Hm, apparently I am 38% hipster. That is quite a shock! They forgot moustaches.

    They should do one for bloggers. It should include mis-matched tea sets, floral dresses, owls, foxes, crochet blankets, the WI, cake stands (cupcakes generally, come to think of it) and perhaps some second-hand paint-by-numbers. And definitely, definitely a photo-booth with moustaches on sticks. Have I missed anything out?!

    • Conversation Pieces 24/11/2011 at 10:42 AM #

      She so should… maybe I should email her and ask if she fancies doing a blogging one? I’m agreeing on everything except I’m not fussed by crochet blankets or WI… and also second-hand paint-by-numbers? yet to come across those! we could add… you pose for photos by looking at your feet… and take pics of your shoes? 😉

  8. Fay 21/11/2011 at 5:26 PM #

    Oh wow! Not so many these days after having the baby but back when I was at uni I was everything but the brogues and the geek glasses!!

  9. francesca 21/11/2011 at 6:16 PM #

    love this. i’m exactly 50% hipster. x

  10. Sarah Rooftops 21/11/2011 at 8:03 PM #

    I’m about a quarter hipster, although I don’t think photos/music/letters are BETTER when made the old fashioned way – I just think film cameras and record players and typewriters look nicer than their modern counterparts.

  11. Polly 21/11/2011 at 8:42 PM #

    about a third, I’m happy with that.

  12. Lisa-Marie 21/11/2011 at 10:50 PM #

    I am about 50% hipster it seems. Also as well as stuff on there, I have a blog, a satchel, a fringe, and a husband with a beard who is in a folk-punk band…

  13. smidge 22/11/2011 at 10:53 AM #

    Only 35%. Really don’t like ironic t-shirts and I am waiting to inherit about 20 tea cups from the mother, along with all her 60s crockery. Mine, all mine.

  14. preciousjolene 22/11/2011 at 2:37 PM #

    I’m 10 out of 14. don’t think i should be pleased, or maybe i should? i do love roll ups, but don’t smoke, and don’t really drink much of anything alcohol wise, and oat milk rather than soya (is that worse?)…. no game boy either, but yes to everything else. funny… maybe as I get older, i can add the others to my list. a red stripe drinking roll up smoking game boy playing granny would be quite cool?

  15. Hannahb 23/11/2011 at 1:16 PM #

    Haha! I think I am sort of half and half too. I am a fringed (although only for half the year!) soya drinking, brogue wearing, tea drinking, record collecting glasses wearing ‘hipster’. But I dont smoke (although i totally used too and still enjoy the odd fag- obvs not whilst preggers), dont ride a bike, dont like old keyboards (although my mister does) dont wear ironic t -shirts and dont collect cold camer’a s (although my mister does both…) hmm between us I think we might be about 90%?! Uh oh…

    I think there should be a blogger hipster version! Bunting, vintage dresses, crafty things, market finds, a love of Paris, photo’s of freshly baked bread…

  16. Cookietoots 23/11/2011 at 5:33 PM #

    Hilarious!

    Well i am 4 out of 14 but i grew my fringe out for my wedding which i imagine is some sort of cardinal sin in Hipsterville 🙂

    ps. love Jules LT comment – you’re on to something!

  17. Siobhan 23/11/2011 at 8:25 PM #

    This is very funny! I am not really a hipster but many of our students are (which is why people showed me the video Kirsty posted up here a LOT)

    I don’t think hipsters are dickheads but don’t aspire to be one either. But more importantly the print is lovely. I love the colours!

  18. Conversation Pieces 24/11/2011 at 10:44 AM #

    Love, love all your answers… they made me laugh so much! Who knew being or not being a hipster was so much fun? 😉 (I think the laughing and the having fun completely unqualifies me for being a hispter though!!!) 😉

  19. stephanie 28/11/2011 at 8:16 PM #

    he he he! i was in new york the other day (listen to me!) and totally agree with all this hipster talk. i think men wearing women’s jeans is another one for the list. we accidentally went to a couple of ‘cool’ eateries frequented by the new york hipster, which made us smile very much. we just got stuck in eating our fabulous food rather than spending hours checking everyone else out, which is what the other people were doing…!

    as for me, i was full of typography love for the helvetica used throughout new york’s subway system and i wore my brogues the whole time i was there. and even in new york we got starred at for our outfits, nothing too way out i don’t think so i really don’t get all the looks and comments (a woman followed me around the high line to ask where i got my coat from – a yellow and brown one from monsoon). and at home i love my record player and vintage cups and saucers (in fact, i’m addicted to buying them…and am running out of space…oh dear).

  20. Mother0fPurl (@mother0fpurl) 04/12/2011 at 10:04 AM #

    Oh that’s funny! I’m too old to be a hipster these days, I’m sure- but I do have a fringe (mainly because I have an unsightly mole on my forehead!) and hubby has a beard as he’s too lazy to shave. Out of the other things, I have black rimmed glasses (althought I’m wearing my tortoiseshell ones today) and hubby still has his old game boy. We have lots of old record players, a typewriter, love tea, love that wolf tee (didn’t realise it was ironic though!), I have brogues and several keyboards. Does that making me an aging hipster??

Leave a little love...

